Shirley & David Allen Foundation
The Shirley & David Allen Foundation is a private foundation based in Mercer Island, Washington. Its 2025 filing reports grants to charitable organizations in areas including community services, humanitarian services, environmental protection, and animal protection.
Shirley & David Allen Foundation at a glance
In short: Shirley & David Allen Foundation gave $98K across 74 grants in 2025 (avg $1K), top state California. 1% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $97,800
- +14.9% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 74
- +2.8% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $1,322
- +11.8% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $825
- Total assets
- $1,098,849
- +7.0% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 1% first-time grantees (1 of 74, 2025)
- Primary geography
- California (45% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Shirley & David Allen Foundation
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.
- Contact
Mailing address: 4441 86Th Ave Se, Mercer Island, WA 98040-4145
Phone: (206) 979-6157
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Shirley & David Allen Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Kiwanis Club of Lindsay ($28K). Together the top 10 received $48K.
Grant Size Distribution
362 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 362 grants of 362 (100%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2025, California recipients received 45% of grant dollars and Washington recipients received 19%. Other leading recipient states were the District of Columbia (8%), Arizona (7%), and New York (5%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 74 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Is Shirley & David Allen Foundation open to new grantees?
1%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 1 of 74 grantees (1%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $1K; repeat grants $1K. How we count
Medians: $1K first-time, $825 repeat.
- 91% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 23% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 105% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $71K (2020) to $98K (2025). In 2025 it made 74 grants totaling $98K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Kiwanis Club of Lindsay Lindsay, CA | Community Services | $28,300 |
| Ronald McDonald House Charity Seattle, WA | Community Services | $5,450 |
| Salvation Army Seattle, WA | Humanitarian Services | $2,450 |
| Doctors Without Borders New York, NY | Humanitarian Services | $2,100 |
| League to Save Lake Tahoe Lake Tahoe, CA | General Support | $1,950 |
| Divine Alternatives for Dads Servic Seattle, WA | Community Services | $1,800 |
| St Jude Children's Research Hospit Memphis, TN | Community Services | $1,800 |
| USA for Unhcr Washington, DC | Humanitarian Services | $1,650 |
| Sierra Club San Francisco, CA | Environmental Protection | $1,500 |
| Food Lifeline Seattle, WA | Community Services | $1,475 |
Ready to take the next step with Shirley & David Allen Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $1,098,849 | $193,817 | $122,575 | $97,800 | 74 | $97,800 | $175,016 | $93,405 |
| 2024 | $1,026,626 | $69,870 | $105,873 | $85,150 | 72 | $85,150 | $48,970 | $88,348 |
| 2023 | $1,062,629 | $97,617 | $94,690 | $73,894 | 69 | $73,894 | $79,535 | $76,488 |
| 2022 | $1,059,702 | $92,280 | $103,436 | $79,250 | 71 | $79,250 | $71,644 | $78,671 |
| 2021 | $1,069,294 | $142,382 | $117,253 | $92,018 | 76 | $92,018 | $120,076 | $88,766 |
| 2020 | $1,044,165 | $103,194 | $92,146 | $71,150 | 68 | — | $86,994 | $71,580 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Shirley & David Allen Foundation reported a distributable amount of $93K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for organizations whose own missions address varied needs. For example, Food Lifeline says its mission is to feed people experiencing hunger while working to end hunger; the League to Save Lake Tahoe says it protects and restores the Lake Tahoe Basin’s environmental health and scenic beauty; and Compassion Without Borders says it helps animals in need facing geographic, cultural, or socioeconomic barriers. Other supported organizations describe work serving older adults facing food insecurity, protecting the ocean, and supporting children who have experienced foster care.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported 74 grants totaling $97,800. Grants ranged from $125 to $28,300, with a median of $825. The largest grants included $28,300 to Kiwanis Club of Lindsay for community services, $5,450 to Ronald McDonald House Charity in Seattle for community services, and $2,450 to the Salvation Army in Seattle for humanitarian services. Other grants included $2,100 to Doctors Without Borders for humanitarian services, $1,950 to the League to Save Lake Tahoe for general support, and $1,500 to the Sierra Club for environmental protection.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Lucy Sullivan as president; Alfred Sullivan as vice president/treasurer; Mary Cushing as secretary; and Holly Allen and Vinit Allen as directors.
Shirley & David Allen Foundation is led by Lucy Sullivan, President on every filing since 2020; none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Lucy Sullivan
President
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Holly Allen
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Vinit Allen
Director
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Alfred Sullivan
Vice President & Treasurer
On filings since 2020
4 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Mary Cushing
Secretary
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Shirley & David Allen Foundation
How much does Shirley & David Allen Foundation give each year?
Shirley & David Allen Foundation gave $98K across 74 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $85K across 72 grants.
What is Shirley & David Allen Foundation's typical grant size?
Shirley & David Allen Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $825, and its average grant was $1,322, across 74 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Shirley & David Allen Foundation that year got $1K on average.
Where does Shirley & David Allen Foundation give grants?
Shirley & David Allen Foundation's top state is California, with 45% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Washington (19%) and District of Columbia (8%). The most frequent recipient cities were Seattle, WA (12 grants), Tucson, AZ (9 grants), Washington, DC (8 grants) and San Francisco, CA (7 grants).
Does Shirley & David Allen Foundation give general operating support?
Occasionally: 9% of Shirley & David Allen Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (7 of 74) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Recurring purposes include "Community Services" (33 grants), "Environmental Protection" (13 grants) and "Humanitarian Services" (9 grants).
Who are Shirley & David Allen Foundation's largest grantees?
Shirley & David Allen Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Kiwanis Club of Lindsay ($28,300), Ronald McDonald House Charity ($5,450) and Salvation Army ($2,450), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 37% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Shirley & David Allen Foundation?
Shirley & David Allen Foundation reported $1.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $98K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $93K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Shirley & David Allen Foundation fund?
No foundation mission statement is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for organizations whose own missions address varied needs. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Shirley & David Allen Foundation?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Shirley & David Allen Foundation's EIN?
Shirley & David Allen Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 76-0702130. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Does Shirley & David Allen Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 7, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Live grants for the work Shirley & David Allen Foundation funds
Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Shirley & David Allen Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Washington
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
Gates Foundation
Seattle, WA
The Gates Foundation funds work to reduce disease and poverty, improve health and gender equality in lower-income countries, and support education and economic mobility in the United States, especially Washington State; it works in more than 140 countries. Its 2024 grants had a median of $500,000, with awards ranging from $1 to $350.5 million. It generally does not accept unsolicited proposals, but periodically offers opportunities through published requests for proposals.
Assets
$78.7B
Grants
4,974
Total Given
$6.3B
M J Murdock Charitable Trust
Vancouver, WA
The M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust funds nonprofit capacity-building and projects in arts and culture, civic and community services, education, health and environmental stewardship, and scientific research across Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. Its 2024 median grant was $87,000, with awards ranging from $4,000 to about $1.55 million. Eligible organizations can submit a Letter of Inquiry; full applications are by invitation.
Assets
$2.0B
Grants
797
Total Given
$116.6M
The Avista Foundation
Spokane, WA
The Avista Foundation supports 501(c)(3) nonprofits working in education, basic needs and poverty, and economic and cultural vitality. Its 2025 grants had a median of $1,000, though awards ranged from $20 to $350,000, and it serves communities in eastern Washington, northern Idaho, parts of southern Oregon, Sanders County, Montana, and Juneau, Alaska.
Assets
$10.6M
Grants
577
Total Given
$2.2M
REI Cooperative Action Fund
Sumner, WA
The REI Cooperative Action Fund supports U.S. nonprofits expanding equitable access to the outdoors, connecting historically excluded communities with outdoor experiences, and advancing research on nature and health. In 2024, grants ranged from $9,342 to $386,438, with a median of $15,000; it funds organizations serving communities across the U.S. and does not accept unsolicited grant requests, though recommendations are considered.
Assets
$11.2M
Grants
561
Total Given
$13.5M
Scholar Fund
Seattle, WA
Scholar Fund supports community organizations and programs addressing childcare, college access, economic hardship, and barriers to resources, with a focus on underserved communities. Its 2023 grants had a median of $23,486 and ranged from $5,036 to $1,313,081; 98% of grant dollars went to Washington recipients. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.2M
Grants
535
Total Given
$23.1M
More similar funders
More Funders in Washington
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). Shirley & David Allen Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 17, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/shirley-and-david-allen-foundation-morg_af13fdac325b4afbb791bd6ede2e5671
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_760702130_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{Shirley \& David Allen Foundation funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/shirley-and-david-allen-foundation-morg_af13fdac325b4afbb791bd6ede2e5671},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-17. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from Shirley & David Allen Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Shirley & David Allen Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?