The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education logo

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education

Public charity · Grantmaker Washington, DC EIN: 23-7035089 Website

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education is a national nonprofit and philanthropic organization based in Washington, DC, founded by educators in 1969. It works in partnership with others to promote public education and supports educator-led projects, professional learning, community-school partnerships, and educator recognition.

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education at a glance

In short: The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education gave $1.6M across 28 grants in 2025 (avg $58K), top state Mississippi. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$1,614,927
+48.6% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
28
+100.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$57,676
-25.7% vs 2024
Median grant
$30,000
Total assets
$56,235,764
+6.6% vs 2024
Primary geography
Mississippi (36% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated October 2026.

How to apply to The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education

Contact

Mailing address: 1201 16Th Street Nw 416, Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (202) 822-7840
Website: https://neafoundation.org

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

AEH Community Health Services Center Inc: $225KAEH Community Health ServicesCenter Inc$225KBatesville School District: $200KBatesville School District$200KLittle Rock Public Schools: $200KLittle Rock Public Schools$200KInstitute for Democratic Ed in America: $130KInstitute for Democratic Ed inAmerica$130KCommunity Foundation for Mississippi: $120KCommunity Foundation forMississippi$120KUniversity of Arkansas at Pine Bluff: $115KUniversity of Arkansas at PineBluff$115KNational Center for Youth Law: $100KNational Center for Youth Law$100KClarksdale Municipal School District: $58KClarksdale Municipal SchoolDistrict$58KRural Community Alliance: $55KRural Community Alliance$55KGrantmakers for Education: $50KGrantmakers for Education$50K

The largest 2025 recipient was AEH Community Health Services Center Inc ($225K). Together the top 10 received $1.3M.

Grant Size Distribution

94 grants across all recorded years

48<$50K18$50–100K27$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 48 grants of 94 (51%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The Foundation describes its Community Schools Initiative as supporting community-school development across Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi. In its 2025 grant data, Mississippi and Arkansas each accounted for 36% of grant dollars; California accounted for 9%, Oregon 3%, and the District of Columbia 2%. Its 2025 grants also included recipients in other states, including Kansas and Virginia.

Grant Distribution by State

25states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 28 itemized grants.

Cities

Little RockWashingtonJacksonClarksdaleBatesvilleBaton RougeNew YorkOaklandSumnerChicagoGreen BayPhiladelphiaPortlandBronxEmporiaKansas CityMarksMoreno ValleyPine BluffPoughkeepsie

How The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education gives

  • 39% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+12%). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M$2M19 grants2019 6 grants2020 13 grants2021 24 grants2022 15 grants2023 14 grants2024 28 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $442K (2020) to $1.6M (2025). In 2025 it made 28 grants totaling $1.6M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
AEH Community Health Services Center Inc Clarksdale, MSSpecial Grants$225,000
Batesville School District Batesville, ARSpecial Grants$200,000
Little Rock Public Schools Little Rock, ARPlanning Grants$200,000
Institute for Democratic Ed in America Jackson, MSSpecial Grants$130,000
Community Foundation for Mississippi Jackson, MSSpecial Grants$120,000
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff Pine Bluff, ARPlanning Grants$115,000
National Center for Youth Law Oakland, CASpecial Grants$100,000
Clarksdale Municipal School District Clarksdale, MSSpecial Grants$58,000
Rural Community Alliance Little Rock, ARSpecial Grants$55,000
Grantmakers for Education Portland, ORSpecial Grants$50,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$56,235,764$6,815,298$6,770,078$1,614,92728$2,035,141
2024$52,733,359$6,658,255$6,194,524$1,087,00014$3,040,609
2023$47,215,857$3,234,576$5,860,697$1,076,84115$-117,539
2022$46,299,667$13,777,530$6,620,376$1,444,97324$10,084,065
2021$54,448,457$2,951,280$4,728,435$1,365,07413$872,397
2020$47,174,635$4,854,534$4,195,565$442,0006$2,198,764
2019$45,790,387$4,442,208$6,220,311$890,87819$1,614,780

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated October 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The Foundation’s stated mission is to work in partnership with others to promote the very best in public education. Its website describes its work as investing in educators’ and communities’ leadership, learning, partnerships, and advocacy to advance educational justice, equity, excellence, and opportunity.

Its educator grant programs support classroom projects and professional development. Student Success Grants address areas such as critical thinking, academic learning, cultural understanding, communication, collaboration, and real-world learning. Learning & Leadership Grants support educators’ professional development, innovation, and collaboration. Envision Equity Grants support educator-led projects centered on equity. The Foundation also supports the development of community schools in Arkansas, Louisiana, and Mississippi through partnerships among educators, schools, community organizations, families, students, and local institutions.

The Foundation’s 2025 grants included school districts, a university, education-focused nonprofits, and community organizations. Grantee missions illustrate this range: the Community Foundation for Mississippi says it connects donors, communities, and nonprofits to make lasting change in Mississippi; the National Center for Youth Law describes work to protect children’s rights and ensure their voices are heard; and the Learning Policy Institute says it conducts research to improve learning for children. These are the grantees’ descriptions of their own work.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, the Foundation reported 28 grants totaling $1,614,927. Grants ranged from $10,000 to $225,000, with a median of $30,000. Among the largest were $225,000 to AEH Community Health Services Center Inc. in Clarksdale, Mississippi; $200,000 to Batesville School District and $200,000 to Little Rock Public Schools in Arkansas; $130,000 to the Institute for Democratic Ed in America in Jackson, Mississippi; and $120,000 to the Community Foundation for Mississippi.

The Foundation’s website describes grants for educators as supporting educator-conceived projects and professional development. For Student Success and Learning & Leadership grants, lead and partner applicants must be current National Education Association members. Eligible applicants include teachers, education support professionals, and specialized instructional support personnel; current NEA Foundation grantees are ineligible, and a successful proposal makes an applicant ineligible for other Foundation funding opportunities until the grant is completed and closed out. The Foundation’s FAQs identify critical thinking and problem-solving, essential academic content, communication and collaboration, project-based learning, and learning connected to real-world issues as topics most likely to be funded.

The Global Learning Fellowship is described as a year-long program for K–12 public school educators, with online coursework, professional workshops, and an international field study in Costa Rica. The Foundation’s grants-and-fellowships page also lists Learning & Leadership Grants, Envision Equity Grants, Student Success Grants, and the fellowship. The Student Success Grants page lists an application period of June 15 through September 15 and registration by September 10; the page does not identify the year for those dates.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Sara Sneed as President & CEO. Listed directors and officers include Nick Archuleta, Chair; Oleta Garrett Fitzgerald, Vice-Chair; Tia Dowdell, Secretary-Treasurer; Arthur Affleck; Aaro Jean Bell; Daaiyah Bilal-Threats; Bret Conklin; Bertis Downs; and Laura Engel.

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education is led by Sara Sneed, President & CEO on every filing since 2019; 5 of 29 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Sara Sneed

    President & CEO

    On filings since 2019

    37.5 hrs/week

    $204K (2020) → $305K (2025)

  • Nick Archuleta

    Chair

    Director → Vice Chair, 2022

    Vice Chair → Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Daaiyah Bilal-Threats

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bertis Downs

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joanne Krell

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Laura Engel

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Monica Washington

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Becky Pringle

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brent McKim

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bret Conklin

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jane Quin

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marcy Singer-Gabella

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ross Wiener

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Aaro Jean Bell

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jerry Weast

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Roger Pollak

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Denise Sheehan

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Derron Wallace

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Erica Webber Jones

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stuart Lucas

    Director

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Arthur Affleck

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cicely Woodard

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marc Moorghen

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Eric James

    Cfao

    CFO → Cfao, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    37.5 hrs/week

    $157K (2019) → $193K (2025)

  • Margaret Porta

    Coio

    COO → Coio, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    37.5 hrs/week

    $160K (2019) → $187K (2025)

  • Katherine Gibney

    Senior Vice President of Development

    On filings since 2024

    37.5 hrs/week

    $154K (2024) → $158K (2025)

  • Alexander Wilkins

    Vice President of Finance & Administrator

    New on the 2025 filing

    37.5 hrs/week

    $104K (2025)

  • Oleta Garrett Fitzgerald

    Vice Chair

    Director → Vice Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tia Dowdell

    Secretary-Treasurer

    Director → Secretary-Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (35)
  • Former: Joy Whitlow (2019–2024) — Secretary-Treasurer
  • Former: Valeria Lassiter (2019–2024) — Immediate Past Chair
  • Former: Andrew Grabel (2021–2024) — Senior Vice President of Comms.
  • Former: Pedro Noguera (2021–2024) — Director
  • Former: Jerome Paige (2022–2023) — Director
  • Former: Elizabeth Schnieder (2023) — Cosi
  • Former: Pamela Pinkett (2023) — Interim CFO
  • Former: Kevin Anderson (2019–2022) — Immediate Past Chair
  • Former: Stacey Herndon (2019–2022) — Director
  • Former: Tammy Smith (2021–2022) — Director
  • Former: Elizabeth Schneider (2022) — Cosi
  • Former: Jeffrey Freund (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Maryann Woods-Murphy (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Pedro Dejesus Jr. (2019–2021) — Director
  • Former: Ted Dintersmith (2021) — Director
  • Former: Christian Duffue (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Eric Wayne (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Julian Vasquez Heilig (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Katherine Underwood (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Lily Eskelsen Garcia (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Peter Heckman (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Robert Adams Jr. (2019–2020) — Senior Vice President of Programs
  • Former: Sean Corcoran (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Sharon Gallagher-Fishbaugh (2019–2020) — Director
  • Former: Harriet Sanford See Schedule O. (2020) — President & CEO
  • Former: Miguel Angel Sandana Villegas (2020) — Director
  • Former: Patricia Jones (2020) — Director
  • Former: Cathy Zier (2019) — Director
  • Former: Crystal Brown (2019) — Director
  • Former: Donna Blackman (2019) — Director
  • Former: Edith Wooten (2019) — Senior Vice President of Committee
  • Former: Elizabeth Dunning (2019) — Senior Vice President of Programs
  • Former: Harriet Sanford (2019) — President & CEO
  • Former: Paige Johnson (2019) — Director
  • Former: Sandra Walker (2019) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Sara Sneed — President & CEO: $305KSara SneedPresident & CEO$305KEric James — Cfao: $193KEric JamesCfao$193KMargaret Porta — Coio: $187KMargaret PortaCoio$187KKatherine Gibney — SVP of Development: $158KKatherine GibneySVP of Development$158KAlexander Wilkins — VP of Finance & Admin: $104KAlexander WilkinsVP of Finance & Admin$104K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $305K, to Sara Sneed (President & CEO). 5 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education

How much does The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education give each year?

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education gave $1.6M across 28 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $1.1M across 14 grants.

What is The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's typical grant size?

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's median grant in 2025 was $30,000, and its average grant was $57,676, across 28 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education give grants?

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's top state is Mississippi, with 36% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990. The next largest states were Arkansas (36%) and California (9%). The most frequent recipient cities were Little Rock, AR (3 grants), Clarksdale, MS (2 grants), Jackson, MS (2 grants) and Washington, DC (2 grants).

Does The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 28 grants with a stated purpose on The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Special Grants" (23 grants) and "Planning Grants" (5 grants).

Who are The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's largest grantees?

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's largest 2025 grantees include AEH Community Health Services Center Inc ($225,000), Batesville School District ($200,000) and Little Rock Public Schools ($200,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. Together they received 39% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education?

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education reported $56.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $6.8M.

What does The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education fund?

The Foundation’s stated mission is to work in partnership with others to promote the very best in public education. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education?

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Check neafoundation.org for current guidelines, or contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.

What is The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's EIN?

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7035089. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings. Research dossier generated October 2026.

Data update history

(8)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS January 8, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS January 14, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS January 19, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 15, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS February 21, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS January 31, 2025)
  7. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS January 30, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Live grants for the work The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education funds

Education Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

ESB Charitable Foundation

San Francisco, CA

The San Francisco-based ESB Charitable Foundation gave mainly to other foundations in 2024, with grants ranging from $25,000 to $4 million and a median of $250,000. All reported grants went to California recipients. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$107.1M

Grants

21

Total Given

$20.0M

Chan Zuckerberg Initiative Foundation

Palo Alto, CA

The Chan Zuckerberg Initiative Foundation funds science and disease research, education, health care, housing, community development, and justice reform. Its 2024 grants had a median of $1.2 million (ranging from $100,000 to $60 million), with most funding going to California; it also supports work in other states. It does not accept unsolicited requests, though applicants may apply to specific published funding opportunities.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$7.5B

Grants

53

Total Given

$235.4M

The Schott Foundation for Public Education

Cambridge, MA

The Schott Foundation for Public Education funds grassroots groups and networks advancing racial and education justice, especially equity and resources in public pre-K–12 education, across the United States. Its 2025 grants ranged from $250 to $325,000, with a median of $15,000; it makes grants by invitation only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$17.1M

Grants

111

Total Given

$3.0M

National Education Association of the United States

Washington, DC

NEA funds affiliate-led work to build organizational capacity, strengthen public education and student learning, support education professionals, and advance racial and social justice, primarily through state and local affiliates across the United States. In 2025, its grants ranged from $5,433 to $12.7 million, with a median of $76,650. Eligible affiliates can apply through NEA’s grants portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$432.7M

Grants

240

Total Given

$158.0M

Nellie Mae Education Foundation Inc

Quincy, MA

The foundation funds educational nonprofits and community-rooted efforts advancing equitable, student-centered public education for young people in New England, including capacity building, systems change, coalitions, and related activities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $100,000, though awards ranged widely; it also offers event sponsorships up to $5,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.

Education

Assets

$543.0M

Grants

140

Total Given

$21.0M

Raikes Foundation

Seattle, WA

The Raikes Foundation funds equitable education, youth housing stability, equity and democracy, and impact-driven philanthropy, with work in Washington State and nationally. In 2024, grants ranged from $100 to $800,000, with a median of $10,000; it gives mainly in Washington, DC, California, and Washington State. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$97.7M

Grants

269

Total Given

$11.3M

More similar funders

More Funders in District of Columbia

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 22, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/the-nea-foundation-for-the-improvement-of-education-morg_4e43dc579dc04e5ab8fdbce7bab9c509

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_237035089_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/the-nea-foundation-for-the-improvement-of-education-morg_4e43dc579dc04e5ab8fdbce7bab9c509},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-22. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The NEA Foundation for the Improvement of Education down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?