Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation
The Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation is a private foundation based in Santa Ana, California. Its 2025 filing reports grants to charitable organizations, including a university chemistry department, a children’s hospital foundation, schools, arts organizations, and organizations providing general operating support.
Key facts about Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation
In short: Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation gave $684K across 13 grants in 2025 (avg $53K), top state Michigan. 15% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 81-0835449
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $684,115
- Grants made (2025)
- 13
- Average grant
- $52,624
- Median grant
- $28,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 15% first-time grantees (2 of 13, 2025)
- Total assets
- $1,424,954
- Primary geography
- Michigan (37% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$1.4M
+50.1% YoY
Annual Giving
$684K
-44.1% YoY
Grant Count
13
-7.1% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$53K
-39.8% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation reported a distributable amount of $59K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation open to new grantees?
15%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 2 of 13 grantees (15%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $130K; repeat grants $39K. How we count
Medians: $130K first-time, $28K repeat.
- 54% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving fell 37% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for a range of purposes, including chemistry and diabetes research, a chemistry department, and general operating support. Among its grantees, the American Battle Monuments Foundation says it supports the education and outreach efforts of the American Battle Monuments Commission, which is responsible for American military cemeteries and memorials abroad. South Coast Repertory says it serves its community through theatrical productions and drama classes for youth through adults.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported 13 grants totaling $684,115. Awards ranged from $5,000 to $250,000, with a median grant of $28,000.
Ready to take the next step with Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2025 grant dollars went to recipients in Michigan (37%), California (29%), Louisiana (18%), Colorado (13%), and New York (1%). The listed grants also include a recipient in Illinois.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 13 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $526K (2021) to $1.5M (2023). In 2025 it made 13 grants totaling $684K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was University of Michigan ($250K). Together the top 10 received $659K.
Grant Size Distribution
74 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 42 grants of 74 (57%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI | Chemistry Department | $250,000 |
| World War II Museum New Orleans, LA | General Operation Support | $125,000 |
| Kiddie Hawk Air Academy Littleton, CO | General Operation Support | $60,000 |
| Mater DEI High School Santa Ana, CA | General Operation Support | $56,655 |
| Choc Children's Foundation Orange, CA | General Operation Support | $48,450 |
| Orange County United Way Irvine, CA | General Operation Support | $31,010 |
| American Battle Monuments Foundation Denver, CO | General Operation Support | $28,000 |
| UCI Foundation Irvine, CA | Diabetes Research | $25,000 |
| South Coast Repertory Costa Mesa, CA | General Operation Support | $20,000 |
| CASA of Orange County Orange, CA | General Operation Support | $15,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,424,954 | $1,435,442 | $690,165 | $684,115 | 13 |
| 2024 | $949,157 | $1,529,264 | $1,234,760 | $1,224,260 | 14 |
| 2023 | $1,308,300 | $624,516 | $1,543,138 | $1,500,347 | 17 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $1,424,954 | $949,157 | $1,308,300 |
| Revenue | $1,435,442 | $1,529,264 | $624,516 |
| Expenses | $690,165 | $1,234,760 | $1,543,138 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $684,115 | $1,224,260 | $1,500,347 |
| Net Investment Income | $546,719 | $778,224 | $610,116 |
| Distributable Amount | $59,088 | $51,533 | $74,923 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 15, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS October 14, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 6, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS October 24, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 10, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 16, 2026)
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Stephen G Oswald as director and president, and Regina Oswald as director and secretary.
Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation is led by Stephen G. Oswald, Director & President on every filing since 2020; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Stephen G. Oswald
Director & President
On filings since 2020
0.8 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Regina Oswald
Director & Secretary
On filings since 2020
0.8 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 1622 Kensing Ln, Santa Ana, CA 92706
Phone: (860) 992-5150
Website: https://indeed.com
Frequently asked questions about Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation
How much does Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation give each year?
Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation gave $684K across 13 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $1.2M across 14 grants.
What is Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation's typical grant size?
Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $28,000, and its average grant was $52,624, across 13 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation that year got $130K on average.
Where does Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation give grants?
Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation's top state is Michigan, with 37% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were California (29%) and Louisiana (18%). The most frequent recipient cities were Orange, CA (2 grants), Santa Ana, CA (2 grants) and Irvine, CA (2 grants).
Does Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 85% of Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (11 of 13) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation's largest grantees?
Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include University of Michigan ($250,000), World War II Museum ($125,000) and Kiddie Hawk Air Academy ($60,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 64% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation?
Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation reported $1.4M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $684K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $59K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation fund?
No mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants show support for a range of purposes, including chemistry and diabetes research, a chemistry department, and general operating support. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation?
The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation's EIN?
Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 81-0835449. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in California
Orange County Community Foundation
Irvine, CA
OCCF supports nonprofits across arts and culture, education, health, human services, the environment, and community development, primarily in Orange County but also beyond through its charitable funds. Its 2025 grants had a median amount of $25,000, though awards varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$743.6M
Grants
975
Total Given
$120.4M
Edwards Lifesciences Foundation
Irvine, CA
Edwards Lifesciences Foundation funds charitable organizations improving access to care for underserved people with structural heart disease, as well as local health, education, economic opportunity, and basic-needs programs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $1,523,928, with a median of $7,500; it supports communities where Edwards employees live and work, with the largest share of recent funding going to California. It accepts requests through an annual online application cycle, usually opening in late spring.
Assets
$81.4M
Grants
224
Total Given
$9.0M
Jewish Community Foundation of Orange County
Irvine, CA
The Jewish Community Foundation Orange County primarily funds Jewish nonprofit organizations serving Orange County, supporting Jewish life and programs for people of different ages and needs; it also makes grants to other charitable organizations, including recipients outside California. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $25,000, though amounts varied widely. The Foundation says its General Grants Program reviews applications, but the available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$134.8M
Grants
193
Total Given
$12.2M
Silicon Valley Community Foundation
Mountain View, CA
Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.
Assets
$12.3B
Grants
3,576
Total Given
$3.2B
California Community Foundation
Los Angeles, CA
The California Community Foundation funds work in education, health, housing, immigration, and other community needs, primarily in Los Angeles County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $50,000, though amounts varied widely; it does not accept unsolicited funding requests.
Assets
$2.3B
Grants
2,174
Total Given
$326.6M
The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation
Menlo Park, CA
The William & Flora Hewlett Foundation funds education, climate and conservation, the arts, gender equity, governance, democracy, and philanthropy, with work in the San Francisco Bay Area, the U.S. West, nationally, and internationally. Its 2024 grants had a median of $150,000, though awards ranged from $50 to more than $11 million; it often provides long-term general operating support. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests, except through invited open processes.
Assets
$14.2B
Grants
2,001
Total Given
$625.0M
Marin Community Foundation
Novato, CA
Marin Community Foundation funds equity-focused work, including affordable housing, homelessness, community resilience and power, and arts; its Buck Family Fund supports organizations serving Marin County, including those based elsewhere. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000 and ranged from $5,050 to $10 million; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.3B
Grants
1,573
Total Given
$186.1M
Direct Relief
Santa Barbara, CA
Direct Relief funds community health centers, free and charitable clinics, educational institutions, and other organizations addressing health inequities, and provides medical supplies for healthcare facilities serving underserved communities and people affected by emergencies. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,500 to $4.34 million, with a median of $100,000, supporting work across the U.S. and more than 80 countries. The available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.
Assets
$1.3B
Grants
1,367
Total Given
$337.4M
Conrad N Hilton Foundation
Westlake Village, CA
The Conrad N. Hilton Foundation funds nonprofits working to improve lives and alleviate poverty, with initiatives including early childhood development, homelessness, refugees, safe water, and support for foster and opportunity youth. Its work is global, and its 2024 grants had a median award of $76,000. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests, except through its Good Neighbor Program for eligible local nonprofits and Title 1 schools.
Assets
$7.4B
Grants
1,339
Total Given
$287.7M
The San Diego Foundation
San Diego, CA
The San Diego Foundation supports nonprofits advancing racial and social justice, equity of opportunity, and resilient communities, with grants for projects, capacity building, or general support. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from $5,100 to nearly $5 million; it generally funds organizations serving San Diego County residents, though some grants reach beyond the county. Applications are made through posted funding opportunities, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$1.7B
Grants
1,158
Total Given
$94.3M
The California Endowment
Los Angeles, CA
The California Endowment funds health and racial equity, including health care access, community health, organizing, and policy change, primarily in California. Its 2024 grants had a median of $100,000, though amounts varied widely; it does not accept unsolicited requests and funds preselected organizations only.
Assets
$4.5B
Grants
1,125
Total Given
$215.9M
More Funders in California
Stephen G and Regina Oswald Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?