The Herzog Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Bratenahl, OH EIN: 34-1867760

The Herzog Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Bratenahl, Ohio. In its 2025 filing, it reported 13 grants totaling $125,455 to organizations including the Alzheimer’s Association, University Hospitals, and Hospice of the Western Reserve.

Key facts about The Herzog Family Foundation

In short: The Herzog Family Foundation gave $125K across 13 grants in 2025 (avg $10K), mostly in Ohio. 31% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
34-1867760
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$125,455
Grants made (2025)
13
Average grant
$9,650
Median grant
$4,500
New grantees (estimate)
31% first-time grantees (4 of 13, 2025)
Total assets
$659,728
Primary geography
Ohio (71% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
How to apply
The 2024 filing says to submit a written request explaining the project or program, with supporting detail including financial data. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$660K

-7.1% YoY

Annual Giving

$125K

+42.9% YoY

Grant Count

13

+85.7% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$10K

-23.1% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Herzog Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $34K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is The Herzog Family Foundation open to new grantees?

31%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 4 of 13 grantees (31%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $4K; repeat grants $12K. How we count

Medians: $2K first-time, $5K repeat.

  • 46% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving grew 22% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 374% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2021–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants went to organizations working in areas including health, hospice care, arts, youth sports, education, and community development.

Among the grantees described in their own words, Hospice of the Western Reserve says it provides palliative end-of-life care, caregiver support, and bereavement services throughout Northern Ohio. The Stratus Foundation says it raises funds for scholarships for graduating seniors of two local high schools and contributions to selected charitable organizations. The Ashtabula County Family YMCA says it puts Christian principles into practice through programs that build healthy body, mind, and spirit for all. The American Heart Association says its mission is to be a relentless force for a world of longer, healthier lives.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation made 13 grants totaling $125,455. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $49,000, with a median of $4,500. Notable grants included $49,000 to the Alzheimer’s Association, $25,000 to University Hospitals, and $11,000 to Hospice of the Western Reserve. Other listed recipients included Ashtabula Arts Center ($10,000), Ashtabula Little League ($7,500), and First Presbyterian Church ($4,875). The Ashtabula County Family YMCA also reported receiving $1,000 from the foundation in 2025.

Review Cycle

.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Herzog Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The 2025 filing reports that grant dollars were distributed to recipients in Ohio (71%), California (28%), and Texas (1%).

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 13 itemized grants.

Cities

AshtabulaClevelandMentorBratenahlGrass ValleyChardonDallasGenevaNorth KingsvilleOberlin

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K9 grants2021 11 grants2022 8 grants2023 7 grants2024 13 grants2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $56K (2021) to $125K (2025). In 2025 it made 13 grants totaling $125K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Alzheimer's Association: $49KAlzheimer's Association$49KUniversity Hospitals: $25KUniversity Hospitals$25KHospice of the Western Reserve: $11KHospice of the Western Reserve$11KAshtabula Arts Center: $10KAshtabula Arts Center$10KAshtabula Little League: $8KAshtabula Little League$8KFirst Presbyterian Church: $5KFirst Presbyterian Church$5KBratenahl Community Foundation: $5KBratenahl Community Foundation$5KCivic Development Center: $4KCivic Development Center$4KThe Stratus Foundation: $3KThe Stratus Foundation$3KAshtabula Area City Schools: $3KAshtabula Area City Schools$3K

The largest 2025 recipient was Alzheimer's Association ($49K). Together the top 10 received $121K.

Grant Size Distribution

48 grants across all recorded years

48<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 48 grants of 48 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Alzheimer's Association Ashtabula, OHTo carry out the general activities of the org.$49,000
University Hospitals Cleveland, CATo carry out the general activities of the org.$25,000
Hospice of the Western Reserve Ashtabula, OHTo carry out the general activities of the org.$11,000
Ashtabula Arts Center Ashtabula, CATo carry out the general activities of the org.$10,000
Ashtabula Little League Ashtabula, OHTo carry out the general activities of the org.$7,500
First Presbyterian Church Ashtabula, OHTo carry out the general activities of the org.$4,875
Bratenahl Community Foundation Bratenahl, OHTo carry out the general activities of the org.to carry out the general activities of the org.$4,500
Civic Development Center Ashtabula, OHTo carry out the general activities of the org.$4,000
The Stratus Foundation Mentor, OHTo carry out the general activities of the org.$3,000
Ashtabula Area City Schools Ashtabula, OHTo carry out the general activities of the org.$2,580

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2025 $659,728 $102,555 $140,864 $125,455
2024 $710,091 $65,030 $108,309 $87,807
2023 $656,318 $47,562 $128,292 $106,241
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$50K$100K$150K$200K2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$659,728$710,091$656,318
Revenue$102,555$65,030$47,562
Expenses$140,864$108,309$128,292
Qualifying Distributions$126,749$89,305$108,704
Net Investment Income$67,999$34,526$20,534
Distributable Amount$33,890$33,090$34,533

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists William R. Herzog as chairman and trustee; Mary L. Herzog-Andrews as secretary, treasurer, and trustee; and Charlotte F. Osborne, Vicki M. Tyson, John R. Lowther, and Francis A. Herzog Jr. as trustees.

The Herzog Family Foundation is led by William R. Herzog, Chairman & Trustee on every filing since 2021; none of the 6 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • William R. Herzog

    Chairman & Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Charlotte F. Osborne

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Francis A. Herzog Jr.

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • John R. Lowther

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Mary L. Herzog-Andrews

    Secretary, Treasurer & Trustee

    Trustee → Secretary, Treasurer & Trustee, 2022

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

  • Vicki M. Tyson

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Elinor M. Herzog (2021) — Secretary, Treasurer & Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Application contact: The Herzog Family Foundation
Mailing address: C/O Wr Herzog 116 Haskell Dr, Bratenahl, OH 44108-1157
Phone: (440) 221-5560

Frequently asked questions about The Herzog Family Foundation

How much does The Herzog Family Foundation give each year?

The Herzog Family Foundation gave $125K across 13 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $88K across 7 grants.

What is The Herzog Family Foundation's typical grant size?

The Herzog Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $4,500, and its average grant was $9,650, across 13 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Herzog Family Foundation that year got $4K on average.

Where does The Herzog Family Foundation give grants?

The Herzog Family Foundation gives mostly in Ohio: 71% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was California (28%). The most frequent recipient cities were Ashtabula, OH (8 grants).

Does The Herzog Family Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of The Herzog Family Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (13 of 13) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are The Herzog Family Foundation's largest grantees?

The Herzog Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Alzheimer's Association ($49,000), University Hospitals ($25,000) and Hospice of the Western Reserve ($11,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 68% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is The Herzog Family Foundation?

The Herzog Family Foundation reported $660K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $127K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $34K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does The Herzog Family Foundation fund?

No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants went to organizations working in areas including health, hospice care, arts, youth sports, education, and community development. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The Herzog Family Foundation?

The 2024 filing says to submit a written request explaining the project or program, with supporting detail including financial data. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is The Herzog Family Foundation's EIN?

The Herzog Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 34-1867760. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching The Herzog Family Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Herzog Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Robert S Morrison Foundation

Ashtabula, OH

The Robert S. Morrison Foundation supports community betterment, including education, transportation, animal welfare, recreation, and health, primarily in Ashtabula County, Ohio. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $150,000, with a median of $10,000. Applications are available on its website, and giving is not restricted to preselected organizations.

Assets

$12.6M

Grants

40

Total Given

$714K

The Ashtabula Foundation Inc

Ashtabula, OH

The Ashtabula Foundation supports charitable, health, education, youth, religious, cultural, human-services, and community projects that benefit Ashtabula County residents. Its 2025 grants had a median of $4,000, with awards ranging from $90 to $75,650. It accepts requests, but applicants for grants over $5,000 must first submit a Letter of Intent through its online portal.

Assets

$25.0M

Grants

83

Total Given

$916K

The Cleveland Foundation

Cleveland, OH

The Cleveland Foundation funds nonprofits working on community needs and long-term priorities, including education, health, arts and culture, economic development, neighborhoods, and human services in Cuyahoga, Lake, and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $30,700, though amounts varied widely. Its general application is open year-round, so it accepts unsolicited requests through that process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

1,016

Total Given

$184.2M

Edward B Dunlap Jr Foundation

Canonsburg, PA

The Edward B Dunlap Jr Foundation’s 2023 final return reports one $3,339 payment to a Pennsylvania successor foundation; its earlier grantmaking supported multiple organizations, but the profile does not specify broader funding priorities. It was based in Pennsylvania, and it stated that it accepted no unsolicited requests, though this may not reflect the successor corporation’s current practices.

Assets

—

Grants

1

Total Given

$3K

The Androse Foundation

Jefferson, OH

The Androse Foundation supports a range of charitable organizations, primarily in Ohio, with some funding in West Virginia and Michigan. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $120,000, with a median of $7,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$19.6M

Grants

47

Total Given

$926K

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation

Richmond, VA

Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within Dominion’s operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts online applications during spring and fall grant cycles.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

—

Grants

773

Total Given

$16.4M

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation supports education, affordable housing, arts and culture, community well-being, neighborhood development, and basic needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, while specific opportunities range from small awards to grants of up to $450,000. It offers open RFP and LOI opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside those opportunities.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,408

Total Given

$184.4M

The Scripps Howard Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Scripps Howard Foundation supports journalism education and related programs, including fellowships and investigative and open-source reporting, with 2024 grants concentrated in Maryland, Washington, D.C., Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. Its median 2024 grant was $1,250, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$69.4M

Grants

819

Total Given

$7.4M

Nisource Charitable Foundation

Columbus, OH

The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$43.0M

Grants

683

Total Given

$7.5M

Dayton Foundation Depository

Dayton, OH

The Dayton Foundation supports eligible nonprofits working in arts and culture, health, education, human services and community building, including capacity building, capital projects and program expansions, primarily in Greater Dayton and nearby counties. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from $5,020 to $1,792,990, with a median of $12,000. It accepts applications for its discretionary grant program through an online portal.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$42.3M

Grants

677

Total Given

$22.7M

The Dayton Foundation

Dayton, OH

The Dayton Foundation supports nonprofit projects in areas such as education, arts and culture, health, human services and the environment that benefit Greater Dayton. Greenlight grants range from $500 to $7,500, discretionary grants are above $7,500 and up to $75,000, and its 2025 grant median was $14,550. Organizations can apply through its grants portal; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$771.2M

Grants

589

Total Given

$32.6M

More Funders in Ohio

The Herzog Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?