Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust
The Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust is a private foundation based in Newtown, Connecticut. Its 2025 filing lists grants to organizations working in areas including the performing arts, youth programs, education, health care, hunger relief, and scholarships.
Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust at a glance
In short: Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust gave $2.1M across 10 grants in 2025 (avg $210K), mostly in New York. 30% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $2,100,000
- -11.0% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 10
- -23.1% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $210,000
- +15.7% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $57,500
- Total assets
- $590,475
- -75.5% vs 2024
- New grantees (estimate)
- 30% first-time grantees (3 of 10, 2025; small sample)
- Primary geography
- New York (82% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The trust states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds.
- Contact
Mailing address: 6 Oak Ridge Drive, Newtown, CT 06470
Phone: (203) 426-2976
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Lincoln Center for Performing Arts ($1.3M). Together the top 10 received $2.1M.
Grant Size Distribution
57 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 28 grants of 57 (49%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2025 grant dollars were reported as distributed among recipients in New York (82%), Indiana (10%), Connecticut (8%), and Rhode Island (1%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 10 itemized grants.
Cities
Is Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust open to new grantees?
30%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 3 of 10 grantees (30%) were first-time recipients. With only 10 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 10 points. First grants averaged $133K; repeat grants $243K. How we count
Medians: $25K first-time, $90K repeat.
- 70% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 28% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2021–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $1.1M (2021) to $2.4M (2024). In 2025 it made 10 grants totaling $2.1M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Lincoln Center for Performing Arts New York, NY | Performing Arts | $1,250,000 |
| Dream New York, NY | General Operations | $350,000 |
| Butler University Indianapolis, IN | Support Lacy School of Business Building | $200,000 |
| Hole in the Wall Gang Fund Inc New Haven, CT | General Operations | $100,000 |
| New York Common Pantry Inc New York, NY | General Operations | $90,000 |
| Connecticut Children's Foundation Hartford, CT | Annual Fund | $25,000 |
| Danbury Hospital Foundation Danbury, CT | Hospital Operations | $25,000 |
| ICAHN School of Medicine New York, NY | General Hospital Needs | $25,000 |
| Westerly Hospital Foundation Inc Westerly, RI | General Hospital Needs | $25,000 |
| Newtown Scholarship Association Newtown, CT | Scholarship Support | $10,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $590,475 | $306,346 | $2,123,571 | $2,100,000 | 10 | $2,100,000 | $282,775 | $67,248 |
| 2024 | $2,405,214 | $525,283 | $2,399,857 | $2,360,000 | 13 | $2,360,000 | $485,426 | $169,385 |
| 2023 | $4,279,684 | $424,196 | $1,407,427 | $1,355,695 | 12 | $1,355,695 | $372,464 | $247,339 |
| 2022 | $5,261,237 | $873,397 | $1,724,067 | $1,643,334 | 11 | $1,643,334 | $792,664 | $311,423 |
| 2021 | $6,108,865 | $838,408 | $1,152,587 | $1,086,158 | 11 | — | $771,979 | $382,556 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust reported a distributable amount of $67K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the trust is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for the performing arts, general operations, a university business-school building, hospital needs, and scholarships. The grantees describe their own work in varied terms: Butler University says it fosters an intellectual learning environment and prepares learners to lead meaningful lives; Hole in the Wall Gang Fund says it provides camp experiences and year-round support for young people with serious illnesses and their families; and New York Common Pantry says it works to reduce hunger while promoting dignity, health, and self-sufficiency. Newtown Scholarship Association says it awards scholarships to Newtown residents graduating from high school, with continuing aid through college.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the trust reported 10 grants totaling $2,100,000. Grants ranged from $10,000 to $1,250,000, with a median of $57,500. The largest grants included $1,250,000 to Lincoln Center for Performing Arts for performing arts; $350,000 to DREAM for general operations; $200,000 to Butler University to support the Lacy School of Business building; $100,000 to Hole in the Wall Gang Fund for general operations; and $90,000 to New York Common Pantry for general operations. Other 2025 grants included $25,000 each to Connecticut Children’s Foundation, Danbury Hospital Foundation, Icahn School of Medicine, and Westerly Hospital Foundation, and $10,000 to Newtown Scholarship Association.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Jill M. Leblanc and Robert M. Leblanc as trustees.
Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Jill M. Leblanc
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Robert M. Leblanc
Trustee
On filings since 2021
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust
How much does Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust give each year?
Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust gave $2.1M across 10 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $2.4M across 13 grants.
What is Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust's typical grant size?
Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust's median grant in 2025 was $57,500, and its average grant was $210,000, across 10 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust that year got $133K on average.
Where does Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust give grants?
Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust gives mostly in New York: 82% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Indiana (10%) and Connecticut (8%). The most frequent recipient cities were New York, NY (4 grants).
Does Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust give general operating support?
Yes: 60% of Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust's 2025 grants with a stated purpose (6 of 10) were for general or operating support, per its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust's largest grantees?
Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust's largest 2025 grantees include Lincoln Center for Performing Arts ($1,250,000), Dream ($350,000) and Butler University ($200,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 86% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust?
Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust reported $590K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $2.1M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $67K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust fund?
No mission statement for the trust is provided. Its 2025 grants include support for the performing arts, general operations, a university business-school building, hospital needs, and scholarships. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust?
The trust states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust's EIN?
Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 47-2505618. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.
Does Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS December 16, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS November 15, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS November 15, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS November 18, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS October 24, 2025)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Connecticut
Synchrony Foundation
Stamford, CT
In 2024, Synchrony Foundation supported charitable organizations across workforce development, education, financial assistance, and giving, with grants ranging from $150 to $2.6 million and a median of $10,000. Its largest shares of grant funding went to Connecticut, New York, and South Carolina, followed by the District of Columbia and New Jersey; it does not accept unsolicited requests and funds preselected organizations only.
Assets
$72.3M
Grants
394
Total Given
$20.5M
Americares Foundation Inc
Stamford, CT
Americares funds health care organizations and programs focused on disaster preparedness and recovery, access to medicines and medical supplies, and community health services. In 2025, its grants ranged from $5,073 to $3.86 million, with a median of about $58,700; it works in the United States and internationally, reaching an average of 80 countries each year. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$372.5M
Grants
635
Total Given
$113.3M
American Savings Foundation Inc
New Britain, CT
The foundation funds education, human services, and arts and culture, especially programs serving children, youth, and families, with a primary focus on New Britain and Waterbury and grants across 64 Connecticut towns. In 2025, its grants ranged from $238 to $150,000, with a median of $1,750; it also offers Community Grants of up to $5,000.
Assets
$107.0M
Grants
613
Total Given
$3.4M
Hartford Foundation for Public Giving
Hartford, CT
The Greater Hartford Gives Foundation funds nonprofits, agencies, and scholarships, with priorities including equity, social and economic mobility, community wellbeing, civic engagement, and arts and culture. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of about $21,600, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to $2.48 million, and it primarily serves 29 towns in Greater Hartford. It offers annual, priority-aligned grant opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
613
Total Given
$52.0M
Eversource Energy Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
The Eversource Energy Foundation funds U.S. 501(c)(3) nonprofits working on basic needs, education, environmental stewardship, community engagement, and economic or workforce development. It gives in Eversource’s service territory in Connecticut, Massachusetts, and New Hampshire; its 2024 median grant was $2,000, though awards ranged from $250 to $700,000.
Assets
$12.5M
Grants
606
Total Given
$6.2M
The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven
New Haven, CT
The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven supports nonprofits working in civic vitality, arts and culture, health, and education across its 20-town Greater New Haven service area. Its 2024 grants had a median of $15,000, though amounts varied widely; it offers competitive, online application-based programs, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$627.4M
Grants
505
Total Given
$23.4M
More similar funders
More Funders in Connecticut
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 14, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/robert-and-jill-leblanc-charitable-trust-morg_895897eb1d0c40cebfeef100b6c7e4f3
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_472505618_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/robert-and-jill-leblanc-charitable-trust-morg_895897eb1d0c40cebfeef100b6c7e4f3},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-14. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Robert and Jill Leblanc Charitable Trust down — hundreds of funders to go?