Rupe Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Dallas, TX EIN: 75-6022488

Rupe Foundation is a private foundation, based in Dallas, TX. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $2.2M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 5 grants totaling $125K. Net investment income was $111K.

Rupe Foundation at a glance

In short: Rupe Foundation gave $125K across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $25K), mostly in Texas. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$125,000
+13.6% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
5
-28.6% vs 2024
Average grant
$25,000
+59.1% vs 2024
Median grant
$30,000
Total assets
$2,171,586
-8.4% vs 2024
Primary geography
Texas (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Rupe Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2025

Momentous Institute: $35KMomentous Institute$35KDallas Arboretum: $30KDallas Arboretum$30KFoundation for the Callier Center: $30KFoundation for the CallierCenter$30KParkland Health Foundation: $20KParkland Health Foundation$20KLake Country Christian School: $10KLake Country Christian School$10K

The largest 2025 recipient was Momentous Institute ($35K). Together the top 5 received $125K.

Grant Size Distribution

32 grants across all recorded years

32<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 32 grants of 32 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

States

Cities

DallasPlanoFort WorthRichardson

How Rupe Foundation gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (+0%). Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 101% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K7 grants2020 7 grants2021 6 grants2022 7 grants2023 7 grants2024 5 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $100K (2020) to $125K (2025). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $125K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Momentous Institute Dallas, TXSalesmanship Club Charitable Golf of Dallas, Inc$35,000
Dallas Arboretum Dallas, TXTo support stem education in the rory meyer's children adventure garden & general operating fund$30,000
Foundation for the Callier Center Richardson, TXPaula R. Dennard Opportunity Fund for Pediatiric Autism$30,000
Parkland Health Foundation Dallas, TXIn support of family planning to provide equitable healthcare services in Dallas county$20,000
Lake Country Christian School Fort Worth, TXCampus Security$10,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Rupe Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$2,171,586$130,431$144,245$125,0005$125,000$111,186$123,201
2024$2,371,315$310,855$125,339$110,0007$110,705$296,806$111,200
2023$2,204,754$67,245$129,515$110,0007$110,745$42,076$105,809
2022$2,062,710$53,825$142,085$125,0006$125,745$39,373$111,757
2021$2,592,182$147,600$132,227$110,0007$110,689$127,403$128,338
2020$2,463,491$53,370$119,714$100,0007—$34,795$109,541

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Rupe Foundation reported a distributable amount of $123K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Rupe Foundation is led by Gretchen D. Crane, President & Trustee since 2025 (on filings since 2020); none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Gretchen D. Crane

    President & Trustee

    Prestrustee → President & Trustee, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Austin Dennard

    Secretary & Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dallas G. Groth

    Vice President, Treasurer & Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David B. Dennard

    Assistant Treasurer

    Trustee → Assistant Treasurer, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (4)
  • Former: Caroline R. Harris (2020–2024) — Trustee
  • Former: Dennis L. Lutes (2020–2024) — Secrtrustee
  • Former: Lee C. Ritchie (2020–2024) — Vptreastrustee
  • Former: Silvia Stoumbaugh (2020–2024) — Asstsecassttreas

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Rupe Foundation

How much does Rupe Foundation give each year?

Rupe Foundation gave $125K across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $110K across 7 grants.

What is Rupe Foundation's typical grant size?

Rupe Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $30,000, and its average grant was $25,000, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Rupe Foundation give grants?

Rupe Foundation gives mostly in Texas: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Dallas, TX (3 grants).

Does Rupe Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 20% of Rupe Foundation's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (1 of 5) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Rupe Foundation's largest grantees?

Rupe Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Momentous Institute ($35,000), Dallas Arboretum ($30,000) and Foundation for the Callier Center ($30,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 76% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Rupe Foundation?

Rupe Foundation reported $2.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $125K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $123K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Rupe Foundation's EIN?

Rupe Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 75-6022488. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS June 8, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 16, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 10, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 15, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 14, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 11, 2026)

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Rupe Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The Rosewood Foundation

Dallas, TX

The Rosewood Foundation supports arts, education, environmental conservation, healthcare, and poverty alleviation, primarily through program grants aimed at improving quality of life in the Dallas area. Its stated award range is $2,500–$10,000, and it funds only preselected organizations, not unsolicited requests.

Assets

$19K

Grants

3

Total Given

$6K

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Gil and Dody Weaver Foundation

Dallas, TX

The foundation’s grants supported camps and outdoor experiences, STEM programming, and community services, with 99% of 2025 grant dollars going to Texas; grants typically had a median of $4,000, though amounts varied widely. Its 2024 filing described an application process, but the foundation later merged and transferred its assets effective September 30, 2025, so those instructions are not current and it appears to have wound down.

Assets

—

Grants

27

Total Given

$740K

Texas Women's Foundation

Dallas, TX

The Foundation funds organizations advancing women’s and girls’ economic security, stability, and success, including work in childcare, housing, healthcare, education, and leadership. Its 2025 grants had a median of $31,000; its 2026 Community Grant Cycle allowed requests up to $40,000 for eligible organizations serving the Dallas–Fort Worth area and nearby counties. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$26.3M

Grants

62

Total Given

$3.1M

Bright Family Foundation

Lewisville, TX

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3M

Grants

9

Total Given

$1.8M

David M Crowley Foundation

Dallas, TX

The David M Crowley Foundation supports charitable and educational organizations, including groups working in disability services, hunger relief, recovery, housing, education, and the arts. Its 2024 grants went to Texas recipients and ranged from $10,000 to $2 million, with a median of $50,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$149.3M

Grants

38

Total Given

$5.9M

More similar funders

More Funders in Texas

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Rupe Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Rupe Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?