The Max and Helen Krey Foundation
The Max and Helen Krey Foundation is a private foundation focused on Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking, based in Grand Junction, CO. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.0M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 16 grants totaling $161K. Net investment income was $47K.
Key facts about The Max and Helen Krey Foundation
In short: The Max and Helen Krey Foundation gave $161K across 16 grants in 2025 (avg $10K), mostly in Colorado. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 84-1185475
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $160,510
- Grants made (2025)
- 16
- Average grant
- $10,032
- Median grant
- $7,500
- Total assets
- $1,028,735
- Primary geography
- Colorado (99% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$1.0M
-11.1% YoY
Annual Giving
$161K
+0.6% YoY
Grant Count
16
+6.7% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$10K
-5.7% YoY
How The Max and Helen Krey Foundation gives
- 88% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−4%). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with The Max and Helen Krey Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 16 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
Grant Size Distribution
48 grants across all recorded years
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| CMU FOUNDATION Grand Junction, CO | GENERAL FUND | $25,000 |
| HOPEWEST Grand Junction, CO | GENERAL FUND | $25,000 |
| ST MARY'S HOSPITAL FOUNDATION Grand Junction, CO | GENERAL FUND | $20,000 |
| COMMUNITY HOSPITAL FOUNDATION Grand Junction, CO | GENERAL FUND | $20,000 |
| W CO CENTER FOR THE ARTS Grand Junction, CO | GENERAL FUND | $10,000 |
| EUREKA MCCONNELL SCIENCE MUSEUM Grand Junction, CO | GENERAL FUND | $10,000 |
| GRAND JUNCTION SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA Grand Junction, CO | FENERAL FUND | $10,000 |
| GRAND JUNCTION ROTARY FOUNDATION Grand Junction, CO | GENERAL FUND | $10,000 |
| CATHOLIC OUTREACH Grand Junction, CO | GENERAL FUND | $5,000 |
| FIRST UNITED METHODIST CHURCH Grand Junction, CO | GENERAL FUND | $5,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,028,735 | $1,157,285 | $968,011 |
| Revenue | $33,691 | $354,642 | $42,507 |
| Expenses | $170,122 | $171,486 | $175,450 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $160,516 | $159,504 | $167,008 |
| Net Investment Income | $47,094 | $42,488 | $39,495 |
| Distributable Amount | — | — | — |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS January 16, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 15, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS July 11, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 12, 2026)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS January 16, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 15, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS July 11, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 12, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Max and Helen Krey Foundation's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Marina Young
Director
On filings since 2021
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mark Krey
Director
New on the 2025 filing
5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Mark Young (2021–2024) — Director
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about The Max and Helen Krey Foundation
How much does The Max and Helen Krey Foundation give each year?
The Max and Helen Krey Foundation gave $161K across 16 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $160K across 15 grants.
What is The Max and Helen Krey Foundation's typical grant size?
The Max and Helen Krey Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $7,500, and its average grant was $10,032, across 16 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Max and Helen Krey Foundation give grants?
The Max and Helen Krey Foundation gives mostly in Colorado: 99% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Grand Junction, CO (14 grants).
Does The Max and Helen Krey Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 94% of The Max and Helen Krey Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (15 of 16) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The Max and Helen Krey Foundation's largest grantees?
The Max and Helen Krey Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Cmu Foundation ($25,000), Hopewest ($25,000) and St Mary's Hospital Foundation ($20,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 44% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Max and Helen Krey Foundation?
The Max and Helen Krey Foundation reported $1.0M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Its revenue that year was $34K.
What is The Max and Helen Krey Foundation?
The Max and Helen Krey Foundation is a private foundation focused on Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking, based in Grand Junction, CO. It holds $1.0M in total assets as of 2025.
What is The Max and Helen Krey Foundation's EIN?
The Max and Helen Krey Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 84-1185475. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching The Max and Helen Krey Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Max and Helen Krey Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Western Colorado Community
Grand Junction, CO
Western Colorado Community Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in western Colorado, including work in basic needs, housing, health, youth well-being, and environmental stewardship. Typical awards are $1,000–$5,000 for general or project requests and $10,000–$25,000 for capital requests; its community grants focus on basic-needs services. The profile describes request and application processes but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$211.1M
Grants
194
Total Given
$8.0M
Colorado Gives Foundation
Arvada, CO
Colorado Gives Foundation funds nonprofits serving Jefferson County, Colorado, with priorities including essential needs, housing, food security, education, workforce development, health, and connected neighborhoods. Its 2024 median grant was $17,814; current opportunities offer $2,500–$100,000 for responsive support and $5,000–$25,000 for housing. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$527.1M
Grants
2,211
Total Given
$91.0M
The Colorado Health Foundation
Denver, CO
The Colorado Health Foundation funds Colorado organizations working to improve health and health equity, including projects in primary care, housing, recovery, advocacy, and community solutions; it offers project, operating, capacity-building, and capital support. Its 2024 grants had a median of $80,000, though awards ranged widely, and its work is statewide, with 96% of 2024 grant dollars going to Colorado recipients. Applicants must apply through an open funding opportunity; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$2.9B
Grants
684
Total Given
$102.2M
Bacon Family Foundation
Grand Junction, CO
The Bacon Family Foundation supports Colorado organizations addressing community needs, including human services, health, education, food access, and community services. Its 2025 grants ranged from $4,000 to $100,000, with a median of $13,500. To apply, contact the foundation; no specific form or deadline is stated.
Assets
$248K
Grants
22
Total Given
$481K
Xcel Energy Foundation
Minneapolis, MN
The Xcel Energy Foundation funds STEM career pathways, environmental sustainability, and community vitality programs in Xcel Energy’s service area across Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota, South Dakota, Colorado, Texas, and New Mexico. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5 to $619,552, with a median of $512. It does not accept unsolicited requests; applications are by invitation only.
Assets
—
Grants
1,820
Total Given
$7.7M
United Way of Mesa County Inc
Grand Junction, CO
To meet human service needs
Assets
$1.0M
Grants
17
Total Given
$235K
International Association of Lions
Grand Junction, CO
To serve and support the local community, promote social union, and encourage civic participation by doing the most good for the most people.
Assets
$245K
Grants
8
Total Given
$129K
Adolph Coors Foundation
Denver, CO
The Adolph Coors Foundation funds youth development, adult job training and work programs, and public policy, with entrepreneurship and integrative medicine grants by invitation only. It focuses on Colorado, especially rural communities, and considers out-of-state public policy requests; 2025 awards ranged from $4,500 to $500,000, with a median of $40,000, while youth and adult grants are typically $5,000–$175,000. It accepts online applications during set periods, but does not accept letters of inquiry and asks prospective applicants to call first to discuss fit.
Assets
$204.0M
Grants
128
Total Given
$10.3M
Salin Foundation Inc
Indianapolis, IN
Assets
$928K
Grants
14
Total Given
$28K
Christian Community Foundation Inc
Colorado Springs, CO
WaterStone funds charitable and educational efforts, especially direct Christian ministries, through donor-recommended grants to eligible U.S. and international nonprofits whose missions align with its Statement of Faith. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and grants are recommended by donors.
Assets
$746.4M
Grants
1,651
Total Given
$161.8M
Daniels Fund
Denver, CO
The Daniels Fund supports nonprofit organizations in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming, with grants focused on areas including aging, amateur sports, disabilities, addiction, early childhood education, homelessness and disadvantage, K–12 education reform, and youth. The profile does not state a typical grant size or whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
1,593
Total Given
$69.7M
The Denver Foundation
Denver, CO
The Denver Foundation supports community organizations working on economic opportunity, climate and environment, housing, youth well-being, and related charitable work, with racial equity guiding its grantmaking. Its Community Grants typically award $20,000–$50,000 to organizations serving the seven-county Metro Denver region; other funds have different award levels and may support work beyond the region.
Assets
$1.3B
Grants
1,184
Total Given
$131.7M
More Funders in Colorado
The Max and Helen Krey Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?