The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc logo

The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Madison, WI EIN: 20-8325570 Website

Our mission is to improve human health by conducting, enabling and translating innovative, interdisciplinary biomedical research in partnership with the university of Wisconsin-madison and others, by leveraging our collective strength in research and education.our vision is to solve major challenges to human health by serving as an interdisciplinary research center and collaborative hub that enables investigators to address and answer fundamental biomedical questions.we envision using our private status and streamlined organizational structure to respond nimbly to emerging opportunities. In partnership with an outstanding public research university we will synergistically enhance our collective strengths.through community engagement we will promote better understanding of the health benefits of biomedical research.

The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc at a glance

In short: The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc gave $1.3M across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $1.3M), mostly in Wisconsin. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$1,311,424
-13.7% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$1,311,424
-13.7% vs 2024
Median grant
$1,311,424
Total assets
$81,240,978
-8.1% vs 2024
Primary geography
Wisconsin (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

How to apply to The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc

Who The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

University of Wisconsin - Madison: $1.3MUniversity of Wisconsin -Madison$1.3M

The largest 2025 recipient was University of Wisconsin - Madison ($1.3M).

Grant Size Distribution

6 grants across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M5$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $1–5M range: 5 grants of 6 (83%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Madison

How The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−17%). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M$2M2 grants2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 1 grant2024 1 grant2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $1.3M (2025) to $1.7M (2021). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $1.3M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
University of Wisconsin - Madison Madison, WITo Support Ongoing Research and Education.$1,311,424
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$81,240,978$78,378,897$37,276,559$1,311,4241$15,451
2024$88,421,400$33,569,331$32,259,175$1,519,5571$-183,099
2023$87,077,299$26,189,437$28,100,888$1,394,3171$-123,698
2022$39,159,232$31,260,275$28,634,578$1,587,2291$1,471
2021$37,239,954$29,381,681$27,481,598$1,654,9022$173

About The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc

Based on IRS filings

The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc is a public charity focused on Health, based in Madison, WI. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $81.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $1.3M. Net investment income was $15K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc is led by Brad Schwartz, CEO & Trustee on every filing since 2021; 23 of 26 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Brad Schwartz

    CEO & Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $461K (2021) → $541K (2025)

  • Jacquelyn Fredrick

    Trustee & Chair

    Trustee → Trustee & Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    $15K (2021) → $15K (2025)

  • Erik Iverson

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    4 hrs/week

    $15K (2021) → $15K (2025)

  • Harvey Cohen

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    $15K (2021) → $15K (2025)

  • James Dahlberg

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    $15K (2021) → $15K (2025)

  • John Burris

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    $15K (2022) → $15K (2025)

  • John Neis

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    $10K (2021) → $15K (2025)

  • Thomas Pyle Jr.

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    $15K (2021) → $10K (2025)

  • Winslow L. Sargeant

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    $10K (2021) → $15K (2025)

  • Eric Morgridge

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    $10K (2024) → $15K (2025)

  • Tess Morgridge Gardner

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    $10K (2024) → $15K (2025)

  • Gregg Fergus

    Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    $10K (2025)

  • John Durant

    Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    $6K (2025)

  • Randy Bartels

    Director of Human Resources

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $367K (2025)

  • Fred Robertson

    Trustee & Vice Chair

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John Morgridge

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tashia Morgridge

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brian Mattmiller

    Chief Communications Officer & Secretary

    Chief Communications Director & Secretary → Chief Communications Officer & Secretary, 2023

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $189K (2021) → $228K (2025)

  • Deborah Keller

    Former Trustee

    Trustee → Former Trustee, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    $10K (2021) → $10K (2025)

  • Doug Eklund

    Controller

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $160K (2021) → $191K (2025)

  • Kathi Stanek

    CFO, COO & Treasurer

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $313K (2021) → $353K (2025)

  • Melissa Skala

    Lead Investigator

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $245K (2021) → $297K (2025)

  • Patricia Lipton

    Former Trustee

    Trustee → Former Trustee, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    $15K (2021) → $10K (2025)

  • Ronald Stewart

    Associate Director - Bioinformatics

    Associate Director - Bioin → Associate Director - Bioinformatics, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $186K (2021) → $209K (2025)

  • William Swisher Jr.

    Chief Development Officer

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $273K (2021) → $303K (2025)

  • Paul Ahlquist

    Lead Investigator

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $175K (2022) → $230K (2025)

Former officers (8)
  • Former: Jill Walder (2021–2024) — Director of Human Resource
  • Former: Mary Burke (2021–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Thomas Krummel (2021–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: James A. Thomson (2021–2023) — Director Regenerative Biology
  • Former: Carl Gulbrandsen (2021–2022) — Trustee & Chair
  • Former: Jan Huisken (2021–2022) — Lead Investigator
  • Former: Susan Engeleiter (2021) — Trustee -
  • Former: Terri Potter (2021) — Trustee -

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Brad Schwartz — CEO/Trustee: $541KBrad SchwartzCEO/Trustee$541KRandy Bartels — Director of Human Resources: $367KRandy BartelsDirector of Human Resources$367KKathi Stanek — CFO/COO/Treasurer: $353KKathi StanekCFO/COO/Treasurer$353KWilliam Swisher Jr — Chief Development Officer: $303KWilliam Swisher JrChief Development Officer$303KMelissa Skala — Lead Investigator: $297KMelissa SkalaLead Investigator$297KPaul Ahlquist — Lead Investigator: $230KPaul AhlquistLead Investigator$230KBrian Mattmiller — Chief Communications Off./Secretary: $228KBrian MattmillerChief Communications…$228KRonald Stewart — Associate Director - Bioinformatics: $209KRonald StewartAssociate Director…$209KDoug Eklund — Controller: $191KDoug EklundController$191KErik Iverson — Trustee: $15KErik IversonTrustee$15KJohn Burris — Trustee: $15KJohn BurrisTrustee$15KHarvey Cohen — Trustee: $15KHarvey CohenTrustee$15KJames Dahlberg — Trustee: $15KJames DahlbergTrustee$15KJacquelyn Fredrick — Trustee/Chair: $15KJacquelyn FredrickTrustee/Chair$15KTess Morgridge Gardner — Trustee: $15KTess Morgridge GardnerTrustee$15KEric Morgridge — Trustee: $15KEric MorgridgeTrustee$15KJohn Neis — Trustee: $15KJohn NeisTrustee$15KWinslow L Sargeant — Trustee: $15KWinslow L SargeantTrustee$15KGregg Fergus — Trustee: $10KGregg FergusTrustee$10KThomas Pyle Jr — Trustee: $10KThomas Pyle JrTrustee$10KDeborah Keller — Former Trustee: $10KDeborah KellerFormer Trustee$10KPatricia Lipton — Former Trustee: $10KPatricia LiptonFormer Trustee$10KJohn Durant — Trustee: $6KJohn DurantTrustee$6K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $541K, to Brad Schwartz (CEO/Trustee). 23 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc

How much does The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc give each year?

The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc gave $1.3M across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $1.5M across 1 grant.

How large is The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc?

The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc reported $81.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $78.4M.

What is The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc?

The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc is a public charity focused on Health, based in Madison, WI. It holds $81.2M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc operate?

The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc has awarded grants in Wisconsin.

What is The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc's EIN?

The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-8325570. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 15, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 11, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 14, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS November 13, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Live grants for the work The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc funds

Health Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Madison Gas and Electric Foundation Inc

Madison, WI

The foundation funds charitable and tax-exempt organizations, including community services and affordable workforce housing, primarily in Madison and within Madison Gas and Electric’s service territory. In 2024, grants ranged from $100 to $300,000, with a median of $2,000. It accepts applications and does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$45.2M

Grants

217

Total Given

$1.9M

Mental Research Institute

Menlo Park, CA

The Mental Research Institute funds research and programs using systemic, interactional approaches to psychology, social systems, communication, and human relationships, including mental health and family-related work. Its 2025 grants ranged from $4,500 to $25,000, with a median of $20,000, and went to recipients in multiple states. Although its website describes a rolling application process, its 2024 filing says it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$11.3M

Grants

33

Total Given

$560K

JW Etzelmueller Trust Fund

Tomah, WI

Assets

$252K

Grants

9

Total Given

$24K

Norn Group

San Francisco, CA

Norn Group funds ambitious, high-risk research in longevity science and aging biology, including work on age-related disease and potential therapies; its Impetus Grants offer up to $500,000 per project. Its 2025 filing lists a single grant of $243,000 to a recipient in California, but this does not establish its overall geographic scope. The profile describes an application process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Medical Research

Assets

$3.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$243K

Bay Care Clinic Foundation Ltd

Green Bay, WI

Bay Care Clinic Foundation supports community health and wellness, mental health, and healthcare or global health scholarships, primarily serving northeastern Wisconsin through eligible organizations in counties served by BayCare Clinic. In 2024 it made 77 grants ranging from $100 to $37,988, with a median award of $1,000. It accepts applications year-round and reviews them quarterly.

Education

Assets

$915K

Grants

77

Total Given

$207K

The Susan G Komen Breast Cancer Foundation Inc

Dallas, TX

The Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation funds breast cancer research and programs supporting education, patient navigation, financial assistance, and access to care. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,681 to $945,992, with a median of $158,660, and it funds work in the United States and 24 other countries. Research applications require an LOI, and full applications are by invitation; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$178.9M

Grants

61

Total Given

$16.1M

More similar funders

More Funders in Wisconsin

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Morgridge Institute for Research Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?