The Grubman Compton Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker East Brunswick, NJ EIN: 13-3936474

The Grubman Compton Foundation is a private foundation based in East Brunswick, New Jersey. Its filings report grants to qualified charitable organizations.

The Grubman Compton Foundation at a glance

In short: The Grubman Compton Foundation gave $863K across 7 grants in 2025 (avg $123K), top state Maryland. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$863,099
+33.0% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
7
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$123,300
+33.0% vs 2024
Median grant
$50,000
Primary geography
Maryland (45% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

How to apply to The Grubman Compton Foundation

How to Apply

The 2024 filing lists Eric P. Grubman as the contact and asks organizations to submit a request on organizational letterhead describing the organization. It states that giving is not restricted to preselected organizations and that there are no restrictions on awards.

Review Cycle
None stated.
Deadline
None stated.
Contact

Application contact: Eric P Grubman
Mailing address: C/O Wg 1200 Tices Lane, East Brunswick, NJ 08816
Phone: (732) 846-3000

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who The Grubman Compton Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 7 recipients in 2025

US Naval Academy Alumni Association & Foundation: $392KUS Naval Academy AlumniAssociation & Foundation$392KOverlook Foundation: $300KOverlook Foundation$300KGOLDMAN SACHS Philanthropy Fund: $61KGOLDMAN SACHS PhilanthropyFund$61KLeadville Trail 100 Legac: $50KLeadville Trail 100 Legac$50KChrist Church Summit: $25KChrist Church Summit$25KNorthfield Mt Hermon School: $20KNorthfield Mt Hermon School$20KMarine Corps Scholarship Foundation: $15KMarine Corps ScholarshipFoundation$15K

The largest 2025 recipient was US Naval Academy Alumni Association & Foundation ($392K). Together the top 7 received $863K.

Grant Size Distribution

52 grants across all recorded years

29<$50K10$50–100K$100–250K11$250–500K2$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 29 grants of 52 (56%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2025, the reported share of grant dollars by recipient state was Maryland 45%, New Jersey 38%, New York 7%, Colorado 6%, and Massachusetts 2%. The listed grants also included a $15,000 award to the Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation in Alexandria, Virginia.

Grant Distribution by State

12states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.

Cities

SummitNew YorkLeadvilleGillAnnapolisBostonArlingtonFalls ChurchTisburyAlexandriaBraintreeBrooklynCarbondaleChanhassenHatfieldKnoxvilleLong Island CityMerrillvilleOlepikaSpringfield

How The Grubman Compton Foundation gives

  • Giving fell 38% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$500K$1M$1.5M18 grants2019 12 grants2021 15 grants2022 11 grants2023 7 grants2024 7 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $649K (2024) to $1.4M (2022). In 2025 it made 7 grants totaling $863K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
US Naval Academy Alumni Association & Foundation Annapolis, MDGeneral Purpose$391,667
Overlook Foundation Summit, NJGeneral Purpose$300,000
GOLDMAN SACHS Philanthropy Fund New York, NYGeneral Purpose$61,432
Leadville Trail 100 Legac Leadville, COGeneral Purpose$50,000
Christ Church Summit Summit, NJGeneral Purpose$25,000
Northfield Mt Hermon School Gill, MAGeneral Purpose$20,000
Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation Alexandria, VAGeneral Purpose$15,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Grubman Compton Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

The 2025 filing does not report assets in the provided data.

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025—$8,812$869,099$863,0997$863,099$5,812$10,081
2024$860,287$994,221$668,084$649,0007$649,000$120,917$23,334
2023$534,150$1,282,773$1,068,889$1,047,50011$1,047,500$312,872$25,558
2022$356,141$1,451,661$1,406,350$1,400,35015$1,403,350$688,458$13,586
2021$310,830$431,220$1,259,575$1,254,50012—$265,915$28,220
2019$1,844,988$56,874$795,163$759,00018—$55,324$106,796

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Grubman Compton Foundation reported a distributable amount of $10K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation’s filings do not state a mission or specific focus areas. Its 2025 grants included support for a range of charitable organizations. For example, the Overlook Foundation, which received $300,000, describes its mission as advancing the delivery of high-quality health care by Overlook Medical Center.

Grantmaking

In filing year 2025, the foundation reported seven grants totaling $863,099. Grants ranged from $15,000 to $391,667, with a median of $50,000. The largest awards were $391,667 to the US Naval Academy Alumni Association & Foundation and $300,000 to the Overlook Foundation. Other grants included $61,432 to Goldman Sachs Philanthropy Fund, $50,000 to Leadville Trail 100 Legacy, $25,000 to Christ Church Summit, $20,000 to Northfield Mount Hermon School, and $15,000 to the Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Eric P. Grubman and Elizabeth K. Compton as part-time trustees.

The Grubman Compton Foundation's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Elizabeth K. Compton

    Trustee & Part-Time

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Eric P. Grubman

    Trustee & Part-Time

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about The Grubman Compton Foundation

How much does The Grubman Compton Foundation give each year?

The Grubman Compton Foundation gave $863K across 7 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $649K across 7 grants.

What is The Grubman Compton Foundation's typical grant size?

The Grubman Compton Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $50,000, and its average grant was $123,300, across 7 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does The Grubman Compton Foundation give grants?

The Grubman Compton Foundation's top state is Maryland, with 45% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were New Jersey (38%) and New York (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were Summit, NJ (2 grants).

Does The Grubman Compton Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of The Grubman Compton Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (7 of 7) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are The Grubman Compton Foundation's largest grantees?

The Grubman Compton Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include US Naval Academy Alumni Association & Foundation ($391,667), Overlook Foundation ($300,000) and GOLDMAN SACHS Philanthropy Fund ($61,432), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 87% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

What does The Grubman Compton Foundation fund?

The foundation’s filings do not state a mission or specific focus areas. Its 2025 grants included support for a range of charitable organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from The Grubman Compton Foundation?

The 2024 filing lists Eric P. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

How much is The Grubman Compton Foundation required to give away each year?

Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2025, The Grubman Compton Foundation reported a distributable amount of $10K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

What is The Grubman Compton Foundation's EIN?

The Grubman Compton Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 13-3936474. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 7, 2020)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Grubman Compton Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in New Jersey

The Ford Foundation

New York, NY

The Ford Foundation funds organizations and initiatives working to reduce inequality and advance social justice, including work on civic engagement, civil rights, climate justice, disability rights, and technology and society. In 2024, its grants ranged from $45 to $15 million, with a median of $100,000, supporting work in the U.S. and internationally. It says most grants are identified by the foundation and it does not accept unsolicited proposals by mail, email, or phone; limited opportunities may be offered separately.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$17.5B

Grants

4,007

Total Given

$844.7M

The Pew Charitable Trusts

Washington, DC

The Pew Charitable Trusts funds nonpartisan policy research and initiatives, civic participation, and—especially in Philadelphia—arts and culture and services for people in need. Its 2025 grants had a median of $75,000, though amounts varied widely; funding is national, with substantial support in Washington, D.C., and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether Pew accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

535

Total Given

$140.6M

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Princeton, NJ

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funds efforts to improve health and health equity in the United States, including systems change addressing structural barriers to health. In 2024, its grants ranged from $125 to $12.15 million, with a median of $40,000. It typically funds through targeted programs and partnerships; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$13.4B

Grants

3,093

Total Given

$622.6M

Community Foundation of New Jersey

Morristown, NJ

The Community Foundation of New Jersey supports a broad range of causes, including arts, education, health, human services, and the environment, through donor-directed and other charitable funds. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of $19,759, with awards ranging widely; its current health grant opportunity serves Morris and Somerset counties. Eligible New Jersey nonprofits may apply to specific grant opportunities, subject to each opportunity’s guidelines.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,321

Total Given

$93.8M

Crane Fund for Widows and Children

Englewood Cliffs, NJ

The Crane Fund for Widows and Children supports charitable organizations, including those working in healthcare and social services, children’s services, recreation, and basic needs, with grants across multiple states. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,000 to $45,000, with a median of $4,500; it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.6M

Grants

985

Total Given

$4.5M

The Hyde and Watson Foundation

Warren Township, NJ

The Hyde and Watson Foundation funds capital projects in human services, education, health, arts and culture, and the environment. Most awards are $5,000–$20,000, with a 2024 median of $10,000, for eligible nonprofits in New York City and Essex, Morris, and Union counties in New Jersey. It accepts applications through an online portal during its stated application periods; the profile does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$88.2M

Grants

611

Total Given

$6.1M

More similar funders

More Funders in New Jersey

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Grubman Compton Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Grubman Compton Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?