The Epstein Parton Foundation
The Epstein Parton Foundation is a private foundation, based in Boulder, CO. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $114K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 13 grants totaling $30K. Net investment income was $5K.
Key facts about The Epstein Parton Foundation
In short: The Epstein Parton Foundation gave $30K across 13 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in California. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 23-7024264
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $29,759
- Grants made (2025)
- 13
- Average grant
- $2,289
- Median grant
- $1,050
- Total assets
- $114,261
- Primary geography
- California (78% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$114K
-2.1% YoY
Annual Giving
$30K
-21.4% YoY
Grant Count
13
+62.5% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$2K
-51.6% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Epstein Parton Foundation reported a distributable amount of $10K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
How The Epstein Parton Foundation gives
- Giving grew 80% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 309% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Ready to take the next step with The Epstein Parton Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 13 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 8 recipients in 2025
Grant Size Distribution
39 grants across all recorded years
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| UC BERKELEY Berkeley, CA | TO SUPPORT THE UC BERKELEY LIBRARY | $8,650 |
| UC BERKELEY Berkeley, CA | TO SUPPORT THE COLLEGE OF CHEMISTRY | $6,000 |
| UC BERKELEY Berkeley, CA | TO SUPPORT THE DEPT OF CHEMICAL & BIOMOLECULAR ENGINEERING | $4,000 |
| UC BERKELEY Berkeley, CA | TO SUPPORT THE CAL BAND AND CAL PERFORMANCES ANNUAL FUNDS | $2,000 |
| UC BERKELEY Berkeley, CA | TO SUPPORT THE BAMPFA, CELTIC STUDIES, FRIENDS OF THE MAGNES & MARK TWAIN PAPERS PROJECT FUNDS | $2,000 |
| ROCKY MOUNTAIN EQUALITY Boulder, CO | GENERAL SUPPORT | $1,560 |
| AMERICAN FRIENDS OF THE BELGRADE PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA INC Boulder, CO | GENERAL SUPPORT | $1,050 |
| THE NEURODIVERSITY ALLIANCE New York, NY | GENERAL SUPPORT | $1,049 |
| HARVARD HILLEL Cambridge, MA | TO SUPPORT JEWISH LIFE ON CAMPUS, IN HONOR OF PAUL H EPSTEIN | $1,030 |
| HARVARD UNIVERSITY GRADUATE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION Cambridge, MA | TO SUPPORT THE LIBRARY'S VP DISCRETIONARY FUND, IN HONOR OF PAUL H EPSTEIN | $1,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $114,261 | $116,666 | $113,913 |
| Revenue | $38,042 | $50,519 | $9,687 |
| Expenses | $43,023 | $49,189 | $23,300 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $29,759 | $37,873 | $13,858 |
| Net Investment Income | $4,542 | $14,155 | $3,878 |
| Distributable Amount | $9,633 | $8,821 | $6,815 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS May 14, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
The Epstein Parton Foundation is led by Garry I. Parton, President since 2023 (on filings since 2019); none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Garry I. Parton
President
Secretary & Treasurer → President, 2023
On filings since 2019
1.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Henry J. Liebowitz
Member
On filings since 2019
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jeffrey A. Horowitz
Member
On filings since 2019
0.3 hrs/week
No compensation reported
David Leroy Parton
Secretary & Treasurer
On filings since 2023
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Paul H. Epstein (2019–2022) — President · Filing note: Deceased 100522
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about The Epstein Parton Foundation
How much does The Epstein Parton Foundation give each year?
The Epstein Parton Foundation gave $30K across 13 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $38K across 8 grants.
What is The Epstein Parton Foundation's typical grant size?
The Epstein Parton Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $1,050, and its average grant was $2,289, across 13 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does The Epstein Parton Foundation give grants?
The Epstein Parton Foundation gives mostly in California: 78% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Colorado (11%) and Massachusetts (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were Berkeley, CA (6 grants), Boulder, CO (2 grants) and Cambridge, MA (2 grants).
Does The Epstein Parton Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 38% of The Epstein Parton Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (5 of 13) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The Epstein Parton Foundation's largest grantees?
The Epstein Parton Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Uc Berkeley ($23,350 across 6 grants), Rocky Mountain Equality ($1,560) and American Friends of the Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra Inc ($1,050), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 87% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Epstein Parton Foundation?
The Epstein Parton Foundation reported $114K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $30K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $10K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is The Epstein Parton Foundation's EIN?
The Epstein Parton Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7024264. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Here's the math on researching The Epstein Parton Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Epstein Parton Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
The Lucille Lortel Foundation Inc
New York, NY
The Lucille Lortel Foundation supports theatre, including New York City companies’ operations, new-play development, and musical-theatre programming, with a focus on Off-Broadway. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3,488,320, with a median of $5,000; most funding went to New York recipients, with some grants in Connecticut. It does not accept unsolicited funding requests; its general operating support program is limited to companies invited to apply and based in New York City.
Assets
$11.7M
Grants
85
Total Given
$4.0M
The Cowles Charitable Trust
Staten Island, NY
The Cowles Charitable Trust supports arts, education, ethical journalism, medical and climate research, primarily in Downstate New York and South Florida, with occasional national or international grants. Typical awards are modest: approved first-time applicants generally receive $2,500, and the median 2024 grant was $4,000. It accepts applications by email using its application and proposal packet.
Assets
$13.2M
Grants
262
Total Given
$1.4M
Byron Robinson Educational
Apopka, FL
Assets
$7.0M
Grants
11
Total Given
$147K
The Kavli Foundation
Los Angeles, CA
The Kavli Foundation funds basic research in astrophysics, nanoscience, neuroscience, and theoretical physics, as well as work connecting science and society, primarily through scientific and educational organizations. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,189 to $2 million, with a median of $65,550, and supported recipients across the United States and internationally. It does not accept unsolicited proposals, though it may occasionally issue an open call.
Assets
$604.1M
Grants
107
Total Given
$17.4M
Irene Ritter Foundation
New York, NY
The Irene Ritter Foundation supports organizations working in areas such as environmental sustainability, civic engagement, economic inclusion, and reproductive health, with most 2024 funding going to New York, followed by New Mexico, Vermont, Washington, DC, and California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $550 to $50,000, with a median of $5,000. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$8.5M
Grants
52
Total Given
$539K
Research Corporation dba Research
Tucson, AZ
Research Corporation for Science Advancement funds early-stage basic scientific research and science education at colleges and universities in the United States and Canada, especially in astronomy, chemistry, and physics. Its 2024 grants ranged from $74 to $193,142, with a median of $55,000; it offers program-specific awards, including a $120,000 Cottrell Scholar Award over three years. Whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$241.5M
Grants
165
Total Given
$8.0M
American Chemical Society
Santa Fe, NM
Promotion of chemical sciences
Assets
$881K
Grants
1
Total Given
$17K
Northeastern Section of the American
Arlington, MA
The advancement of chemistry and chemical engineering, the promotion of research in chemical science and industry, the improvement of the qualifications of chemists and chemical engineers through high standards of educational and professional ethics, the increase and diffusion of chemical knowledge, and the promotion of scientific interests and inquiry.
Assets
$3.5M
Grants
0
Total Given
$4K
The University Financing Foundation Inc
Atlanta, GA
TUFF supports tax-exempt schools, colleges, universities, and other education and research organizations, mainly by providing facilities, equipment, and below-market financing; its 2024 grants ranged from $10 to $1.05 million, with a median of $1,000. Giving is concentrated in Georgia, and the foundation makes grants only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$512.9M
Grants
35
Total Given
$1.4M
The Jean & Louis Dreyfus Foundation Inc
New York, NY
The Jean & Louis Dreyfus Foundation funds aging, arts, education, and social-service programs, prioritizing direct services and demonstrated community impact in New York City’s five boroughs. Grants typically center around $15,000 (2025 median; awards ranged from $5,000 to $100,000), and it accepts letters of inquiry from new organizations rather than limiting giving to preselected groups.
Assets
$13.7M
Grants
48
Total Given
$813K
Colorado Gives Foundation
Arvada, CO
Colorado Gives Foundation funds nonprofits serving Jefferson County, Colorado, with priorities including essential needs, housing, food security, education, workforce development, health, and connected neighborhoods. Its 2024 median grant was $17,814; current opportunities offer $2,500–$100,000 for responsive support and $5,000–$25,000 for housing. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$527.1M
Grants
2,211
Total Given
$91.0M
Christian Community Foundation Inc
Colorado Springs, CO
WaterStone funds charitable and educational efforts, especially direct Christian ministries, through donor-recommended grants to eligible U.S. and international nonprofits whose missions align with its Statement of Faith. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, though amounts varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and grants are recommended by donors.
Assets
$746.4M
Grants
1,651
Total Given
$161.8M
More Funders in Colorado
The Epstein Parton Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?