Pro Choice Oregon logo

Pro Choice Oregon

501(c)(4) organization Portland, OR EIN: 93-0700353 Website
Women and girlsHealthReproductive health careAbortionInternational human rights

Pro-choice Oregon works to defend and expand access to essential health care services and education to ensure reproductive freedom is available and accessible to all people in Oregon.

Pro Choice Oregon at a glance

In short: Pro Choice Oregon gave $27K across 1 grant in 2023 (avg $27K), mostly in Oregon. Source: 2023 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2023)
$27,046
+440.9% vs 2022
Grants made (2023)
1
Average grant
$27,046
Median grant
$27,046
Primary geography
Oregon (100% of itemized 2023 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2023 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2023; updated September 2026.

Who Pro Choice Oregon funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2023

Planned Parenthood Advocates of OR: $27KPlanned Parenthood Advocatesof OR$27K

The largest 2023 recipient was Planned Parenthood Advocates of OR ($27K).

Grant Size Distribution

1 grant across all recorded years

1<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 1 grant of 1 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of the 2023 grant dollars on its one itemized grant.

States

Cities

Portland

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K0 grants2020 0 grants2021 Total only2022 1 grant2023

From 2022 to 2023, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2022) to $27K (2023). In 2023 it made 1 grant totaling $27K.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Planned Parenthood Advocates of OR Portland, ORAdvocacy$27,046
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Pro Choice Oregon?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2023—$46,443$61,980$27,0461$-1,321
2022$139,823$199,169$97,053$5,000Total only—
2021$35,580$127,063$139,041———
2020$31,373$182,503$110,227——$1

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About Pro Choice Oregon

Based on IRS filings

Pro Choice Oregon is a public charity focused on Women and girls, based in Portland, OR. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2023. In 2023, it awarded 1 grant totaling $27K.

Focus Areas

Women and girlsHealthReproductive health careAbortionInternational human rights

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Pro Choice Oregon is led by Anna Howe, President on the 2023 filing; 2 of 15 officers listed in 2023 are compensated.

Officers on the 2023 filing

  • Anna Howe

    President

    New on the 2023 filing

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Andra Stoll Carrick

    Board Member

    Interim Executive → Board Member, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    $6K (2020) → $0 (2023)

  • Christel Allen

    Executive Di

    On filings since 2021

    8 hrs/week

    $77K (2021) → $96K (2023)

  • Kris A. Balliet

    Interim Executive

    New on the 2023 filing

    8 hrs/week

    $27K (2023)

  • Jennifer Williamson

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jessica Vega Pederson

    Board Member

    Vice President → Board Member, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Perla Alvarez Lucio

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Samantha Gladu

    Board Member

    Treasurer → Board Member, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shauna Ballo

    Board Member

    Board Member → President, 2021

    President → Board Member, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Tera Hurst

    Board Member

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Andrea Bibee

    Secretary

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Rachel Wiggins Emory

    Board Member

    Vice President → Board Member, 2022

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Amanda Green

    Treasurer

    New on the 2023 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Erica Fuller

    Board Member

    New on the 2023 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mike Ingram

    Board Member

    New on the 2023 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (8)
  • Former: Anna Bird (2021–2022) — Board Member
  • Former: Olivia Stone (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Veronica Leonard (2020–2021) — Board Member
  • Former: Ariane Le Chevallier (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Connie Seeley (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Grayson Dempsey (2020) — Executive Di
  • Former: Jenn Baker (2020) — Board Member
  • Former: Julia Goodman (2020) — Board Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2023. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2023 IRS filing

Christel Allen — Executive Di: $96KChristel AllenExecutive Di$96KKris a Balliet — Interim EXE: $27KKris a BallietInterim EXE$27K

The highest reported compensation on the 2023 filing was $96K, to Christel Allen (Executive Di). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Pro Choice Oregon

How much does Pro Choice Oregon give each year?

Pro Choice Oregon gave $27K across 1 grant in 2023, according to its 2023 IRS Form 990. In 2022 it reported $5K in grants paid.

What is Pro Choice Oregon?

Pro Choice Oregon is a public charity focused on Women and girls, based in Portland, OR.

Where does Pro Choice Oregon operate?

Pro Choice Oregon has awarded grants in Oregon.

What is Pro Choice Oregon's EIN?

Pro Choice Oregon's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 93-0700353. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2023.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(3)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 12, 2023)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 27, 2024)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2023

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Pro Choice Oregon's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Oregon

The Oregon Community Foundation

Portland, OR

The Oregon Community Foundation funds Oregon nonprofits and community-serving projects across education, health, arts and culture, housing, economic and community vitality, and the environment. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from about $5,000 to nearly $8 million; applications are accepted through specific grant programs and cycles, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

2,149

Total Given

$171.4M

Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation

Wilsonville, OR

The Marie Lamfrom Charitable Foundation supports Oregon nonprofits working in education, community, arts and creativity, health, and well-being, often through unrestricted operating grants. Its 2024 grants had a median of $18,000, though awards ranged widely; it also has a Washington Fund for organizations serving Washington and/or Oregon. Its primary grant programs open in January and June; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Human Services

Assets

$374.9M

Grants

663

Total Given

$20.5M

The Roundhouse Foundation

Sisters, OR

The Roundhouse Foundation supports innovative arts and culture, environmental stewardship, social services, and education projects that benefit rural Oregon and Tribal communities. Its typical grant is around $10,000 overall; Open Call awards are usually about $2,501–$30,000, and Small Grants range from $500–$2,500.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$344.5M

Grants

621

Total Given

$15.6M

OCF Joseph E Weston Public Foundation

Portland, OR

The foundation supports nonprofits serving children, working-poor people, people with disabilities, seniors, and people experiencing homelessness, and also awards school scholarships. It primarily funds Oregon, with grants and scholarships also serving Southwest Washington; in 2024, grants ranged from $5,500 to $3,487,608, with a median of $21,500. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$637.5M

Grants

531

Total Given

$23.3M

Meyer Memorial Trust

Portland, OR

Meyer Memorial Trust funds community-led work advancing racial, social, and economic justice, including efforts in education, climate, community economies, and support for Black, Native, immigrant, and refugee communities. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, and 93% of grant dollars went to Oregon recipients. It offers open and invited opportunities, but says it will not open a general application call in 2026; check its website for current opportunities.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$901.2M

Grants

388

Total Given

$45.2M

Micro Enterprise Services of Oregon

Portland, OR

MESO supports under-resourced entrepreneurs through business development, education, and access to capital, including support for childcare businesses and providers. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $2.55 million, with a median of $72,560; reported grants went to Oregon recipients, while its services also reach the Portland metro area, Beaverton, and southwest Washington. The profile does not state whether MESO accepts unsolicited requests.

Employment

Assets

$17.4M

Grants

38

Total Given

$12.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in Oregon

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Pro Choice Oregon's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Pro Choice Oregon down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?