The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family

Private foundation · Grantmaker Philadelphia, PA EIN: 25-6683779

The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family is a private foundation, based in Philadelphia, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $2.0M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 9 grants totaling $335K. Net investment income was $191K.

The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family at a glance

In short: The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family gave $335K across 9 grants in 2024 (avg $37K), mostly in Pennsylvania. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$335,000
+3.1% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
9
+28.6% vs 2023
Average grant
$37,222
-19.8% vs 2023
Median grant
$5,000
Total assets
$2,021,739
-3.2% vs 2023
Primary geography
Pennsylvania (93% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 9 recipients in 2024

Thomas Jefferson University: $200KThomas Jefferson University$200KPhiladelphia Museum of Art: $95KPhiladelphia Museum of Art$95KAlzheimer's Association: $10KAlzheimer's Association$10KPlanned Parenthood: $5KPlanned Parenthood$5KCrohn's & Colitis Foundation: $5KCrohn's & Colitis Foundation$5KThe First Tee: $5KThe First Tee$5KSummer Search: $5KSummer Search$5KBerkeley Carrol School: $5KBerkeley Carrol School$5KNewport County YMCA: $5KNewport County YMCA$5K

The largest 2024 recipient was Thomas Jefferson University ($200K). Together the top 9 received $335K.

Grant Size Distribution

49 grants across all recorded years

38<$50K2$50–100K7$100–250K2$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 38 grants of 49 (78%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.

Cities

PhiladelphiaBrooklynPurchaseNew YorkBronxMiddletownAnnapolisPottstown

How The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family gives

  • Giving fell 33% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 312% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K14 grants2020 9 grants2021 10 grants2022 7 grants2023 9 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $325K (2023) to $559K (2022). In 2024 it made 9 grants totaling $335K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Thomas Jefferson University Philadelphia, PAUnrestircted$200,000
Philadelphia Museum of Art Philadelphia, PAUnrestricted$95,000
Alzheimer's Association Philadelphia, PAUnrestricted$10,000
Planned Parenthood Philadelphia, PAUnrestricted$5,000
Crohn's & Colitis Foundation Purchase, NYUnrestricted$5,000
The First Tee Bronx, NYUnrestricted$5,000
Summer Search New York, NYUnrestricted$5,000
Berkeley Carrol School Brooklyn, NYUnrestricted$5,000
Newport County YMCA Middletown, RIUnrestricted$5,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024$2,021,739$203,749$347,461$335,0009$335,000$191,288$107,424
2023$2,089,324$690,240$329,893$325,0007$325,000$685,347$102,604
2022$1,721,756$692,886$568,423$559,00010$559,000$38,839$99,521
2021$2,033,465$255,214$504,790$499,0009$499,000$249,424$127,095
2020$2,281,200$186,788$535,039$529,08014—$180,829$133,657

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family reported a distributable amount of $107K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family is led by Marsha Rothman, Trustee on every filing since 2020 — the only officer listed, and uncompensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Marsha Rothman

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family

How much does The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family give each year?

The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family gave $335K across 9 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $325K across 7 grants.

What is The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family's typical grant size?

The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family's median grant in 2024 was $5,000, and its average grant was $37,222, across 9 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family give grants?

The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family gives mostly in Pennsylvania: 93% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was New York (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were Philadelphia, PA (4 grants).

Does The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family give general operating support?

Yes: 89% of The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (8 of 9) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family's largest grantees?

The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family's largest 2024 grantees include Thomas Jefferson University ($200,000), Philadelphia Museum of Art ($95,000) and Alzheimer's Association ($10,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 91% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family?

The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family reported $2.0M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $335K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $107K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family's EIN?

The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 25-6683779. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

IBM International Foundation

Armonk, NY

The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$357.7M

Grants

16

Total Given

$11.7M

Borowsky Family Foundation

Conshohocken, PA

The Borowsky Family Foundation supports a range of charitable causes, including food access, literacy, Jewish organizations, and preservation, with 2024 grants going to recipients in New York, Pennsylvania, and Massachusetts. Its nine grants ranged from $2,500 to $50,000, with a median of $18,750. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$3.4M

Grants

9

Total Given

$191K

Aetna Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.

Assets

—

Grants

65

Total Given

$7.2M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

The Julian a and Lois G

Philadelphia, PA

The foundation supports charitable organizations, including those working in arts and music, housing and homelessness, and services for children and families. In 2025, it made 105 grants ranging from $500 to $499,270, with a median grant of $15,000; most funding went to Pennsylvania organizations, with grants also made elsewhere. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$16.7M

Grants

105

Total Given

$2.4M

Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia

Philadelphia, PA

The Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia funds basic needs and self-sufficiency, older adults and Holocaust survivors, Jewish life and learning, and community resilience in Greater Philadelphia, Israel, and globally. Its 2025 median grant was $25,000, though awards ranged widely; first-time applicants whose work strongly aligns with its priorities are invited to inquire, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited applications are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$506.4M

Grants

286

Total Given

$33.0M

More similar funders

More Funders in Pennsylvania

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Marsha and Richard Rothman Family down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?