The Carla and Stephen Schwartz

Foundation · Grantmaker Colchester, CT EIN: 22-3148993
Arts and cultureEducationHuman servicesYouth development

THE CARLA AND STEPHEN SCHWARTZ is a private foundation based in Colchester, Connecticut. It makes grants to charitable organizations; its 2024 grants included recipients in Connecticut and several other states.

Key facts about The Carla and Stephen Schwartz

In short: The Carla and Stephen Schwartz gave $89K across 27 grants in 2025 (avg $3K), mostly in Connecticut. 22% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
22-3148993
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$89,270
Grants made (2025)
27
Average grant
$3,306
Median grant
$1,000
New grantees (estimate)
22% first-time grantees (6 of 27, 2025)
Total assets
$329,876
Primary geography
Connecticut (69% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$330K

-7.2% YoY

Annual Giving

$89K

+0.6% YoY

Grant Count

27

-15.6% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$3K

+19.3% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Carla and Stephen Schwartz reported a distributable amount of $23K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is The Carla and Stephen Schwartz open to new grantees?

22%

first-time grantees, 2025

In 2025, 6 of 27 grantees (22%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $2K; repeat grants $4K. How we count

Medians: $1K first-time, $1K repeat.

  • 78% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving grew 30% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 394% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grantees included arts, education, Jewish community, health, and human-services organizations. For example, the Wadsworth Atheneum and Bacon Academy received grants, as did Jewish community organizations and the American Heart Association.

Grantees’ own descriptions provide more detail about their work. The Nagen Project describes its mission as combating antisemitism through research, legal action, strategic communication, and efforts related to K–12 education and university campuses. The Jewish Federation of Greater Hartford says it supports programs and services for Jewish families, education and leadership training, and people in need. The American Heart Association describes its mission as working toward longer, healthier lives.

Grantmaking

In 2024, the foundation made 32 grants totaling $88,694. Grants ranged from $250 to $22,500, with a median of $948. Its largest grants included $22,500 to The Nagen Project, $17,500 to the Wadsworth Atheneum, $7,750 to Bacon Academy, $6,378 to Congregation Ahavath Achim, and $5,400 to JAFCO.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with The Carla and Stephen Schwartz?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2024, Connecticut recipients received 61% of grant dollars, followed by recipients in Florida (27%), Pennsylvania (6%), Texas (3%), and New York (2%).

Grant Distribution by State

14states

Share of all 27 itemized 2025 grant dollars.

Cities

West HartfordColchesterHartfordNorwichFarmingtonBoca RatonNew YorkBryn MawrJacksonvilleNorwhichBloomfieldDeerfieldGlastonburyBrooklineWashingtonBostonDeerfield BeachEast HaddamSheffieldStorrs

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K31 grants201929 grants202031 grants202131 grants202231 grants202332 grants202427 grants2025

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Wadsworth Antheneum: $16KWadsworth Antheneum$16KThe Nagen Project: $15KThe Nagen Project$15KChabad East of the River: $13KChabad East of the River$13KBacon Academy: $8KBacon Academy$8KCongregation Ahavath Achim: $6KCongregation Ahavath Achim$6KChabad House of Greater Hartford: $6KChabad House of GreaterHartford$6KBrandeis University: $5KBrandeis University$5KJewish Federation of Greater Hartford: $5KJewish Federation of GreaterHartford$5KInterval House: $3KInterval House$3KSecurity Community Network: $3KSecurity Community Network$3K

Grant Size Distribution

152 grants across all recorded years

152<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
WADSWORTH ANTHENEUM Hartford, CTCHARITY$16,000
THE NAGEN PROJECT Boca Raton, FLCHARITY$15,000
CHABAD EAST OF THE RIVER Glastonbury, CTCHARITY$12,500
BACON ACADEMY Colchester, CTCHARITY$7,500
CONGREGATION AHAVATH ACHIM Colchester, CTCHARITY$6,428
CHABAD HOUSE OF GREATER HARTFORD West Hartford, CTCHARITY$5,500
BRANDEIS UNIVERSITY Waltham, MACHARITY$5,000
JEWISH FEDERATION OF GREATER HARTFORD West Hartford, CTCHARITY$4,500
INTERVAL HOUSE Hartford, CTCHARITY$2,500
SECURITY COMMUNITY NETWORK Chicago, ILCHARITY$2,500

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $355,523 $59,640 $97,922 $88,694
2023 $391,105 $50,276 $69,537 $61,813
2022 $407,666 $42,031 $79,744 $68,481
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$50K$100K$150K2019202020212022202320242025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$329,876$355,523$391,105
Revenue$71,055$59,640$50,276
Expenses$99,402$97,922$69,537
Qualifying Distributions$90,644$90,068$63,187
Net Investment Income$69,705$58,290$48,926
Distributable Amount$23,026$24,678$24,800

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 13, 2020)
  2. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 19, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists Carla R. Schwartz as president, Stephen L. Schwartz as secretary, and Hy Schwartz and Adam Schwartz as directors.

The Carla and Stephen Schwartz is led by Carla R. Schwartz, President on every filing since 2019; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Carla R. Schwartz

    President

    On filings since 2019

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Adam Schwartz

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Hy Schwartz

    Director

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stephen L. Schwartz

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 75 Mill Street, Colchester, CT 06415
Phone: (860) 537-3451

Frequently asked questions about The Carla and Stephen Schwartz

How much does The Carla and Stephen Schwartz give each year?

The Carla and Stephen Schwartz gave $89K across 27 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $89K across 32 grants.

What is The Carla and Stephen Schwartz's typical grant size?

The Carla and Stephen Schwartz's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $3,306, across 27 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Carla and Stephen Schwartz that year got $2K on average.

Where does The Carla and Stephen Schwartz give grants?

The Carla and Stephen Schwartz gives mostly in Connecticut: 69% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Florida (18%) and Massachusetts (7%). The most frequent recipient cities were Colchester, CT (4 grants), West Hartford, CT (4 grants), Hartford, CT (2 grants) and Farmington, CT (2 grants).

Does The Carla and Stephen Schwartz give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 27 grants with a stated purpose on The Carla and Stephen Schwartz's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charity" (27 grants).

Who are The Carla and Stephen Schwartz's largest grantees?

The Carla and Stephen Schwartz's largest 2025 grantees include Wadsworth Antheneum ($16,000), The Nagen Project ($15,000) and Chabad East of the River ($12,500), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 49% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is The Carla and Stephen Schwartz?

The Carla and Stephen Schwartz reported $330K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $91K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $23K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does The Carla and Stephen Schwartz fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grantees included arts, education, Jewish community, health, and human-services organizations. For example, the Wadsworth Atheneum and Bacon Academy received grants, as did Jewish community organizations and the American Heart Association. Grantees’ own descriptions provide more detail about their work. The Nagen Project describes its mission as combating antisemitism through research, legal action, strategic communication, and effor…

How do I apply for a grant from The Carla and Stephen Schwartz?

The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is The Carla and Stephen Schwartz's EIN?

The Carla and Stephen Schwartz's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 22-3148993. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Does The Carla and Stephen Schwartz accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching The Carla and Stephen Schwartz by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in The Carla and Stephen Schwartz's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The Cigna Group Foundation

Philadelphia, PA

The Cigna Group Foundation funds nonprofits addressing community health, especially youth and veteran mental health, health equity, and disaster relief, in communities across the U.S. and globally. Current program awards are generally $100,000–$250,000, depending on the focus area. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$127.2M

Grants

4,075

Total Given

$14.1M

Aetna Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

Aetna Foundation funded public health, contraceptive care, heart health, school nursing, children’s services, and mental health support, with 2021 grants ranging from $5,000 to $1 million and a median of $40,000. Its 2021 giving was concentrated in Washington, DC, Connecticut, Massachusetts, California, and Texas. The foundation says there are no restrictions on who may apply; applications use its forms and materials, and deadlines vary.

Assets

$16.6M

Grants

65

Total Given

$7.2M

Hartford Foundation for Public Giving

Hartford, CT

The Greater Hartford Gives Foundation supports nonprofits addressing community needs in areas including thriving neighborhoods, employment, basic needs, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with an emphasis on equity in Greater Hartford’s 29 cities and towns. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median award of $21,562, though amounts varied widely.

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

613

Total Given

$51.5M

Ge Aerospace Foundation

Norwalk, CT

The GE Aerospace Foundation supports engineering education, workforce development, military and veterans causes, and disaster relief in communities where GE Aerospace employees live and work around the world. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10 to nearly $6 million, with a median of $429; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$22.5M

Grants

2,467

Total Given

$15.3M

Amica Companies Foundation

Lincoln, RI

AMICA Companies Foundation supports qualified 501(c)(3) organizations working in basic needs and community development, education, health, arts and culture, and community and public affairs, generally serving Rhode Island residents. Its 2024 grants ranged from $53 to $250,000, with a median of $500; it accepts applications year-round through its online system, with no more than one application per organization each year.

Assets

$43.8M

Grants

1,288

Total Given

$4.2M

Americares Foundation Inc

Stamford, CT

Americares funds health care access, medicines and medical supplies, community health programs, and disaster preparedness, response, and recovery. Its work is global, reaching about 80 countries annually including the United States; 2025 grants had a median of about $58,700, with awards ranging from roughly $5,100 to $3.86 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

International, Foreign Affairs & National Security

Assets

$372.5M

Grants

635

Total Given

$113.3M

American Savings Foundation Inc

New Britain, CT

American Savings Foundation supports education, human services, and arts and culture, especially programs serving children, youth, and families in Connecticut, with a focus on New Britain and Waterbury. Its 2024 grants ranged from $234 to $150,000, with a median of $1,750; Community Grants are capped at $5,000. It provides application forms for Program and Community Grants, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$107.0M

Grants

613

Total Given

$3.4M

Eversource Energy Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

The Eversource Energy Foundation funds U.S. 501(c)(3) nonprofits working on basic needs, education, environmental stewardship, community engagement, and economic or workforce development. It gives in Eversource’s service territory in Connecticut, Massachusetts, and New Hampshire; its 2024 median grant was $2,000, though awards ranged from $250 to $700,000.

Assets

$12.5M

Grants

606

Total Given

$6.2M

The Community Foundation for Greater New

New Haven, CT

The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven funds nonprofits working in areas including civic vitality, arts and culture, health, and education, with competitive grants for organizations serving its 20-town region. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,154 to $2.8 million, with a median of $15,000; it accepts applications through specific grant programs, while most donor-advised and designated fund distributions are not open to applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$627.4M

Grants

505

Total Given

$23.4M

Fairfield County's Community Foundation

Norwalk, CT

Fairfield County’s Community Foundation funds nonprofits advancing equity and opportunity, including work in youth education and careers, economic opportunity, housing, women and girls’ health, and civic engagement. Its 2025 median grant was about $24,000; strategic grant awards include $10,000–$15,000 Community Impact Grants and invitation-only awards up to $50,000, for work serving Fairfield County residents. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$291.4M

Grants

448

Total Given

$25.7M

The Pfizer Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Pfizer Foundation funds locally led health programs that improve access to care and strengthen health systems, as well as health-crisis and disaster responses, worldwide. In 2024, grants ranged from $2 to $4 million, with a median of $200. It supports only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$255.3M

Grants

9,306

Total Given

$23.2M

Jpmorgan Chase Foundation

New York, NY

The foundation supports neighborhood revitalization, underserved small businesses, financial health, and economic mobility and career pathways, with 2024 grants ranging from $4 to $4,635,000 and a median of $550. Its grants reached organizations across multiple U.S. locations, including Washington, DC, New York, California, Illinois, Washington state, and Georgia. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

11,076

Total Given

$193.0M

More Funders in Connecticut

The Carla and Stephen Schwartz down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?