Robert and Clara Patterson Trust
The Robert and Clara Patterson Trust is a private foundation based in Dallas, Texas. Its 2026 filing reports grants to Yale University, The Jackson Laboratory, Rutgers University, and the University of Connecticut Health Center; each grant was designated for unrestricted general support.
Robert and Clara Patterson Trust at a glance
In short: Robert and Clara Patterson Trust gave $1.2M across 4 grants in 2026 (avg $300K), mostly in Connecticut. Source: 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2026)
- $1,199,253
- +9.1% vs 2025
- Grants made (2026)
- 4
- +0.0% vs 2025
- Average grant
- $299,813
- +9.1% vs 2025
- Median grant
- $199,992
- Total assets
- $28,486,664
- +8.2% vs 2025
- Primary geography
- Connecticut (67% of itemized 2026 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2026 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2026; updated October 2026.
How to apply to Robert and Clara Patterson Trust
- Contact
Application contact: Details Outlined On Application
Mailing address: 101 E River Dr, East Hartford, CT 06108
Phone: (888) 866-3275
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Robert and Clara Patterson Trust funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 4 recipients in 2026
The largest 2026 recipient was Yale University ($699K). Together the top 4 received $1.2M.
Grant Size Distribution
24 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 11 grants of 24 (46%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2026, 67% of grant dollars went to recipients in Connecticut, 25% to recipients in Maine, and 8% to recipients in New Jersey.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2026 grant dollars across all 4 itemized grants.
Cities
How Robert and Clara Patterson Trust gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2023 to 2026 (+3%). Method
- In 2026 it paid out 97% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2026, annual grant giving ranged from $1.0M (2020) to $1.5M (2024). In 2026 it made 4 grants totaling $1.2M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Yale University New Haven, CT | Unrestricted General | $699,273 |
| The Jackson Laboratory Bar Harbor, ME | Unrestricted General | $299,984 |
| Rutgers University New Brunswick, NJ | Unrestricted General | $100,000 |
| University of Connecticut Health Center Storrs, CT | Unrestricted General | $99,996 |
Ready to take the next step with Robert and Clara Patterson Trust?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | $28,486,664 | $3,348,552 | $1,662,598 | $1,199,253 | 4 | $1,412,151 | $3,109,878 | $1,449,243 |
| 2025 | $26,316,918 | $3,743,456 | $1,494,223 | $1,099,552 | 4 | $1,311,938 | $3,601,460 | $1,565,971 |
| 2024 | $23,737,932 | $422,782 | $1,828,113 | $1,526,655 | 6 | $1,712,772 | $431,532 | $1,412,291 |
| 2023 | $24,958,323 | $-1,079,005 | $1,399,323 | $1,163,518 | 6 | $1,306,928 | $371,297 | $1,372,233 |
| 2022 | $27,355,687 | $6,794,698 | $1,537,214 | $1,034,803 | 4 | $1,243,393 | $6,603,895 | $1,361,165 |
| 2021 | $22,542,052 | $1,565,902 | $1,327,050 | $1,045,000 | 4 | — | $1,483,595 | $1,273,996 |
| 2020 | $21,591,161 | $1,353,372 | $1,290,473 | $1,025,000 | 3 | — | $1,207,844 | $1,270,884 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Robert and Clara Patterson Trust reported a distributable amount of $1.4M for 2026 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.
Grantmaking
In filing year 2026, the trust awarded 4 grants totaling $1,199,253. Grants ranged from $99,996 to $699,273, with a median grant of $199,992. The largest awards were $699,273 to Yale University, $299,984 to The Jackson Laboratory, $100,000 to Rutgers University, and $99,996 to the University of Connecticut Health Center.
The trust’s 2025 filing states that it does not restrict giving to preselected organizations. How to apply: Contact and deadline details, application materials, and award restrictions are outlined on the application. The filing says the application is available through the Health in Action Resources (HRiA) – The Medical Foundation (TMF) website.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2026 filing lists Bank of America as trustee.
Robert and Clara Patterson Trust's only listed officer is Bank Of America, Trustee on every filing since 2020 (compensated).
Officers on the 2026 filing
Bank Of America
Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
$87K (2020) → $131K (2026)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2026. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2026 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2026 filing was $131K, to Bank of America (Trustee).
Frequently asked questions about Robert and Clara Patterson Trust
How much does Robert and Clara Patterson Trust give each year?
Robert and Clara Patterson Trust gave $1.2M across 4 grants in 2026, according to its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2025 it gave $1.1M across 4 grants.
What is Robert and Clara Patterson Trust's typical grant size?
Robert and Clara Patterson Trust's median grant in 2026 was $199,992, and its average grant was $299,813, across 4 grants on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Robert and Clara Patterson Trust give grants?
Robert and Clara Patterson Trust gives mostly in Connecticut: 67% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Maine (25%) and New Jersey (8%).
Does Robert and Clara Patterson Trust give general operating support?
Yes: 100% of Robert and Clara Patterson Trust's 2026 grants with a stated purpose (4 of 4) were for general or operating support, per its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF.
How large is Robert and Clara Patterson Trust?
Robert and Clara Patterson Trust reported $28.5M in total assets on its 2026 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $1.4M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $1.4M (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
How do I apply for a grant from Robert and Clara Patterson Trust?
Robert and Clara Patterson Trust has no public application process in the sources Grantable reviewed. Contact the foundation directly before submitting a request.
What is Robert and Clara Patterson Trust's EIN?
Robert and Clara Patterson Trust's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 06-6236358. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2026.
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Data update history
(2)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2026 (received by the IRS May 28, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025
Other open foundation grants in Texas
Texas Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Robert and Clara Patterson Trust's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Alzheimer's Disease & Related Disorders Association Inc
Chicago, IL
The Alzheimer’s Association funds Alzheimer’s and dementia research, including basic, clinical, social and behavioral studies, and supports care, prevention, early detection, awareness, and advocacy. In 2025, its 79 grants ranged from $10,000 to $13.3 million, with a median of $270,750; research opportunities are open to U.S. and international researchers.
Assets
$523.7M
Grants
79
Total Given
$73.3M
Trustees of Boston University
Boston, MA
The Trustees of Boston University funds university research and related academic, health, and campus programs, including work in neuroscience, clean energy, sustainability, health care delivery, and global health. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,092 to $5.34 million, with a median of $125,223; funding was concentrated in Massachusetts and California. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$9.3B
Grants
268
Total Given
$109.8M
Emory University
Atlanta, GA
Emory University primarily funds research and subcontract work for universities, hospitals, research organizations, and other organizations, across a range of academic and health-related fields. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,500 to $19.1 million, with a median of about $97,000; 41% of grant dollars went to Georgia recipients. The profile does not state whether Emory accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$24.9B
Grants
362
Total Given
$183.7M
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA
USC’s reported grants primarily support research subawards, alongside some contributions, in areas connected to its work in education, research, health care, and public service. In 2025 it reported 337 grants, with a median of about $172,000; California received the largest share of grant dollars, though no geographic restriction is stated. The profile does not say whether USC accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$17.0B
Grants
337
Total Given
$249.4M
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
The Trustees of Columbia University in the City of New York
New York, NY
Columbia funds research, education and research, and capital projects, primarily through grants to universities and medical and research institutions across the United States, with the largest share going to New York recipients. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $109,000, though awards ranged from $5,350 to $15.1 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$26.0B
Grants
417
Total Given
$208.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in Texas
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Robert and Clara Patterson Trust's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Robert and Clara Patterson Trust down — hundreds of funders to go?