Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc logo

Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Trenton, NJ EIN: 22-2117814 Website

The mission of the foundation is to inspire donors to invest in thomas edison state university's power to transform lives and build a more competitive workforce by empowering adults to attain their educational goals.Thomas Edison State University Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization. While independent of thomas edison state university, the foundation operates exclusively for the benefit, support and promotion of the university and its educational activities and may receive and invest bequests, gifts or transfers of property or money, and expend any such funds or property for the institution's educational purposes.

Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc at a glance

In short: Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc gave $1.1M across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $531K), mostly in New Jersey. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$1,062,470
+75.7% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
2
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$531,235
+75.7% vs 2024
Median grant
$531,235
Total assets
$15,265,396
+8.6% vs 2024
Primary geography
New Jersey (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Thomas Edison State University: $504KThomas Edison State University$504K

The largest 2025 recipient was Thomas Edison State University ($504K).

Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($558,199), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

10 grants across all recorded years

<$50K1$50–100K1$100–250K5$250–500K3$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $250–500K range: 5 grants of 10 (50%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.

States

Cities

Trenton

How Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc gives

  • Giving grew 120% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M2 grants2019 2 grants2020 2 grants2021 2 grants2022 2 grants2023 2 grants2024 2 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $483K (2022) to $1.1M (2025). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $1.1M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
1 individual scholarship Recipients not named —$558,199
Thomas Edison State University Trenton, NJGrants to university programs as specified by the requirements of the donors$504,271
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$15,265,396$1,605,726$1,297,287$1,062,4702$830,690
2024$14,061,512$1,441,700$805,577$604,6642$618,561
2023$12,447,159$794,410$957,307$804,0912$84,483
2022$11,982,682$341,230$587,642$482,6942$163,156
2021$14,519,820$2,164,871$872,530$713,5132$1,355,930
2020$12,997,024$1,300,288$793,984$664,4192$408,919
2019$11,561,094$1,263,915$1,008,994$844,5652$353,551

About Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc

Based on IRS filings

Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Trenton, NJ. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $15.3M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $1.1M. Net investment income was $831K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc is led by Merodie Hancock, President & Ex-Officio since 2022 (on filings since 2019); 4 of 27 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Merodie Hancock

    President & Ex-Officio

    President → President & Ex-Officio, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    1.8 hrs/week

    $15K (2019) → $23K (2025)

  • Nancy S. Gloor

    Board Chairman

    Director → Board Vice Chair, 2020

    Board Vice Chair → Board Chairman, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ahmed A. Azmy

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Alex J. Binder

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian T. Maloney

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Daniel R. Brenna Jr.

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Debroah Mican

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • James Kilgore

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeffrey Stokes

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael R. Toscani

    Director

    Board Chairman → Director, 2020

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ronald A. Gimbel

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Steven R. King

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Lovepreet Buttar

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Martin Melilli

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Willard A. Stanback Esq.

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Carol Voorhees

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Catina R. Hood

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Debra D'arcangelo

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Matthew W. Lamb

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bruce D. Garganio

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeffrey Russo

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rick St John

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Christopher Stringer

    Vice President & CFO

    Comptroller → Vice President & CFO, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    3.5 hrs/week

    $21K (2019) → $25K (2025)

  • Jaclyn Joworisak

    Secretary

    On filings since 2021

    17.5 hrs/week

    $23K (2021) → $47K (2025)

  • Mary Heagley

    Executive Vice President

    On filings since 2023

    26.3 hrs/week

    $102K (2023) → $161K (2025)

  • Eric Robert Lear

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kimberlynn Kleasen

    Board Vice Chair

    Director → Board Vice Chair, 2022

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (21)
  • Former: Dolores R. Kelley Esq. (2019–2024) — Director
  • Former: Jamal E. Watson (2023–2024) — Director
  • Former: Joseph Tredinnick (2019–2023) — Director
  • Former: Janice Mills (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Lucia Stegaru (2020–2023) — Director
  • Former: Sean Murray (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: Steven B. Binder (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: Lillian Lowery (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Deb D'arcangelo (2021–2022) — Executive Vice President
  • Former: Aubrey W. Haines (2019–2021) — Board Chairman
  • Former: John Thurber (2019–2021) — Executive Vice President
  • Former: Michael Illum (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: J. Carlos Arroyo (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Joseph Tuzzio (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Misty Isak (2019–2020) — Secretary
  • Former: Kim Kleasen (2020) — Director
  • Former: Bruce Kratz (2019) — Director
  • Former: Carlos Arroyo (2019) — Director
  • Former: James E. Carnes (2019) — Director
  • Former: John T. Harrison (2019) — Director
  • Former: Robert E. Curley III (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Mary Heagley — Executive VP: $161KMary HeagleyExecutive VP$161KJaclyn Joworisak — Secretary: $47KJaclyn JoworisakSecretary$47KChristopher Stringer — VP & CFO: $25KChristopher StringerVP & CFO$25KDr Merodie Hancock — President, Ex-Officio: $23KDr Merodie HancockPresident, Ex-Officio$23K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $161K, to Mary Heagley (Executive VP). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc

How much does Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc give each year?

Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc gave $1.1M across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $605K across 2 grants.

How large is Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc?

Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc reported $15.3M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.6M.

What is Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc?

Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc is a public charity focused on Education, based in Trenton, NJ. It holds $15.3M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc operate?

Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc has awarded grants in New Jersey.

What is Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc's EIN?

Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 22-2117814. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(8)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 29, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 26, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 12, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 15, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 18, 2023)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS December 24, 2024)
  7. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 4, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Lyrasis

Alpharetta, GA

Lyrasis empowers libraries, archives and museums through content services, open technologies and community-based solutions that expand access to information, preserve cultural heritage, and advance the shared goals of our members and the communities we serve. Collaboratively, we build a future that is inclusive, equitable, accessible and sustainable.

Education

Assets

$96.6M

Grants

5

Total Given

$106K

Wm & M Hunt Memorial Scholarship Tua Co Bank

Dallas, TX

The foundation funds scholarships, awarding 13 grants in 2025 ranging from $500 to $4,500, with a median of $1,000. Its grants went mainly to recipients in New Jersey, New Hampshire, and Pennsylvania; a 2024 filing lists an application process and a restriction for Cape May County, New Jersey residents, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$760K

Grants

13

Total Given

$20K

Robert Mills Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Robert Mills Foundation’s recent grants supported New Jersey charities working in hunger relief, health care, social services, education, youth programs, and the arts. In 2025, it made 13 grants of $5,000 each. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2M

Grants

13

Total Given

$65K

The Lowell F Johnson Foundation

Pittsburgh, PA

The foundation funds education, healthcare, and medical research, with an emphasis on direct services, demonstrated community needs, and measurable outcomes. Its 2025 grants ranged from $4,000 to $30,000, with a median of $5,000, and mostly went to organizations in New Jersey, New York, and Texas. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.2M

Grants

16

Total Given

$153K

Pseg Foundation Inc

Newark, NJ

PSEG Foundation supports environmental sustainability, education and STEM, community well-being, disaster recovery, equity, and economic mobility, primarily through program grants to nonprofits. Its 2024 grants ranged from $80,000 to $1 million, with a median of $250,000; funding is concentrated in New Jersey, and Neighborhood Partners applicants must operate in PSEG’s service or operating territory. The foundation says it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$29.6M

Grants

20

Total Given

$6.1M

Switzer Foundation

New York, NY

The Switzer Foundation mainly funds scholarships for young women pursuing medical education in the New York metropolitan area, with 2024 grants ranging from $4,000 to $20,000 and a median of $10,000. Its grants went primarily to organizations in New York and New Jersey, with smaller amounts in Pennsylvania and Connecticut. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected charitable organizations.

Assets

$6.3M

Grants

24

Total Given

$268K

More similar funders

More Funders in New Jersey

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Thomas Edison State University Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?