SCP Foundation
SCP Foundation is a private foundation, based in Dallas, TX. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $106K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 3 grants totaling $130K. Net investment income was $2K.
SCP Foundation at a glance
In short: SCP Foundation gave $130K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $43K), mostly in Texas. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $130,000
- +333.3% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 3
- +50.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $43,333
- +188.9% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $50,000
- Total assets
- $106,179
- -54.2% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Texas (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who SCP Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 3 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Elephant Havens Wildlife Foundation ($50K). Together the top 3 received $130K.
Grant Size Distribution
36 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 31 grants of 36 (86%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.
Cities
How SCP Foundation gives
- Giving fell 80% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $25K (2020) to $665K (2022). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $130K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Elephant Havens Wildlife Foundation Dallas, TX | General Purpose | $50,000 |
| Kerr County Flood Relief Fund Kerrville, TX | General Purpose | $50,000 |
| Highland Park United Methodist Chur Dallas, TX | General Purpose | $30,000 |
Ready to take the next step with SCP Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $106,179 | $5,673 | $131,373 | $130,000 | 3 | $131,346 | $1,646 | $8,302 |
| 2024 | $231,879 | $2,002 | $32,084 | $30,000 | 2 | $32,059 | $1,977 | $10,149 |
| 2023 | $261,962 | $3,879 | $26,590 | $25,000 | 1 | $26,590 | $1,879 | $13,435 |
| 2022 | $284,673 | $306,806 | $665,820 | $665,000 | 28 | $665,820 | $4,806 | $22,642 |
| 2021 | $643,687 | $252,045 | $31,139 | $30,000 | 2 | $30,000 | — | $31,966 |
| 2020 | $422,781 | $4,184 | $34,879 | $25,000 | 1 | — | $2,184 | — |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, SCP Foundation reported a distributable amount of $8K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
SCP Foundation is led by Starr L. Pitzer, Chairman on every filing since 2020; none of the 6 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Starr L. Pitzer
Chairman
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Chaney Pitzer
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Gavin Pitzer
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Rees T Bowen
Director
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Christine H. Pitzer
Treasurer
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
R. L. Bramble
Secretary
On filings since 2020
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about SCP Foundation
How much does SCP Foundation give each year?
SCP Foundation gave $130K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $30K across 2 grants.
What is SCP Foundation's typical grant size?
SCP Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $50,000, and its average grant was $43,333, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does SCP Foundation give grants?
SCP Foundation gives mostly in Texas: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Dallas, TX (2 grants).
Does SCP Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of SCP Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (3 of 3) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
How large is SCP Foundation?
SCP Foundation reported $106K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $131K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $8K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is SCP Foundation's EIN?
SCP Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 45-3833676. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(7)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS March 10, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS February 1, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS February 3, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS January 22, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS January 17, 2025)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS January 29, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in SCP Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
Dayton Foundation Depository
Dayton, OH
The Dayton Foundation Depository funds charitable, educational, civic, religious, and community activities, including arts and culture, health, education, and human services, primarily in the Greater Dayton region. Its 2025 itemized grants had a median of $12,000; the Foundation’s discretionary program accepts requests of more than $7,500 and up to $75,000, and Greenlight Grants offer $500 to $7,500.
Assets
$42.3M
Grants
677
Total Given
$22.7M
Communities Foundation of Texas Inc
Dallas, TX
Communities Foundation of Texas funds a broad range of community needs, including health, education, housing, and community development, primarily in North Texas and across Texas. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $18,800, though amounts varied widely; nearly all opportunities are by invitation, with some specific programs open for applications.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
2,209
Total Given
$209.2M
The Dallas Foundation
Dallas, TX
The Dallas Foundation funds nonprofit work in Greater Dallas, with a current emphasis on early childhood and family well-being and other areas including economic mobility, homelessness, and youth mental health. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,020 to $7.85 million, with a median of $25,000; applicants generally must serve Dallas County residents. It accepts applications through its online portal when a grant cycle is open, but reports no open opportunities at this time.
Assets
$491.5M
Grants
788
Total Given
$87.3M
Arizona Community Foundation
Phoenix, AZ
Arizona Community Foundation funds nonprofits, schools, tribal entities, government agencies, and most religious organizations in areas including arts and culture, community development, the environment, health, and education. Its 2025 grants had a median of $17,760; most funding goes to Arizona, though it also awards grants nationally. Competitive grants require an online application during an open cycle; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
1,174
Total Given
$92.9M
Greater Houston Community Foundation
Houston, TX
The Foundation makes grants through donor-advised and other donor-established funds for public benefit, human services, education, and health, including initiatives addressing economic mobility and poverty in Harris County. In 2024, its median grant was $25,000; it serves Greater Houston, while grants also go to recipients elsewhere in Texas and beyond. It does not accept proposals for the upcoming High-Impact Grantmaking cycle and plans to invite selected organizations or collaboratives to apply.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,724
Total Given
$232.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in Texas
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from SCP Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
SCP Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?