The Collaton Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Lafayette, CO EIN: 84-1603570

The Collaton Family Foundation is a private foundation, based in Lafayette, CO. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $23K in total assets.

The Collaton Family Foundation at a glance

Total assets
$23,182
-4.2% vs 2024
Expenses (2025)
$1,020
-97.9% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who The Collaton Family Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

5 grants across all recorded years

5<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 5 grants of 5 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

Boulder

How The Collaton Family Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 4720% from 2021 to 2024. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K1 grant2019 1 grant2020 1 grant2021 1 grant2022 1 grant2023 2 grants2024 0 grants2025

From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $1K (2021) to $48K (2024). In 2024 it made 2 grants totaling $48K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Second Baptist Church Boulder, COThis Private Foundation makes charitable contributions directly to exempt organizations.$35,000
Calvary Bible Boulder, COThis Private Foundation makes charitable contributions directly to exempt organizations.$13,200
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Collaton Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment Income
2025$23,182—$1,020————
2024$24,202$47,407$49,205$48,2002$48,200—
2023$26,000$50,545$26,078$25,0001$25,000$1
2022$1,533$16,019$29,085$28,1001$28,100$19
2021$14,599$1$2,005$1,0001$1,000$1
2020$16,603$38,017$38,909$37,9001—$17
2019$17,495$26,179$27,807$26,4611—$179

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

The Collaton Family Foundation is led by Heather Collaton, President since 2022 (on filings since 2019); none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Heather Collaton

    President

    Board Member → President, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • James H. Griffey

    Board Member

    President → Board Member, 2022

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about The Collaton Family Foundation

How large is The Collaton Family Foundation?

The Collaton Family Foundation reported $23K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does The Collaton Family Foundation operate?

The Collaton Family Foundation has awarded grants in Colorado.

What is The Collaton Family Foundation's EIN?

The Collaton Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 84-1603570. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(8)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS February 25, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS February 20, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 4, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS March 10, 2023)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 3, 2024)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS March 5, 2025)
  7. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS March 6, 2026)
  8. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Collaton Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Colorado

Friends of the Town Clock Church Inc

New Albany, IN

To ensure the town clock church is maintained and remains a viable community asset.

Arts, Culture & Humanities

Assets

$377K

Grants

1

Total Given

$64K

Central Indiana Community Foundation Inc

Indianapolis, IN

Through its funds and collaborative entities, CICF supports a broad range of charitable work, including equity, food access, childcare, arts, nature, and youth programs, primarily in Central Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $25,000; some funds offer competitive applications, while others are invitation-only, and CICF itself does not directly award grants.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$583.5M

Grants

525

Total Given

$31.1M

Gene Conley Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Gene Conley Foundation funds religious, charitable, scientific, literary, and educational work, as well as efforts to prevent cruelty to children or animals; grants must support direct client services, primarily medical care for people 18 or younger. It primarily serves north central Texas, favoring local initiatives, and its 2025 grants ranged from $4,000 to $85,000, with a median of $10,000. It accepts applications through Wells Fargo, with an annual May 1 deadline.

Assets

$6.0M

Grants

20

Total Given

$469K

World Vision Inc

Federal Way, WA

World Vision funds international community development and emergency relief, as well as U.S. domestic programs and family assistance, with grants supporting needs such as disaster relief, food, housing, health, education, and child protection. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,139 to $14.46 million, with a median of $65,954; its work spans nearly 100 countries and the United States. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$515.3M

Grants

410

Total Given

$157.4M

Northwestern University

Evanston, IL

Northwestern University funds research and community organizations, along with selected programs in community health, transportation research, and investigative journalism. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,000 to $7.7 million, with a median of about $73,000; grants went largely to U.S. recipients, especially in Illinois, and its ANCHOR program focuses on Evanston and Chicago. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$20.8B

Grants

383

Total Given

$133.4M

J Kenneth Timmons Irrevocable Trust

Richmond, VA

The J Kenneth Timmons Irrevocable Trust supports organizations in health, education, religion, arts, environmental conservation, hunger relief, and community services, primarily in Virginia. Its 2025 grants ranged from $500 to $25,000, with a median of $1,500. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$1.6M

Grants

43

Total Given

$140K

More similar funders

More Funders in Colorado

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from The Collaton Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

The Collaton Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?