Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill

Private foundation · Grantmaker Pittsburgh, PA EIN: 04-6091829

Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill is a private foundation, based in Pittsburgh, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $479K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 8 grants totaling $25K. Net investment income was $13K.

Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill at a glance

In short: Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill gave $25K across 8 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$25,000
+4.2% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
8
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$3,125
+4.2% vs 2024
Median grant
$2,250
Total assets
$479,462
-3.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
Massachusetts (88% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 8 recipients in 2025

Whitin Community Center: $10KWhitin Community Center$10KNorthbridge High School: $4KNorthbridge High School$4KPeace of Bread: $3KPeace of Bread$3KNorthbridge Historical Society: $3KNorthbridge Historical Society$3KFriends of Northbridge Elders: $2KFriends of Northbridge Elders$2KWhitinsville Social Library: $2KWhitinsville Social Library$2KBlackstone Valley Emergency Shelter: $1KBlackstone Valley EmergencyShelter$1KNorthbridge Assoc of Churches: $500Northbridge Assoc of Churches$500

The largest 2025 recipient was Whitin Community Center ($10K). Together the top 8 received $25K.

Grant Size Distribution

37 grants across all recorded years

37<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 37 grants of 37 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 8 itemized grants.

Cities

WhitinsvilleEvansvilleNorthbridge

How Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−11%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 109% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K5 grants2021 8 grants2022 8 grants2023 8 grants2024 8 grants2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $20K (2021) to $28K (2022). In 2025 it made 8 grants totaling $25K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Whitin Community Center Whitinsville, MAGeneral Operating$10,000
Northbridge High School Whitinsville, MAGeneral Operating$4,000
Peace of Bread Evansville, INGeneral Operating$3,000
Northbridge Historical Society Whitinsville, MAGeneral Operating$2,500
Friends of Northbridge Elders Whitinsville, MAGeneral Operating$2,000
Whitinsville Social Library Whitinsville, MAGeneral Operating$2,000
Blackstone Valley Emergency Shelter Northbridge, MAGeneral Operating$1,000
Northbridge Assoc of Churches Whitinsville, MAGeneral Operating$500
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$479,462$19,117$34,617$25,0008$28,674$12,795$26,215
2024$494,904$24,893$35,361$24,0008$30,088$18,054$25,106
2023$505,431$422$36,902$26,0008$29,472$8,445$24,682
2022$541,980$101,096$38,920$28,0008$32,415$94,817$26,736
2021$479,919$35,989$30,442$20,0005—$29,806$28,338

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill reported a distributable amount of $26K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill's only listed officer is BNY Mellon N A, Trustee on every filing since 2021 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • BNY Mellon N A

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    $10K (2021) → $9K (2025)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

BNY Mellon N a — Trustee: $9KBNY Mellon N aTrustee$9K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $9K, to BNY Mellon N a (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill

How much does Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill give each year?

Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill gave $25K across 8 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $24K across 8 grants.

What is Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill's typical grant size?

Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill's median grant in 2025 was $2,250, and its average grant was $3,125, across 8 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill give grants?

Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill gives mostly in Massachusetts: 88% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Indiana (12%). The most frequent recipient cities were Whitinsville, MA (6 grants).

Does Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (8 of 8) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill's largest grantees?

Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill's largest 2025 grantees include Whitin Community Center ($10,000), Northbridge High School ($4,000) and Peace of Bread ($3,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 68% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill?

Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill reported $479K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $29K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $26K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill's EIN?

Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-6091829. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Pennsylvania

Andrews Tr Fund-Charitable SHS

Dallas, TX

Assets

$2.0M

Grants

3

Total Given

$103K

The Pittsburgh Foundation

Pittsburgh, PA

The Pittsburgh Foundation funds nonprofits working in basic needs, equity and social justice, environmental action, arts and culture, and economic mobility, with most opportunities for organizations in Allegheny County or primarily serving its residents. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of about $18,600, though awards varied widely. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

1,132

Total Given

$64.0M

The William Penn Foundation

Philadelphia, PA

The William Penn Foundation funds arts and culture, children and families, civic participation, the environment and public spaces, and workforce training, primarily in the Philadelphia region. Its 2024 median grant was $50,000, though awards varied widely. It accepts unsolicited requests through limited open applications and invites letters of inquiry from public charities.

Assets

$3.4B

Grants

1,027

Total Given

$148.8M

Dick's Sporting Goods Foundation

Coraopolis, PA

DICK’S Sporting Goods Foundation primarily funds youth sports participation in under-resourced communities, including equipment, registration costs and facilities, and also supports outdoor access and education. Its 2025 grants ranged from $626 to $2.5 million, with a median of $5,000, and Sports Matter funding has reached all 50 states. Sports Matter opportunities are by invitation only; the foundation says 501(c)(3) grant requests should be submitted in writing.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$34.5M

Grants

964

Total Given

$18.0M

Hillman Family Foundations

Pittsburgh, PA

The 18 independently operated foundations support projects in areas such as arts and culture, health, education, economic development, and community improvement, with a preference for Pittsburgh and southwestern Pennsylvania; each foundation has its own geographic focus. In 2024, grants ranged from $75 to $5 million, with a median of $20,000. The 2024 filing says unsolicited requests are accepted, beginning with a brief letter of intent through the online portal.

Assets

$1.9B

Grants

814

Total Given

$88.8M

Pidc Financing Corporation

Philadelphia, PA

PIDC Financing Corporation administers Pennsylvania business loans for real estate, leasehold improvements, and equipment, as well as partner-funded grants for Philadelphia economic, cultural, civic, historical, storefront, and stormwater projects. Its 2024 filing reports no grants, so no typical giving level is stated; grant partners select recipients, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

$6.7M

Grants

774

Total Given

$16.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in Pennsylvania

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Whitin Arthur Fletcher Tr Uwill down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?