Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights logo

Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights

Public charity · Grantmaker Washington, DC EIN: 13-2522784 Website

Robert f. Kennedy boldly faced tough problems and challenged the comfortable and complacent. He believed that individual action could overcome injustice and oppression. He awakened unknown strengths and inspired a generation to change the world. Established in 1968 by friends and family of robert kennedy, the robert f. Kennedy center for justice and human rights (the "center") is a nonprofit charitable organization that for over three decades has furthered the vision and spirit of robert kennedy by advancing respect for human rights and social justice for all people and promoting the idea that individual action can make a difference through commitment to civic and community affairs.

Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights at a glance

In short: Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights reported $257K in grants paid in 2024 (a total; its filing lists no individual grants). Source: 2024 IRS Form 990.

Grants paid (2024)
$257,004 — reported as a total on the IRS filing, without an itemized list
+3033.4% vs 2023
Total assets
$40,621,292
-6.7% vs 2023
Revenue (2024)
$12,321,131
+6.0% vs 2023
Net investment income (2024)
$751,480
+104.5% vs 2023
Expenses (2024)
$12,812,318
-9.6% vs 2023
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2024; updated September 2026.

How to apply to Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights

Who Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

28 grants across all recorded years

20<$50K6$50–100K2$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 20 grants of 28 (71%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

17states
+9 more states

Cities

Aliso ViejoLancasterMemphisSan FranciscoAtlantaBaton RougeBethesdaBirminghamChicagoCoral GablesDallasDetroitFort LauderdaleFort WorthLas VegasMinneapolisNashvilleNew OrleansNew YorkOgunquit

How Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights gives

  • Giving fell 99% from 2020 to 2023. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K19 grants2020 5 grants2021 3 grants2022 1 grant2023 Total only2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $8K (2023) to $552K (2020). In 2024 it reported $257K in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Free Our Vote Bethesda, MDProgram Services and Grant Assistance for the Organization$8,202
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2024$40,621,292$12,321,131$12,812,318$257,004Total only$751,480
2023$43,547,327$11,628,230$14,178,396$8,2021$367,530
2022$44,275,909$12,039,083$14,542,703$95,0003$403,341
2021$60,116,357$7,527,165$11,322,131$310,0425$1,200,425
2020$64,254,561$16,870,439$10,885,449$552,00019$735,520

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights

Based on IRS filings

Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights is a public charity, based in Washington, DC. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $40.6M in total assets. In 2024, it reported $257K in grants paid as a total on its IRS filing, without an itemized list. Net investment income was $751K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights is led by Kerry Kennedy, President of Rfkhr on every filing since 2020; 8 of 51 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Kerry Kennedy

    President of Rfkhr

    On filings since 2020

    37.5 hrs/week

    $351K (2020) → $415K (2024)

  • Lynn Delaney

    Executive Director

    Senior Adviser & Executive Director → Executive Director, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    37.5 hrs/week

    $224K (2020) → $261K (2024)

  • Frank A. Baker

    Board - Chair

    Board Member → Co-Chair, 2021

    Co-Chair → Board - Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sarah Gillman

    Director of Strategic U.s. Litigation

    New on the 2024 filing

    37.5 hrs/week

    $132K (2024)

  • Angelita Baeyens

    Vice President & International Advocacy

    Vice President, International Advocacy & Litigation → Vice President & International Advocacy, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    37.5 hrs/week

    $147K (2020) → $155K (2024)

  • Michael Schreiber

    Chief Operating Officer

    On filings since 2020

    37.5 hrs/week

    $288K (2020) → $365K (2024)

  • Sancia Dalley

    Board Member

    Senior Vice President & Compass Investor Program → Board Member, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    $165K (2020) → $0 (2024)

  • Wade McMullen

    Senior Vice President of Programs & Legal Strategy

    Senior Vice President, Programs & Legal Strategy → Senior Vice President of Programs & Legal Strategy, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    37.5 hrs/week

    $162K (2020) → $171K (2024)

  • Amy Reid

    Senior Vice President & Communications

    On filings since 2022

    37.5 hrs/week

    $179K (2022) → $222K (2024)

  • Anthony Enriquez

    Vice President, U.s. Advocacy & Litigation

    New on the 2024 filing

    37.5 hrs/week

    $161K (2024)

  • Anthony Williams

    Board - Treasurer

    Treasurer → Board - Treasurer, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Barry Volpert

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cara Kennedy-Cuomo

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Claudio Grossman

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Elisa Massimino

    Board - Secretary

    Secretary → Board - Secretary, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ethel Kennedy

    Board - Founder

    Founder → Board - Founder, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Henry S. Schleiff

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • James J. Pinto

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeffrey A. Sachs

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • John W. Rogers Jr.

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jose E. Feliciano

    Board Member -

    Co-Chair → Board Member, 2023

    Board Member → Board Member -, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joseph P. Kennedy III

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kenneth Goldman

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kim Davis

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark E. Freitas

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark Gearan

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Martin Sheen

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marvin S. Rosen

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael H. Posner

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pedro Torres-Mackie

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Peter B. Edelman

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Peter Barbey

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Philip W. Johnston

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Randi Weingarten

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert F. Smith

    Board Member

    Board Chair → Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stefano Lucchini

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stephen Decherney

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sushma Raman

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terry Mazany

    Board - Vice Chair

    Co-Vice Chair → Vice Chair, 2021

    Vice Chair → Board - Vice Chair, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Thasunda Brown Duckett

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tonio Burgos

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dasha Smith

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dermot McDonogh

    Board Member

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bhavin Shah

    Board Member -

    Board Member → Board Member -, 2024

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kylar Broadus

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Susan Clark Livingston

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Vivienne Ming

    Board Member

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marty Nesbitt

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mary Kathryn Nagle

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Soraya Darabi

    Board Member

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Maria Teresa Kumar

    Board Member

    New on the 2024 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (15)
  • Former: B. Scott Minerd (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Betty Liu (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Donato J. Tramuto (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Harry Belafonte (2020–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Jeffrey Siminoff (2020–2022) — Senior Vice President & Workplace Dignity
  • Former: Daniel R. Halem (2021–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Dawn Ross (2021–2022) — Vice President & International Operations
  • Former: Robert F. Kennedy (2021–2022) — Founder
  • Former: John Studzinski (2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Douglas T. Hickey (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Nelda Connors (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Niclas Kjellstrom-Matseke (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Elizabeth Gildersleeve (2020) — Communictions Director
  • Former: Karen Mehiel (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Maryann Turke (2020) — Board Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Kerry Kennedy — President of RFKHR: $415KKerry KennedyPresident of RFKHR$415KMichael Schreiber — Chief Operating Officer: $365KMichael SchreiberChief Operating Officer$365KLynn Delaney — Executive Director: $261KLynn DelaneyExecutive Director$261KAmy Reid — Senior VP, Communications: $222KAmy ReidSenior VP, Communications$222KWade McMullen — SVP of Programs and Legal Strategy: $171KWade McMullenSVP of Programs and Legal…$171KAnthony Enriquez — Vice President, U.S. Advocacy & Litigation: $161KAnthony EnriquezVice President, U.S. Advocacy &…$161KAngelita Baeyens — VP, International Advocacy: $155KAngelita BaeyensVP, International Advocacy$155KSarah Gillman — Director of Strategic U.S. Litigation: $132KSarah GillmanDirector of Strategic U.S.…$132K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $415K, to Kerry Kennedy (President of RFKHR). 8 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights

How much does Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights give each year?

Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights reported $257K in grants paid in 2024 on its 2024 IRS Form 990, as a total without an itemized list of grants. In 2023 it gave $8K across 1 grant.

How large is Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights?

Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights reported $40.6M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $12.3M.

Where does Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights operate?

Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights has awarded grants in Alabama, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New York, Tennessee, Texas, Washington.

What is Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights's EIN?

Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 13-2522784. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS November 15, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 15, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 14, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 17, 2025)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in District of Columbia

Borealis Philanthropy

Minneapolis, MN

Borealis Philanthropy funds grassroots leaders, organizations, and movements advancing racial equity, disability justice, Black-led movements, and communities affected by policing. Its 2024 grants ranged from $6,000 to $1.28 million, with a median of $80,000, and went to recipients across multiple states, especially California. Some program listings invite applications or requests, including the Disability Inclusion Fund and the Fund for Trans Generations Rapid Response Fund.

Arts, Culture & Humanities

Assets

$78.2M

Grants

360

Total Given

$37.3M

NEO Philanthropy Inc

New York, NY

NEO Philanthropy funds social-justice movements and community organizations, including work on immigration, democracy, reproductive, racial and climate justice, and LGBTQ rights. In 2024, its 558 grants ranged from $5,000 to $23.58 million, with a median of $50,000; grants went mainly to Washington state, Washington, DC, North Carolina, California, and New York. It does not accept unsolicited requests or proposals; potential grantees are generally invited to apply.

Public, Societal Benefit

Assets

$185.6M

Grants

558

Total Given

$103.5M

Conrad N Hilton Foundation

Westlake Village, CA

The Conrad N. Hilton Foundation funds nonprofits working to improve lives and alleviate poverty, with initiatives including early childhood development, homelessness, refugees, safe water, and support for foster and opportunity youth. Its work is global, and its 2024 grants had a median award of $76,000. It generally does not accept unsolicited requests, except through its Good Neighbor Program for eligible local nonprofits and Title 1 schools.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$7.4B

Grants

1,339

Total Given

$287.7M

The Coach Foundation Inc

New York, NY

The Coach Foundation supports education, scholarships, mentorship, and youth-voice initiatives for students from historically underrepresented and marginalized communities, with grants to organizations in the U.S. and internationally. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $1 million, with a median of $70,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$77.2M

Grants

21

Total Given

$3.8M

Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Mountain View, CA

Silicon Valley Community Foundation funds work in areas such as housing, economic security, education, health, the environment, arts and culture, and civic engagement, with Community Action Grants supporting local, community-led organizations in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of $51,716, though amounts varied widely; applications depend on the program, and SVCF states that it does not accept unsolicited proposals for advised funds.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$12.3B

Grants

3,576

Total Given

$3.2B

NCRC Community Development Fund Inc

Washington, DC

NCRC Community Development Fund supports affordable housing and homeownership, small businesses—especially minority-owned, women-owned, and low-income businesses—and certain nonprofit programs that provide capital or services to underserved communities. Its listed awards range from $5,000 to $50,000, though typical giving is not stated; it serves communities across the U.S., with some programs focused on Illinois. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$55.6M

Grants

2,666

Total Given

$149.3M

More similar funders

More Funders in District of Columbia

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Robert F Kennedy Center for Justice and Human Rights down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?