Schwarz Family Foundation Inc

Private foundation · Grantmaker Carmel, IN EIN: 46-4218210

Schwarz Family Foundation Inc is a private foundation based in Carmel, Indiana. It made 15 grants totaling $2,457,787 in 2024, including support for organizations in Indiana and Ohio.

Key facts about Schwarz Family Foundation Inc

In short: Schwarz Family Foundation Inc gave $2.5M across 15 grants in 2024 (avg $164K), mostly in Indiana. 47% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
46-4218210
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$2,457,787
Grants made (2024)
15
Average grant
$163,852
Median grant
$15,000
New grantees (estimate)
47% first-time grantees (7 of 15, 2024)
Total assets
$8,044,579
Primary geography
Indiana (88% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$8.0M

-11.9% YoY

Annual Giving

$2.5M

+403.9% YoY

Grant Count

15

+25.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$164K

+303.1% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Schwarz Family Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $484K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Is Schwarz Family Foundation Inc open to new grantees?

47%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 7 of 15 grantees (47%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $300K; repeat grants $44K. How we count

Medians: $15K first-time, $13K repeat.

  • 40% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving grew 441% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 509% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 grants included support for a scholarship program and organizations whose missions, as described by the grantees, include early childhood education, tutoring and academic support for students affected by homelessness, vocational training for adults with intellectual disabilities, and youth development.

Grantmaking

In 2024, the foundation reported 15 grants totaling $2,457,787. Grant amounts ranged from $1,000 to $2,000,000, with a median of $15,000. Notable grants included $2,000,000 to Neurosurgical Atlas Inc in Carmel, Indiana; $259,287 to Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges for a scholarship program; $32,500 to St. Mary’s Child Center; and $25,000 to Brightlane Learning.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Schwarz Family Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2024, 88% of grant dollars went to recipients in Indiana, 11% to recipients in Ohio, 1% to recipients in Florida, and 0% to recipients in Texas.

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of all 15 itemized 2024 grant dollars.

Cities

IndianapolisZionsvilleColumbusFishersSarasotaNoblesvilleCarmelIndianpolisTemple

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$1M$2M$3M8 grants202014 grants20219 grants202212 grants202315 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $296K (2020) to $2.5M (2024). In 2024 it made 15 grants totaling $2.5M.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Neurosurgical Atlas Inc: $2.0MNeurosurgical Atlas Inc$2.0MOhio Fdn of Independent Colleges: $259KOhio Fdn of IndependentColleges$259KSt Mary's Child Center Inc: $33KSt Mary's Child Center Inc$33KChlidren First Inc: $30KChlidren First Inc$30KDream Center Indianapolis Inc: $30KDream Center Indianapolis Inc$30KBrightlane Learning Corp: $25KBrightlane Learning Corp$25KBoys & Girls Club of Noblesville: $15KBoys & Girls Club ofNoblesville$15KIndianapolis Public Schools Education Foundation Inc: $15KIndianapolis Public SchoolsEducation Foundation Inc$15KWatch Us Farm: $11KWatch Us Farm$11KBoys & Girls Club of Boone County Inc: $10KBoys & Girls Club of BooneCounty Inc$10K

The largest 2024 recipient was Neurosurgical Atlas Inc ($2.0M). Together the top 10 received $2.4M.

Grant Size Distribution

58 grants across all recorded years

48<$50K4$50–100K3$100–250K2$250–500K$500K–1M1$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 48 grants of 58 (83%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Neurosurgical Atlas Inc Carmel, INGeneral$2,000,000
Ohio Fdn of Independent Colleges Columbus, OHSchwarz family foundation scholarship program to be administered by Ohio foundation of independent colleges, inc scholarship management resources program$259,287
St Mary's Child Center Inc Indianapolis, INGeneral$32,500
Chlidren First Inc Sarasota, FLGeneral$30,000
Dream Center Indianapolis Inc Indianapolis, INGeneral$30,000
Brightlane Learning Corp Indianapolis, INGeneral$25,000
Boys & Girls Club of Noblesville Noblesville, INGeneral$15,000
Indianapolis Public Schools Education Foundation Inc Indianapolis, INGeneral$15,000
Watch Us Farm Zionsville, INGeneral$11,000
Boys & Girls Club of Boone County Inc Zionsville, INGeneral$10,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $8,044,579 $1,870,233 $2,566,356 $2,457,787
2023 $9,132,197 $393,260 $586,859 $487,750
2022 $9,325,796 $208,599 $596,674 $446,000
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$1M$2M$3M$4M20202021202220232024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$8,044,579$9,132,197$9,325,796
Revenue$1,870,233$393,260$208,599
Expenses$2,566,356$586,859$596,674
Qualifying Distributions$2,461,884$491,475$452,750
Net Investment Income$764,258$297,876$101,507
Distributable Amount$484,096$453,432$459,241

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Schwarz Family Foundation Inc's 2022 filing lists 3 officers; none of the 3 officers listed in 2022 report compensation.

Officers on the 2022 filing

The latest filing that lists officers: our copy of the 2023–2024 filings list none.

  • Gaye Schwarz

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Jill Schwarz

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Lynn Schwarz

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2022. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 10 W Carmel Drive Ste 300, Carmel, IN 46032
Phone: (317) 290-1140

Frequently asked questions about Schwarz Family Foundation Inc

How much does Schwarz Family Foundation Inc give each year?

Schwarz Family Foundation Inc gave $2.5M across 15 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $488K across 12 grants.

What is Schwarz Family Foundation Inc's typical grant size?

Schwarz Family Foundation Inc's median grant in 2024 was $15,000, and its average grant was $163,852, across 15 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Schwarz Family Foundation Inc that year got $300K on average.

Where does Schwarz Family Foundation Inc give grants?

Schwarz Family Foundation Inc gives mostly in Indiana: 88% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Ohio (11%). The most frequent recipient cities were Indianapolis, IN (6 grants) and Zionsville, IN (3 grants).

Does Schwarz Family Foundation Inc give general operating support?

Yes: 93% of Schwarz Family Foundation Inc's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (14 of 15) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Schwarz Family Foundation Inc's largest grantees?

Schwarz Family Foundation Inc's largest 2024 grantees include Neurosurgical Atlas Inc ($2,000,000), Ohio Fdn of Independent Colleges ($259,287) and St Mary's Child Center Inc ($32,500), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 93% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Schwarz Family Foundation Inc?

Schwarz Family Foundation Inc reported $8.0M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $2.5M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $484K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What does Schwarz Family Foundation Inc fund?

No mission statement for the foundation is provided. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Schwarz Family Foundation Inc?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Schwarz Family Foundation Inc's EIN?

Schwarz Family Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 46-4218210. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Does Schwarz Family Foundation Inc accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Schwarz Family Foundation Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Schwarz Family Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

United Way of Central Indiana Inc

Indianapolis, IN

United Way of Central Indiana funds basic needs, family opportunity, economic mobility, early learning, housing, and human-services-sector support, primarily in Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Marion, Morgan, and Putnam counties. Its 2025 grants had a median of $16,238, while current Basic Needs and Family Opportunity awards range from $8,500 to $150,000; those funds accept applications from nonprofits outside its accredited partner network, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$255.2M

Grants

370

Total Given

$29.9M

Lilly Endowment Inc

Indianapolis, IN

Lilly Endowment funds community development, education and youth, and religion, with a national reach—especially in religion—and a particular commitment to Indianapolis and Indiana. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$105.9B

Grants

2,285

Total Given

$3.9B

Central Indiana Community Foundation Inc

Indianapolis, IN

CICF supports a range of charitable work through its funds and partner entities, including youth programs, housing, social services, environmental equity, and services for older adults, primarily in Central Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median award of $25,000, though amounts varied widely. CICF does not award grants directly; most competitive opportunities use its grants portal, while the Hamilton County Multi-Year Partner Grant is invitation-only and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$583.5M

Grants

525

Total Given

$31.1M

Nicholas H Noyes Jr Memorial

Carmel, IN

The foundation funds charitable organizations and educational institutions in arts and culture, education, health and human services, civic and community service, religion, and environmental initiatives, primarily in greater Indianapolis and central Indiana, including Indiana colleges and universities. In 2025, grants ranged from $2,500 to $300,000, with a median of $10,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through a letter of intent during designated application windows; full proposals are by invitation only.

Assets

$157.9M

Grants

305

Total Given

$6.4M

The Brave Heart Foundation Inc

Fishers, IN

The Brave Heart Foundation supports small programs serving underserved people, especially children and families, in education, health and wellness, and grassroots community action, primarily in Indiana. Typical grants are around $5,000, with standard awards capped at that amount; it does not accept unsolicited requests and funds preselected organizations.

Assets

$5.0M

Grants

167

Total Given

$795K

Healthcare Initiatives Inc

Indianapolis, IN

Healthcare Initiatives Inc funds nonprofit programs advancing human health and well-being, including health education, healthy-lifestyle information, and medical services. Its 2024 grants ranged from $2,500 to $50,000, with a median of $5,000; most funding went to Indiana, with some grants reported in other states. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$19.9M

Grants

53

Total Given

$665K

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce development, local economic development and recovery, disaster resilience, conservation, and economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. It reports more than $30 million in annual charitable grants; awards vary widely, with a 2024 median of $25,000, and applications of $20,000 or less are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants should contact their local Foundation representative before applying.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

Hamilton County Community Foundation Inc

Fishers, IN

Hamilton County Community Foundation supports nonprofits and charitable causes serving Hamilton County, Indiana, across areas including health, education, parks, and community well-being. Its 2024 grants had a median of $15,500 and ranged from $5,432 to $1,103,015. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$129.3M

Grants

169

Total Given

$7.3M

Eugene & Marilyn Glick Foundation

Indianapolis, IN

The foundation supports affordable housing, democracy, Jewish cultural life, arts, education, basic needs, and economic mobility, primarily in central Indiana and communities where Glick-managed properties are located. Its 2025 grants ranged from $250 to $17.51 million, with a median of $2,500; current grants are by invitation only, so it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$298.1M

Grants

210

Total Given

$21.3M

Hoover Family Foundation

Indianapolis, IN

The Hoover Family Foundation funds direct-service nonprofit programs in social services, mental health, and enriched education that promote self-sufficiency and improve quality of life, mainly in the Indianapolis and Portland metropolitan areas. In 2025, grants ranged from $1,000 to $10,500, with a median of $8,000. Its guidelines invite applications and say giving is not limited to preselected organizations.

Assets

$9.7M

Grants

75

Total Given

$581K

National Collegiate Athletic Association

Indianapolis, IN

Provide a world-class athletics and academic experience for student-athletes that fosters lifelong well-being.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

591

Total Given

$627.8M

University of Notre Dame du Lac

Notre Dame, IN

The University of Notre Dame supports Catholic education, student life, academics, athletics, research, and nonprofit and institutional projects; its 2025 grants had a median of $30,480, though amounts varied widely. Giving is concentrated in Florida and Indiana, with support also going to organizations elsewhere in the U.S.; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited general requests.

Education

Assets

$29.6B

Grants

462

Total Given

$84.8M

More Funders in Indiana

Schwarz Family Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?