The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation
The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation is a New York, NY-based private foundation that supports projects aligned with its history and strategic values. Its website describes a legacy of supporting innovation, leadership, and entrepreneurship, and identifies culture and education, health innovation, and veterans support among its areas of work.
Key facts about The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation
In short: The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation gave $219K across 21 grants in 2024 (avg $10K), top state California. 21% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 54-1828916
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $219,312
- Grants made (2024)
- 21
- Average grant
- $10,443
- Median grant
- $5,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 21% first-time grantees (4 of 19, 2024)
- Total assets
- $5,659,806
- Primary geography
- California (43% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$5.7M
-1.0% YoY
Annual Giving
$219K
-5.7% YoY
Grant Count
21
-32.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$10K
+39.1% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation reported a distributable amount of $344K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation open to new grantees?
21%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 4 of 19 grantees (21%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $21K; repeat grants $9K. How we count
Medians: $14K first-time, $5K repeat.
- 79% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving grew 44% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 111% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s stated mission is to build on its support of innovation by driving human-centric initiatives in specific sectors. Its website describes a focus on senior healthcare innovation, including research and patient care related to Parkinson’s disease. It also reports that its climate work from 2020 to 2022 supported circular-economy initiatives in Vietnam and the neighboring ASEAN region, focused on consumer packaged goods, fashion, and food systems.
Among its 2024 grantees, the Asian Cultural Council says its mission is to deepen international dialogue and understanding through cultural exchange and programs for artists, scholars, and arts professionals. The Asia Foundation describes itself as working to address social and economic challenges in Asia and the Pacific. Veterans-related grantees describe their work as supporting service members and their families: Hope For The Warriors focuses on quality of life for those affected by injury or death in the line of duty, while Fisher House Foundation provides support and temporary accommodations for military personnel and their families.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 21 grants totaling $219,312. Grant amounts ranged from $2,500 to $50,000, with a median of $5,000.
Ready to take the next step with The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The foundation’s 2024 grants went to recipients in multiple states. California received 43% of grant dollars, New York 21%, Maryland 7%, North Carolina 6%, and Virginia 5%. The foundation’s website also describes past climate work in Vietnam and the neighboring ASEAN region.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 21 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $153K (2021) to $233K (2023). In 2024 it made 21 grants totaling $219K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was NUS America Foundation (Duke NUS Parkinsons Fund) ($50K). Together the top 10 received $181K.
Grant Size Distribution
105 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 101 grants of 105 (96%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| NUS America Foundation (Duke NUS Parkinsons Fund) San Mateo, CA | General Support | $50,000 |
| Asian Cultural Council New York, NY | Cultural Grant | $25,000 |
| The Asia Foundation San Fraciso, CA | Cultural Support | $25,000 |
| Cal Tech (Drmasmanian) Pasadena, CA | General Support | $15,000 |
| Special Forces Charitable Trust Southern Pines, NC | General Support | $12,500 |
| Asian Cultural Council New York, NY | General Support | $12,000 |
| Mayo Clinic - Dr Savica Research Rochester, MN | Health Support | $10,000 |
| Friends of B'nai Israel Cemetery Slatterville, RI | General Support | $7,500 |
| Friends of the Academy of the Hebrew Language Hillsdale, MI | General Support | $7,500 |
| Asian Cultural Council New York, NY | Cultural Grant | $6,392 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $5,659,806 | $371,805 | $430,101 | $219,312 | 21 |
| 2023 | $5,718,102 | $239,251 | $421,212 | $232,685 | 31 |
| 2022 | $5,900,063 | −$278,060 | $470,669 | $220,398 | 22 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $5,659,806 | $5,718,102 | $5,900,063 |
| Revenue | $371,805 | $239,251 | $-278,060 |
| Expenses | $430,101 | $421,212 | $470,669 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $381,878 | $372,655 | $415,340 |
| Net Investment Income | $312,675 | $190,819 | — |
| Distributable Amount | $344,370 | $319,575 | $343,112 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Anthony David Salzman as director and president, and Alexandra Mina Shang Salzman as director, secretary, and treasurer.
The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation is led by Anthony David Salzman, Director & President on every filing since 2020; none of the 2 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Anthony David Salzman
Director & President
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Alexandra Mina Shang Salzman
Director, Secretary & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: One Battery Park Plaza 7Th Floor, New York, NY 10004
Phone: (212) 661-7777
Website: https://www.icmfalkfoundation.org
Frequently asked questions about The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation
How much does The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation give each year?
The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation gave $219K across 21 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $233K across 31 grants.
What is The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation's typical grant size?
The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $5,000, and its average grant was $10,443, across 21 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation that year got $21K on average.
Where does The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation give grants?
The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation's top state is California, with 43% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were New York (21%) and Maryland (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were New York, NY (4 grants).
Does The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 81% of The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (17 of 21) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation's largest grantees?
The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include NUS America Foundation (Duke NUS Parkinsons Fund) ($50,000), Asian Cultural Council ($43,392 across 3 grants) and The Asia Foundation ($25,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 54% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation?
The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation reported $5.7M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $382K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $344K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation fund?
The foundation’s stated mission is to build on its support of innovation by driving human-centric initiatives in specific sectors. Its website describes a focus on senior healthcare innovation, including research and patient care related to Parkinson’s disease. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation's EIN?
The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 54-1828916. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Does The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Duke Energy Foundation
Charlotte, NC
The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce development, local economic development and recovery, disaster resilience, conservation, and economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. It reports more than $30 million in annual charitable grants; awards vary widely, with a 2024 median of $25,000, and applications of $20,000 or less are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants should contact their local Foundation representative before applying.
Assets
$1.9M
Grants
41
Total Given
$25.6M
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health-access initiatives for disproportionately affected populations, including cancer, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation, in the United States and internationally. In 2024, its median grant was $134,090, though awards varied widely; it says application materials are available upon request and advises organizations to contact it about the process, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
George and Sarah Buchanan Foundation
Greensboro, NC
The George and Sarah Buchanan Foundation funds 501(c)(3) organizations working in military services, special needs, at-risk youth, education, and faith-based initiatives, with grants across the United States and the most funding going to North Carolina in 2025. Grants ranged from $5,000 to $150,000, with a median award of $30,000. It accepts applications through an online form; no deadline is listed.
Assets
$65.8M
Grants
82
Total Given
$3.7M
The Community Foundation of Sarasota CO Inc
Sarasota, FL
The Community Foundation of Sarasota County funds nonprofits working in areas including human services, education, arts, health, economic stability, animal welfare, and community resilience. Its typical grants are around $10,000–$25,000, with a 2025 median of $18,798, for programs serving Sarasota, Manatee, Charlotte, or DeSoto County. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$518.5M
Grants
540
Total Given
$41.2M
Veterans United Foundation
Columbia, MO
Veterans United Foundation supports Veterans, service members, military families, and communities where Veterans United Home Loans has offices, funding community organizations, scholarships, and individual needs. In 2025, its grants had a median of $10,000, with awards ranging from $96 to $1.2 million. Organizations may apply for donations; the profile does not specify whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$36.1M
Grants
386
Total Given
$12.5M
America's Charities
Chantilly, VA
America’s Charities distributes workplace-giving contributions to member nonprofits working in areas such as education, health, hunger, human rights, and disaster relief; it also manages emergency assistance for eligible employees. In 2024, reported grants ranged from $5,017 to $1,379,226, with a median of $9,674, and recipients were concentrated in California, Virginia, D.C., Maryland, and Pennsylvania. These disbursements are donor-directed contributions rather than competitive grants; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$36.2M
Grants
808
Total Given
$16.4M
The Ford Foundation
New York, NY
The Ford Foundation funds organizations, individuals, and ideas working to reduce inequality and advance social justice, including work in areas such as immigrant justice, criminal justice reform, gender equity, and arts and culture, through grants around the world. Its 2024 grants had a median of $100,000, with amounts ranging from $45 to $15 million; it does not accept unsolicited requests by mail, email, or phone.
Assets
$17.5B
Grants
4,007
Total Given
$844.7M
The New York Community Trust
New York, NY
The New York Community Trust funds projects in areas including arts, education, health, human services, community development, and the environment, primarily in New York City, Long Island, and Westchester, with some opportunities elsewhere. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though awards varied widely. It accepts applications through its open competitive grants program and selected RFPs or letters of interest; donor-advised funds do not accept proposals.
Assets
$3.5B
Grants
2,748
Total Given
$193.8M
More Funders in New York
The Ida C & Morris Falk Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?