The Johnson Street Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker New York, NY EIN: 13-7579596

The Johnson Street Foundation is a private foundation based in New York, New York. Its 2025 filing reports 31 grants totaling $2,222,500. The funder’s website describes support for programs addressing trauma among very young children and immigrant families, with an emphasis on caregiver-infant attachment and early childhood well-being.

The Johnson Street Foundation at a glance

In short: The Johnson Street Foundation gave $2.2M across 31 grants in 2025 (avg $72K), mostly in New York. 17% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$2,222,500
-57.6% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
31
+19.2% vs 2024
Average grant
$71,694
-64.4% vs 2024
Median grant
$62,500
Total assets
$60,648,519
+9.4% vs 2024
New grantees (estimate)
17% first-time grantees (4 of 24, 2025; small sample)
Primary geography
New York (79% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

How to apply to The Johnson Street Foundation

Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to Apply

The foundation’s filing says it contributes only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Its website likewise says it does not accept unsolicited proposals, though it welcomes one-page letters of intent. Organizations invited to submit a proposal are asked for a narrative of no more than three to five pages, project and agency budgets, evaluation plans, financial and board information, and a list of other supporters. Grants are for one year, with renewals possible for successful projects; the website expects organizations to seek funding from other sources.

Contact

Mailing address: Lubcher Ganis-126 E 56Th St 3 Fl, New York, NY 10022
Phone: (347) 748-1300

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who The Johnson Street Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

New York University: $150K across 2 grantsNew York University$150K · 2 grantsSouth Ward Alliance: $150K across 2 grantsSouth Ward Alliance$150K · 2 grantsSunset Park Health Council Inc: $150KSunset Park Health Council Inc$150KEl Paso Child Guidance Center Inc: $125KEl Paso Child Guidance CenterInc$125KThe Bridge Project Inc: $125K across 2 grantsThe Bridge Project Inc$125K · 2 grantsArab-American Family Support Center: $113K across 2 grantsArab-American Family SupportCenter$113K · 2 grantsUniversity Settlement Society of New York: $105KUniversity Settlement Societyof New York$105KCenter for Victims of Torture: $100KCenter for Victims of Torture$100KJustice Innovation Inc: $100KJustice Innovation Inc$100KNido De Esperanza Charitable Society: $100K across 2 grantsNido De Esperanza CharitableSociety$100K · 2 grants

The largest 2025 recipient was New York University ($150K across 2 grants). Together the top 10 received $1.2M.

Grant Size Distribution

129 grants across all recorded years

22<$50K60$50–100K43$100–250K$250–500K2$500K–1M2$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 60 grants of 129 (47%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The website says the funder primarily supports programs in the New York metropolitan area and also funds work with immigrant families wherever they are located. In 2025, 79% of grant dollars went to recipients in New York, 7% to New Jersey, 6% to Texas, 4% to Minnesota, and 4% to Arizona.

Grant Distribution by State

8states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 31 itemized grants.

Cities

New YorkBrooklynForest HillsBronxEl PasoSaint PaulTucsonLos AngelesBostonNewarkOaklandDallasHackensackSan FranciscoWarwickGlen Cove

Is The Johnson Street Foundation open to new grantees?

17%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 4 of 24 grantees (17%) were first-time recipients. With only 24 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 4 points. First grants averaged $88K; repeat grants $94K. How we count

Medians: $88K first-time, $100K repeat.

  • 83% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+9%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 77% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2M$4M$6M23 grants2020 22 grants2021 22 grants2022 28 grants2023 26 grants2024 31 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $1.6M (2020) to $5.2M (2024). In 2025 it made 31 grants totaling $2.2M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Sunset Park Health Council Inc Brooklyn, NYGrant: Healthy Steps Sunset Park & 7TH Ave$150,000
El Paso Child Guidance Center Inc El Paso, TXGrant: Attachment Vitamins$125,000
University Settlement Society of New York New York, NYGrant: CPP & P-CPP in Butterflies Program$105,000
Center for Victims of Torture Saint Paul, MNGrant: Proyecto Mariposa$100,000
Justice Innovation Inc New York, NYGrant: Strong Starts Bronx$100,000
New York University New York, NYGrant: SP# 25-1640$100,000
Safe Horizon Inc New York, NYGrant: Bigen. Mental Health Parents & Children$100,000
South Ward Alliance Newark, NJGrant: Circle Security Prog. & HLTHY Beginnings Brick$100,000
The Florence Immigrant & Refugee Rights Tucson, AZGrant: Psychosocial & Legal Services$100,000
The International Rescue Committee Inc New York, NYGrant: Attachment Vitamins NYC & Sacramento$100,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Johnson Street Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$60,648,519$976,691$2,568,408$2,222,50031$2,319,216$918,999$3,004,951
2024$55,456,736$15,270,297$5,373,823$5,239,87126$5,328,717$11,615,818$2,124,678
2023$40,605,216$3,146,665$1,981,498$1,897,50028$1,967,329$1,378,556$1,789,017
2022$32,193,491$615,422$2,224,799$2,033,05022$2,203,977$594,600$1,692,163
2021$40,530,294$495,932$2,842,428$2,548,13622$2,802,343$483,345$1,886,943
2020$35,565,557$505,896$1,889,604$1,627,75823—$544,989$1,570,789

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Johnson Street Foundation reported a distributable amount of $3.0M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The funder’s website says it focuses on preventing or mitigating trauma among children ages zero to three, including through programs that improve caregiver-infant attachment, reduce early childhood stress, and provide psychosocial services to unaccompanied immigrant minors and immigrant families with infants and toddlers. It says it primarily funds programs in the New York metropolitan area, as well as programs serving immigrant families regardless of where they are located.

Examples of supported organizations illustrate the range of grantees. The Center for Justice Innovation describes its work as creating a fair, effective, and humane justice system and building strong communities. Safe Horizon says it supports victims of crime and abuse and works to prevent violence and promote justice. Forestdale describes its mission as ensuring children have the assets they need to thrive.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation reported 31 grants totaling $2,222,500. Grants ranged from $37,500 to $150,000, with a median of $62,500. Notable awards included $150,000 to Sunset Park Health Council for Healthy Steps in Sunset Park and 7th Avenue; $125,000 to El Paso Child Guidance Center for Attachment Vitamins; and $100,000 each to Center for Victims of Torture, Justice Innovation, New York University, Safe Horizon, South Ward Alliance, the Florence Immigrant & Refugee Rights Project, and the International Rescue Committee.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Elizabeth Buckner and Leonard Orr as directors and Susan Baer as executive director. The funder’s website identifies Baer as its executive director.

The Johnson Street Foundation is led by Susan Baer, Executive Director on every filing since 2021; 1 of 3 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Susan Baer

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2021

    24 hrs/week

    $40K (2021) → $80K (2025)

  • Elizabeth Buckner

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Leonard Orr

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Frank Wolf (2020–2022) — Executive Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Susan Baer — Executive Director: $80KSusan BaerExecutive Director$80K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $80K, to Susan Baer (Executive Director).

Frequently asked questions about The Johnson Street Foundation

How much does The Johnson Street Foundation give each year?

The Johnson Street Foundation gave $2.2M across 31 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $5.2M across 26 grants.

What is The Johnson Street Foundation's typical grant size?

The Johnson Street Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $62,500, and its average grant was $71,694, across 31 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Johnson Street Foundation that year got $88K on average.

Where does The Johnson Street Foundation give grants?

The Johnson Street Foundation gives mostly in New York: 79% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were New Jersey (7%) and Texas (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were New York, NY (17 grants), Brooklyn, NY (7 grants) and Newark, NJ (2 grants).

Does The Johnson Street Foundation give general operating support?

Occasionally: 3% of The Johnson Street Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (1 of 31) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are The Johnson Street Foundation's largest grantees?

The Johnson Street Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include New York University ($150,000 across 2 grants), South Ward Alliance ($150,000 across 2 grants) and Sunset Park Health Council Inc ($150,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 20% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is The Johnson Street Foundation?

The Johnson Street Foundation reported $60.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $2.3M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $3.0M (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What does The Johnson Street Foundation fund?

The funder’s website says it focuses on preventing or mitigating trauma among children ages zero to three, including through programs that improve caregiver-infant attachment, reduce early childhood stress, and provide psychosocial services to unaccompanied immigrant minors and immigrant families with infants and toddlers. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The Johnson Street Foundation?

The foundation’s filing says it contributes only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is The Johnson Street Foundation's EIN?

The Johnson Street Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 13-7579596. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Does The Johnson Street Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Johnson Street Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The New York Community Trust

New York, NY

The New York Community Trust funds nonprofit programs in areas such as arts, education, health, the environment, workforce development, and youth development, including projects that improve services, build organizational capacity, or advance policy and systems change. Its competitive grants mainly serve New York City, Long Island, and Westchester, with some national and international environmental funding; the 2024 median grant was $20,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$3.5B

Grants

2,748

Total Given

$193.8M

Robin Hood Foundation

New York, NY

Robin Hood funds effective poverty-fighting programs serving low-income New Yorkers, including work in education, health, employment, housing, and household support, primarily across New York City’s five boroughs. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $309,000, with amounts ranging from $17,000 to $5.36 million. It does not accept unsolicited requests, but eligible organizations can submit an expression of interest and apply to periodic funding opportunities.

Assets

$334.5M

Grants

249

Total Given

$126.3M

The Ford Foundation

New York, NY

The Ford Foundation funds organizations and initiatives working to reduce inequality and advance social justice, including work on civic engagement, civil rights, climate justice, disability rights, and technology and society. In 2024, its grants ranged from $45 to $15 million, with a median of $100,000, supporting work in the U.S. and internationally. It says most grants are identified by the foundation and it does not accept unsolicited proposals by mail, email, or phone; limited opportunities may be offered separately.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$17.5B

Grants

4,007

Total Given

$844.7M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

The Simons Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Simons Foundation funds research and public engagement in mathematics and the physical, life, autism, and neuroscience sciences. In 2024, it made 1,727 grants, with a median award of $72,000 and amounts ranging from $1,480 to $20 million, supporting organizations in the U.S. and internationally. It states that it funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.5B

Grants

1,727

Total Given

$272.0M

Local Initiatives Support Corporation

New York, NY

LISC funds affordable housing, community development, small businesses, and related efforts that strengthen inclusive communities, providing grants as well as loans, equity, and technical assistance across the country. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $40,000, though amounts varied widely. Application access is program-specific: for its Rhode Island child care facilities planning grants, applicants are instructed to consult program staff before submitting a request.

Assets

$1.6B

Grants

1,119

Total Given

$102.8M

More Funders in New York

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). The Johnson Street Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 12, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/the-johnson-street-foundation-morg_17fa1dc9a8de4dc6a72a664be8b24a87

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_137579596_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{The Johnson Street Foundation funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/the-johnson-street-foundation-morg_17fa1dc9a8de4dc6a72a664be8b24a87},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-12. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from The Johnson Street Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Johnson Street Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?