Upstart Foundation
Upstart Foundation is a private foundation, based in Mount Pleasant, SC. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $379K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 8 grants totaling $27K. Net investment income was $54K.
Upstart Foundation at a glance
In short: Upstart Foundation gave $27K across 8 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), mostly in South Carolina. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $27,000
- +134.8% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 8
- +14.3% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $3,375
- +105.4% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $2,250
- Total assets
- $379,302
- +7.1% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- South Carolina (52% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Upstart Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 8 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Chicago Foundation for Women ($12K). Together the top 8 received $27K.
Grant Size Distribution
34 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 34 grants of 34 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 8 itemized grants.
Cities
How Upstart Foundation gives
- Giving grew 170% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 98% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $6K (2021) to $27K (2025). In 2025 it made 8 grants totaling $27K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Chicago Foundation for Women Chicago, IL | General | $12,000 |
| Lowcountry Orphan Relief North Charleston, SC | General | $3,000 |
| Hibben United Methodist Church Mount Pleasant, SC | General | $2,500 |
| Gigi's Playhouse North Charleston, SC | General | $2,500 |
| East Cooper Community Outreach Mount Pleasant, SC | General | $2,000 |
| Lowcountry Food Bank Charleston, SC | General | $2,000 |
| Reading Partners North Charleston, SC | General | $2,000 |
| Children's Organ Transplant Association Bloomington, IN | General | $1,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Upstart Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $379,302 | $59,723 | $34,452 | $27,000 | 8 | $27,475 | $53,758 | $28,167 |
| 2024 | $354,031 | $50,038 | $20,063 | $11,500 | 7 | $14,021 | $44,056 | $24,616 |
| 2023 | $324,056 | $20,506 | $17,814 | $10,500 | 7 | $13,124 | $15,850 | $19,712 |
| 2022 | $321,364 | $32,991 | $17,625 | $10,000 | 6 | $11,517 | $28,380 | $20,945 |
| 2021 | $305,998 | $58,258 | $12,273 | $6,000 | 6 | — | $53,440 | $20,501 |
| 2020 | $260,013 | $24,874 | $15,894 | $10,500 | 7 | — | $21,309 | $16,484 |
| 2019 | $251,033 | $23,722 | $12,695 | $7,250 | 3 | — | $20,516 | $14,393 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Upstart Foundation reported a distributable amount of $28K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Upstart Foundation is led by Suzanne Musikantow-Holster, President, Secretary & Treasurer since 2024 (on filings since 2020); none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Suzanne Musikantow-Holster
President, Secretary & Treasurer
President & Treasurer → President, Secretary & Treasurer, 2024
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Elizabeth Tam
Director
On filings since 2019
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Lauren Sanders
Director
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (3)
- Former: Lisa Tam (2020–2023) — Director
- Former: Lauren Musikantow (2019) — Director
- Former: Suzanne Musikantow (2019) — President & Treasurer
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Upstart Foundation
How much does Upstart Foundation give each year?
Upstart Foundation gave $27K across 8 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $12K across 7 grants.
What is Upstart Foundation's typical grant size?
Upstart Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $2,250, and its average grant was $3,375, across 8 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Upstart Foundation give grants?
Upstart Foundation gives mostly in South Carolina: 52% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Illinois (44%). The most frequent recipient cities were North Charleston, SC (3 grants) and Mount Pleasant, SC (2 grants).
Does Upstart Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Upstart Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (8 of 8) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Upstart Foundation's largest grantees?
Upstart Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Chicago Foundation for Women ($12,000), Lowcountry Orphan Relief ($3,000) and Hibben United Methodist Church ($2,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 65% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Upstart Foundation?
Upstart Foundation reported $379K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $27K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $28K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is Upstart Foundation's EIN?
Upstart Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 36-4456462. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(8)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS March 3, 2020)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS February 25, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 25, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 11, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS March 7, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS September 4, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Upstart Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Henry & Sylvia Yaschik Foundation Inc
Charleston, SC
The foundation supports specific projects and programs of qualified 501(c)(3) charities serving the greater Charleston, South Carolina, area, across secular and Jewish, health, education, conservation, and other charitable work. Grants typically range from $1,000 to $50,500, with a 2024 median of $5,000. It accepts applications; the 2026 application period ended April 30, and the foundation says to check back in February 2027 for the next period.
Assets
$10.7M
Grants
97
Total Given
$845K
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation
Richmond, VA
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations working in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within its operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000; it accepts unsolicited requests during spring and fall cycles.
Assets
$2.3M
Grants
773
Total Given
$16.4M
Coastal Community Foundation of South Carolina Inc
N Charleston, SC
Coastal Community Foundation of South Carolina supports nonprofits and community initiatives in education, health, human services, the environment, arts, social justice, and community development across nine coastal South Carolina counties. Its 2024 itemized grants ranged from $5,057 to $2.3 million, with a median of $16,500; competitive programs accept applications through its online portal.
Assets
$435.6M
Grants
459
Total Given
$26.0M
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Advanced Technology International
Summerville, SC
Advanced Technology International primarily manages government-industry-academia collaborations for federal research and technology prototyping, with awards spanning areas such as defense, biotechnology, cybersecurity, and aviation. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $11.6 million, with a median of $30,000; 97% of grant dollars went to South Carolina recipients, and it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.2B
Grants
14
Total Given
$12.1M
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
More similar funders
More Funders in South Carolina
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Upstart Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Upstart Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?