The Argus Fund
The Argus Fund is a private foundation based in Fort Washington, Pennsylvania. Its stated primary purpose is to support other charitable organizations exempt under Internal Revenue Code section 501(c)(3) through contributions; it reports that it does not conduct direct charitable activities.
Key facts about The Argus Fund
In short: The Argus Fund gave $973K across 30 grants in 2025 (avg $32K), top state Pennsylvania. 3% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 20-5045447
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $972,500
- Grants made (2025)
- 30
- Average grant
- $32,417
- Median grant
- $20,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 3% first-time grantees (1 of 30, 2025)
- Total assets
- $16,915,198
- Primary geography
- Pennsylvania (39% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$16.9M
-3.1% YoY
Annual Giving
$973K
+42.1% YoY
Grant Count
30
-6.3% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$32K
+51.6% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, The Argus Fund reported a distributable amount of $1.0M for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is The Argus Fund open to new grantees?
3%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 1 of 30 grantees (3%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $20K; repeat grants $33K. How we count
Medians: $20K first-time, $20K repeat.
- 97% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 214% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 116% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2021–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The fund does not state a separate mission in the information available here. Its 2024 grants went to organizations working in areas including housing and food security, public media, Native American communities, marine mammal rescue and ocean conservation, and island habitat conservation. These describe the recipients’ work, not a stated set of focus areas for the fund.
For example, Bucks County Housing Group describes its mission as ending food and housing insecurity. National Public Radio says it works with member stations to create a more informed public through noncommercial programming. Americans for Native Americans says it works to improve quality of life for people on the Hopi, Navajo, and Zuni Nations. The Marine Mammal Center describes its work as marine mammal rescue and rehabilitation, research, and education; Seacology says it works with local people to protect island species and habitats while improving quality of life.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the fund reported 32 grants totaling $684,150. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $65,000, with a median of $12,750. The listed grant purposes were “general charitable purpose.”
Ready to take the next step with The Argus Fund?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2024, Pennsylvania recipients received 39% of grant dollars, California recipients 19%, Washington, DC recipients 9%, and recipients in Colorado and Arizona 7% each.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 30 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $310K (2022) to $1.1M (2021). In 2025 it made 30 grants totaling $973K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Bucks County Housing Group ($150K). Together the top 10 received $695K.
Grant Size Distribution
160 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 141 grants of 160 (88%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Bucks County Housing Group Warminster, PA | General Charitable Purpose | $150,000 |
| Conscious Alliance Boulder, CO | General Charitable Purpose | $150,000 |
| Navajohopi Health Foundation Tuba City, AZ | General Charitable Purpose | $75,000 |
| Snipes Farm & Education Center Morrisville, PA | General Charitable Purpose | $60,000 |
| Seacology Berkeley, CA | General Charitable Purpose | $50,000 |
| The County Theatre Doylestown, PA | General Charitable Purpose | $50,000 |
| The Towers Foundation Staten Island, NY | General Charitable Purpose | $45,000 |
| Medical Care International Philadelphia, PA | General Charitable Purpose | $40,000 |
| National Public Radio Washington, DC | General Charitable Purpose | $40,000 |
| Americans for Native Americans Doylestown, PA | General Charitable Purpose | $35,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grant sum | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $17,456,148 | $1,379,827 | $1,169,987 | $684,150 | 32 |
| 2023 | $17,246,375 | $542,402 | $1,098,025 | $615,000 | 32 |
| 2022 | $17,802,487 | $602,004 | $782,389 | $310,000 | 31 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $16,915,198 | $17,456,148 | $17,246,375 |
| Revenue | $892,680 | $1,379,827 | $542,402 |
| Expenses | $1,435,601 | $1,169,987 | $1,098,025 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $1,182,762 | $928,287 | $855,586 |
| Net Investment Income | $665,793 | $1,139,464 | $299,963 |
| Distributable Amount | $1,018,003 | $961,861 | $887,262 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS July 23, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Mark Dibner as president, Rachel Dibner as vice president, and Sage Dibner and Skye Dibner as directors.
The Argus Fund is led by Mark Dibner, President on every filing since 2021; all 4 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Mark Dibner
President
On filings since 2021
50 hrs/week
$220K (2021) → $130K (2025)
Sage Dibner
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
$4K (2023) → $9K (2025)
Skye Dibner
Director
On filings since 2023
5 hrs/week
$4K (2023) → $9K (2025)
Rachel Dibner
Vice President
On filings since 2022
50 hrs/week
$130K (2022) → $130K (2025)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2025 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $130K, to Mark Dibner (President). 4 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Contact
Mailing address: 501 Office Center Drive 2, Fort Washington, PA 19034
Phone: (215) 653-0127
Website: https://whitemarshtwp.org
Frequently asked questions about The Argus Fund
How much does The Argus Fund give each year?
The Argus Fund gave $973K across 30 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $684K across 32 grants.
What is The Argus Fund's typical grant size?
The Argus Fund's median grant in 2025 was $20,000, and its average grant was $32,417, across 30 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from The Argus Fund that year got $20K on average.
Where does The Argus Fund give grants?
The Argus Fund's top state is Pennsylvania, with 39% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Colorado (15%) and California (15%). The most frequent recipient cities were Doylestown, PA (6 grants), Washington, DC (2 grants) and Philadelphia, PA (2 grants).
Does The Argus Fund give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of The Argus Fund's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (30 of 30) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are The Argus Fund's largest grantees?
The Argus Fund's largest 2025 grantees include Bucks County Housing Group ($150,000), Conscious Alliance ($150,000) and Navajohopi Health Foundation ($75,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 39% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is The Argus Fund?
The Argus Fund reported $16.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.2M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.0M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does The Argus Fund fund?
The fund does not state a separate mission in the information available here. Its 2024 grants went to organizations working in areas including housing and food security, public media, Native American communities, marine mammal rescue and ocean conservation, and island habitat conservation. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from The Argus Fund?
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is The Argus Fund's EIN?
The Argus Fund's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-5045447. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Does The Argus Fund accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching The Argus Fund by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in The Argus Fund's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health-access initiatives for disproportionately affected populations, including cancer, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation, in the United States and internationally. In 2024, its median grant was $134,090, though awards varied widely; it says application materials are available upon request and advises organizations to contact it about the process, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL
The Chicago Community Trust funds nonprofits addressing economic mobility, wealth gaps, and urgent community needs, with priorities including homeownership, small businesses, education, quality jobs, and investment in underinvested communities. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $26,500, though awards vary widely; grants generally benefit Chicago-region residents, and the Trust directs applicants to open opportunities but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$7.1B
Grants
4,316
Total Given
$1.2B
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Marin Community Foundation
Novato, CA
Marin Community Foundation funds equity-focused work, including affordable housing, homelessness, community resilience and power, and arts; its Buck Family Fund supports organizations serving Marin County, including those based elsewhere. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000 and ranged from $5,050 to $10 million; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.3B
Grants
1,573
Total Given
$186.1M
The Pittsburgh Foundation
Pittsburgh, PA
The Pittsburgh Foundation funds basic needs, racial equity and social justice, environmental action, arts and culture, and economic mobility, primarily for organizations located in or serving Allegheny County, Pennsylvania. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,576, though awards varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.5B
Grants
1,132
Total Given
$64.0M
The William Penn Foundation
Philadelphia, PA
The William Penn Foundation funds arts and culture, children and families, civic engagement, the environment and public spaces, and workforce training across the Philadelphia region. Its 2024 grants ranged from $45 to $7.78 million, with a median of $50,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through a limited open-application process, though it recommends applying through a relevant RFP when available.
Assets
$3.4B
Grants
1,027
Total Given
$148.8M
Dick's Sporting Goods Foundation
Coraopolis, PA
The DICK’S Sporting Goods Foundation primarily funds youth sports programs that reduce barriers to participation, with additional support for public lands and outdoor access. Its 2025 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $626 to $2.5 million, and its Sports Matter program supports eligible organizations across the U.S. Sports Matter opportunities are by invitation only.
Assets
$34.5M
Grants
964
Total Given
$18.0M
Hillman Family Foundations
Pittsburgh, PA
The 18 independently operated Hillman foundations fund varied projects—including arts, health, education, workforce development, and community development—with priorities and geographic reach that differ by foundation. In 2024, grants ranged from $75 to $5 million, with a median award of $20,000. The stated application process begins with a brief letter of intent through the online portal; no deadline is listed.
Assets
$1.9B
Grants
814
Total Given
$88.8M
Pidc Financing Corporation
Philadelphia, PA
PIDC Financing Corporation administers Pennsylvania’s PIDA loan program, which finances businesses’ real estate acquisitions, leasehold improvements, and capital equipment, and the state-funded Local Share Account grant program. It reported no grants in 2022–2024, so no typical grant size is stated; program eligibility areas and whether it accepts unsolicited requests are not specified.
Assets
$6.7M
Grants
774
Total Given
$16.4M
The Philadelphia Foundation
Philadelphia, PA
The Philadelphia Foundation supports economic mobility and vulnerable residents in Greater Philadelphia, with funding also available through specific arts, culture, and other initiatives. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,500, though awards varied widely; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$704.6M
Grants
715
Total Given
$39.1M
More Funders in Pennsylvania
The Argus Fund down — hundreds of funders to go?