The Malone Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Birmingham, AL EIN: 20-4596031

The Malone Family Foundation is a private foundation, based in Birmingham, AL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $4.8M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 1 grant totaling $255K. Net investment income was $306K.

The Malone Family Foundation at a glance

In short: The Malone Family Foundation gave $255K across 1 grant in 2025 (avg $255K), mostly in Alabama. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$255,000
-0.8% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
1
-50.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$255,000
+98.4% vs 2024
Median grant
$255,000
Total assets
$4,758,711
+1.0% vs 2024
Primary geography
Alabama (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

How to apply to The Malone Family Foundation

Who The Malone Family Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2025

Liberty Learning Foundation: $255KLiberty Learning Foundation$255K

The largest 2025 recipient was Liberty Learning Foundation ($255K).

Grant Size Distribution

9 grants across all recorded years

2<$50K1$50–100K5$100–250K1$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 5 grants of 9 (56%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2025 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

HuntsvilleBirminghamTuscaloosa

How The Malone Family Foundation gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−2%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 98% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K4 grants2020 0 grants2021 3 grants2022 3 grants2023 2 grants2024 1 grant2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $245K (2020) to $260K (2022). In 2025 it made 1 grant totaling $255K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Liberty Learning Foundation Huntsville, ALCivic education programs that improve child, community, & country$255,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Malone Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$4,758,711$348,977$300,351$255,0001$255,000$305,996$259,205
2024$4,710,085$196,936$291,161$257,0002$257,000$165,988$251,203
2023$4,804,310$-15,216$304,049$258,0003$258,000$76,121$256,859
2022$5,123,575$306,468$292,479$260,0003$260,000$276,055$265,740
2021$5,109,586$165,801$30,593———$145,352$256,793
2020$4,974,378$113,378$249,840$245,0004—$110,178$251,617

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Malone Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $259K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Malone Family Foundation is led by Alyson Malone, President & Treasurer on every filing since 2020; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Alyson Malone

    President & Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Wd Malone Jr.

    Chairman

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ocllo S. Malone

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cm Wilson

    Vice President & Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    0.1 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about The Malone Family Foundation

How much does The Malone Family Foundation give each year?

The Malone Family Foundation gave $255K across 1 grant in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $257K across 2 grants.

How large is The Malone Family Foundation?

The Malone Family Foundation reported $4.8M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $255K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $259K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

Where does The Malone Family Foundation operate?

The Malone Family Foundation has awarded grants in Alabama.

What is The Malone Family Foundation's EIN?

The Malone Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-4596031. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Malone Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Rotary Club of Birmingham Foundation

Birmingham, AL

The foundation provides financial support for the club's current, ongoing, and future service projects as well as local, national, and international emergency relief

Assets

$3.6M

Grants

6

Total Given

$88K

Council for Economic Education

New York, NY

The Council for Economic Education funds K–12 economics and personal finance education, especially teacher training and professional development, through support for education organizations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $7,100 to $56,133, with a median of $10,000, and went to organizations in multiple states; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Social Science

Assets

$3.5M

Grants

11

Total Given

$189K

Investor Protection Trust

Washington, DC

Investor Protection Trust funded investor education, research, and securities-regulator programs, with 2024 grants ranging from $7,162 to $2 million and a median of $46,550. Its grants went mainly to DC-based recipients, with others across several states; its 2024 filing is marked as its final return, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

—

Grants

37

Total Given

$5.3M

The Joseph S Bruno Charitable

Birmingham, AL

The Joseph S. Bruno Charitable Foundation funds education and health as primary priorities, along with community needs and arts and culture, in greater Birmingham. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,000 to $100,000, with a median of $10,000. It accepts online letters of inquiry twice a year; full applications are by invitation only.

Assets

$18.0M

Grants

40

Total Given

$550K

Orlean & Ralph W Beeson Fund

Birmingham, AL

The fund supports youth education, humanitarian relief, social services, and Christian ministry, with grants spanning needs such as homelessness, healthcare, food security, and international aid. In 2024, grants ranged from $6,000 to $382,000, with a median of $10,000; most funding went to Alabama, though it also supports work elsewhere in the U.S. and internationally. Applications are accepted through the Independent Presbyterian Church Foundation’s annual and small-grant processes, and emergency grants are available by request to organizations.

Assets

$53.5M

Grants

65

Total Given

$1.6M

Hill Crest Foundation Inc

Mountain Brook, AL

Hill Crest Foundation funds tax-exempt organizations, with recent grants supporting children, hunger relief, health, education, arts, and community programs, primarily in Alabama. Its 2025 grants ranged from $800 to $300,000, with a median of $25,000. It accepts written applications describing the request’s purpose and the applicant organization; no deadline is stated.

Assets

$73.0M

Grants

91

Total Given

$3.1M

More similar funders

More Funders in Alabama

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Malone Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Malone Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?