Southern Oregon University
The Southern Oregon University foundation was established to support and promote the educational, scientific and charitable activities of the Southern Oregon University and programs and activities occurring on its campuses or in its facilities or undertaken by it in coordination with other educational, scientific, or charitable institutions. Supporting and promoting includes activities to solicit, acquire, receive, own, manage, invest, and dispose of any real and personal property for the benefit of Southern Oregon University.
Southern Oregon University at a glance
- Total assets
- $65,592,707
- +9.7% vs 2024
- Revenue (2025)
- $12,818,606
- +30.7% vs 2024
- Net investment income (2025)
- $3,769,083
- +108.7% vs 2024
- Expenses (2025)
- $10,355,700
- +60.7% vs 2024
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Southern Oregon University funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Grant Size Distribution
3 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 2 grants of 3 (67%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
States
Cities
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2022 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $25K (2022) to $55K (2023). In 2024 it made 1 grant totaling $45K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Southern Oregon University Ashland, OR | University Support | $45,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Southern Oregon University?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Net Investment Income |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $65,592,707 | $12,818,606 | $10,355,700 | — | — | $3,769,083 |
| 2024 | $59,769,258 | $9,807,457 | $6,442,169 | $45,000 | 1 | $1,806,364 |
| 2023 | $51,636,312 | $16,037,601 | $5,743,184 | $55,000 | 1 | $2,149,606 |
| 2022 | $40,553,938 | $8,833,338 | $3,843,495 | $25,000 | 1 | $1,186,757 |
| 2021 | $42,053,103 | $5,034,083 | $3,219,741 | — | — | $1,299,257 |
| 2020 | $33,073,601 | $4,227,702 | $3,749,128 | — | — | $1,430,989 |
About Southern Oregon University
Based on IRS filings
Southern Oregon University is a public charity focused on Education, based in Ashland, OR. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $65.6M in total assets. Net investment income was $3.8M.
Focus Areas
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Southern Oregon University is led by Jim Teece, President since 2023 (on filings since 2020); none of the 39 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Jim Teece
President
Trustee → Vice President, 2022
Vice President → President, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Art Diederich
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Blair Moody
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Christine Donchin
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Dan Thorndike
Trustee
Past President → Trustee, 2022
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Kelly Coates
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Marc Bayliss
Trustee
President → Past President, 2022
Past President → Trustee, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Peg Evans
Trustee
Trustee → Secretary, 2022
Secretary → Trustee, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ron Worland
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ryan Wines
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sid Deboer
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Barbara Tyler
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Stork
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Fred Mossler
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Armando Lopez
Trustee
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Dan Decena
Trustee
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Rick Young
Trustee
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ted Adams
Trustee
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Corina Rampola
Director of
On filings since 2023
40 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Chris Cushman
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Ryan Ringer
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Shan Sutherland
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tom Curran
Trustee
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Alycia Bleeker
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mark Pingle
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Moira Buckley
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Philip Smith
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Stephanie Haynes
Student Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Tim Williams
Trustee
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
David Wright
Treasurer
Trustee → Treasurer, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Gene Pelham
Vice President
Trustee → Vice President, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Janet Fratella
Executive Di
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Sue Collins
Secretary
Trustee → Secretary, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Sue Kupillas
Past President
Vice President → President, 2022
President → Past President, 2023
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Greg Roe
Affiliate Tr
Trustee → Affiliate Tr, 2024
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Roy Scarbrough
Affiliate Tr
On filings since 2024
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Larry Cooper
Affiliate Tr
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Laura Simonds
Affiliate Tr
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Roberta Bhasin
Affiliate Tr
New on the 2025 filing
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Former officers (25)
- Former: Laz Ayala (2020–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Sandy Friend (2020–2024) — Affiliate Tr
- Former: Ernest Scalberg (2021–2024) — Trustee
- Former: Pat Alexander (2022–2024) — Affiliate Tr
- Former: Tracy Palermini (2024) — Affiliate Tr
- Former: Andrew Gast (2020–2023) — Past Director of
- Former: Betsy Gentry (2020–2023) — Affiliate Tr
- Former: Doug Morse (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Greg Koenig (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Jeff Cutler (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Lore Rutz-Burri (2020–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Sheri Loya (2020–2023) — Affiliate Tr
- Former: Bree Erb (2022–2023) — Trustee
- Former: Sophia Bogle (2022–2023) — Affiliate Tr
- Former: Debra Lee (2020–2021) — Secretary
- Former: Kacie Ryan (2020–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Vance Beach (2020–2021) — Trustee
- Former: Alice Hardesty (2021) — Trustee
- Former: Lazaro Ayala (2021) — Trustee
- Former: Richard Young (2021) — Trustee
- Former: Alexis Packer (2020) — Trustee
- Former: Barbara Saigo (2020) — Trustee
- Former: Bonnie Evans (2020) — Trustee
- Former: Dave Hyatt (2020) — Trustee
- Former: Jeff Deboer (2020) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Southern Oregon University
How large is Southern Oregon University?
Southern Oregon University reported $65.6M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $12.8M.
What is Southern Oregon University?
Southern Oregon University is a public charity focused on Education, based in Ashland, OR. It holds $65.6M in total assets as of 2025.
Where does Southern Oregon University operate?
Southern Oregon University has awarded grants in Oregon.
What is Southern Oregon University's EIN?
Southern Oregon University's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-7030910. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.
Data update history
(4)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 15, 2023)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 9, 2024)
- Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 15, 2025)
- Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 1, 2026)
Live grants for the work Southern Oregon University funds
Education Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Southern Oregon University's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Similar funders in Oregon
The Oregon Community Foundation
Portland, OR
The Oregon Community Foundation funds Oregon nonprofits and community-serving projects across education, health, arts and culture, housing, economic and community vitality, and the environment. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to nearly $8 million; applications are accepted through specific grant programs and cycles, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$3.3B
Grants
2,149
Total Given
$171.4M
Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation
Wilsonville, OR
The Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation supports Oregon nonprofits working in education, community, arts and creativity, health, and well-being, often through unrestricted operating grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,000, though awards ranged widely; it also has a Washington Fund for organizations serving Washington and/or Oregon. Its primary grant programs open in January and June; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$374.9M
Grants
663
Total Given
$20.5M
The Roundhouse Foundation
Sisters, OR
The Roundhouse Foundation supports innovative arts and culture, environmental stewardship, social services, and education projects that benefit rural Oregon and Tribal communities. Its typical grant is around $10,000 overall; Open Call awards are usually about $2,501–$30,000, and Small Grants range from $500–$2,500.
Assets
$344.5M
Grants
621
Total Given
$15.6M
OCF Joseph E Weston Public Foundation
Portland, OR
The foundation supports nonprofits serving children, working-poor people, people with disabilities, seniors, and people experiencing homelessness, and also awards school scholarships. It primarily funds Oregon, with grants and scholarships also serving Southwest Washington; in 2024, grants ranged from $5,500 to $3,487,608, with a median of $21,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$637.5M
Grants
531
Total Given
$23.3M
Meyer Memorial Trust
Portland, OR
Meyer Memorial Trust funds community-led work advancing racial, social, and economic justice, including efforts in education, climate, community economies, and support for Black, Native, immigrant, and refugee communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, and 93% of grant dollars went to Oregon recipients. It offers open and invited opportunities, but says it will not open a general application call in 2026; check its website for current opportunities.
Assets
$901.2M
Grants
388
Total Given
$45.2M
Umpqua Bank Charitable Foundation
Lake Oswego, OR
The Umpqua Bank Charitable Foundation funds nonprofits working to strengthen economic prosperity and build healthy, inclusive, resilient, and sustainable communities, including through direct services or general operating support. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,500 to $150,000, with a median of $6,000; its small-grants program typically awarded $5,000–$10,000. Funding is limited to organizations in Oregon, Washington, Nevada, Idaho, California, Arizona, Colorado, and Utah, and the foundation accepts applications through its online Community Grant process.
Assets
$16.8M
Grants
317
Total Given
$3.2M
More similar funders
More Funders in Oregon
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Southern Oregon University's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Southern Oregon University down — hundreds of funders to go?