The Robert Birr Scholarship

Private foundation · Grantmaker Bellevue, OH EIN: 34-1940986

The Robert Birr Scholarship is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Bellevue, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $348K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 9 grants totaling $14K. Net investment income was $14K.

The Robert Birr Scholarship at a glance

In short: The Robert Birr Scholarship gave $14K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$13,500
+2.3% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
9
+50.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$1,500
-31.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$1,500
Total assets
$347,625
+7.8% vs 2024
Primary geography
Ohio (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who The Robert Birr Scholarship funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

38 grants across all recorded years

38<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 38 grants of 38 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.

States

Cities

BellevueClydeColumbusMonroeville

How The Robert Birr Scholarship gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−20%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 83% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$5K$10K$15K$20K6 grants2019 8 grants2020 7 grants2021 10 grants2022 6 grants2023 6 grants2024 9 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $6K (2019) to $17K (2022). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $14K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
9 individual scholarships Recipients not named —$13,500
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Robert Birr Scholarship?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$347,625$13,990$13,746$13,5009$13,500$13,844$16,350
2024$322,619$10,635$13,412$13,2006$13,200$10,523$15,059
2023$291,834$8,138$11,609$11,4006$11,500$8,029$13,331
2022$251,589$7,956$17,044$16,80010$16,900$7,812$13,592
2021$332,524$14,100$12,090$11,9007$12,000$10,388$14,731
2020$276,171$6,636$11,057$10,8008—$6,479$11,581
2019$242,577$8,027$6,291$6,0006—$7,836$10,777

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Robert Birr Scholarship reported a distributable amount of $16K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Robert Birr Scholarship is led by Janet Scagnetti, President on every filing since 2019; none of the 6 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Janet Scagnetti

    President

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • David A. Wallingford

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Bill King

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    No compensation reported

  • Brock Meyer

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    No compensation reported

  • Glenn Cunningham

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Jean Miller

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Juliana Weakland (2019–2021) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about The Robert Birr Scholarship

How much does The Robert Birr Scholarship give each year?

The Robert Birr Scholarship gave $14K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $13K across 6 grants.

What is The Robert Birr Scholarship's typical grant size?

The Robert Birr Scholarship's median grant in 2025 was $1,500, and its average grant was $1,500, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does The Robert Birr Scholarship give grants?

The Robert Birr Scholarship gives mostly in Ohio: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there.

Does The Robert Birr Scholarship give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 9 grants with a stated purpose on The Robert Birr Scholarship's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "College Tuition and Fees" (9 grants).

How large is The Robert Birr Scholarship?

The Robert Birr Scholarship reported $348K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $14K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $16K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is The Robert Birr Scholarship?

The Robert Birr Scholarship is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Bellevue, OH. It holds $348K in total assets as of 2025.

What is The Robert Birr Scholarship's EIN?

The Robert Birr Scholarship's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-1940986. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(3)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 2, 2020)
  2. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 30, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Robert Birr Scholarship's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Ohio

Ohio Child Care Resource and Referral Association

Columbus, OH

OCCRRA funds Ohio organizations serving child care, early learning, and youth development, including through program-specific stabilization and access grants. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,960 to $50,970, with a median of $30,060. Organizations apply for assistance and are reviewed against program criteria; unsolicited requests are not addressed in the information provided.

Assets

$6.3M

Grants

4

Total Given

$118K

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports a broad range of nonprofit work, including arts, education, health, basic needs, neighborhoods, and capacity building, primarily in central Ohio. Its 2024 grants had a median of $21,471, though amounts varied widely. Most grants are directed by donors and aren’t made through an application process, but some specific programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation funds nonprofits working on education, housing, community and cultural vibrancy, and related regional needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though amounts vary widely; specific opportunities include awards of up to $35,000 for Resilient Communities and up to $450,000 through the Neighborhood Development Fund. It lists RFP and letter-of-intent opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,408

Total Given

$184.4M

The Cleveland Foundation

Cleveland, OH

The Cleveland Foundation funds education, human services, neighborhoods and housing, health, arts and culture, the environment, economic development, and other community priorities, primarily through grants to nonprofits in Cuyahoga, Lake and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from about $5,000 to $17.5 million, with a median of about $30,700. It accepts applications year-round through its standard grant process, with deadlines determining which cycle an application enters.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

1,016

Total Given

$184.2M

The Scripps Howard Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The foundation supports journalism education and related programs that foster informed, engaged communities, including journalism fellowships and environmental and technology-focused journalism initiatives. In 2024, grants ranged from $25 to $675,706, with a median of $1,250; funding was concentrated in Maryland and Washington, D.C., followed by Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$69.4M

Grants

819

Total Given

$7.4M

Nisource Charitable Foundation

Columbus, OH

The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$43.0M

Grants

683

Total Given

$7.5M

More similar funders

More Funders in Ohio

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Robert Birr Scholarship's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Robert Birr Scholarship down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?