Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation
The Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation is a private foundation based in Lakewood, Washington. Its 2024 filing reports grants to charitable organizations, all of which were in Washington state.
Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation at a glance
In short: Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation gave $2.8M across 31 grants in 2024 (avg $90K), mostly in Washington. 10% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2024)
- $2,779,034
- -1.6% vs 2023
- Grants made (2024)
- 31
- -16.2% vs 2023
- Average grant
- $89,646
- +17.5% vs 2023
- Median grant
- $50,000
- Total assets
- $108,724,760
- -1.2% vs 2023
- New grantees (estimate)
- 10% first-time grantees (3 of 31, 2024)
- Primary geography
- Washington (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).
How to apply to Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to Apply
-
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. It has no formal application document; requests may be made directly to the foundation. Eligible organizations must be charitable, religious, scientific, literary, or educational within the meaning of Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, for the betterment of all mankind.
- Contact
Application contact: Oscar T And Olivann Hokold Foundati
Mailing address: 2514 92Nd St S, Lakewood, WA 98499
Phone: (253) 240-4771
Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Who Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Mary Bridge Children's Foundation ($1.0M). Together the top 10 received $2.2M.
Grant Size Distribution
135 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 66 grants of 135 (49%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
All grant dollars reported for 2024 went to recipients in Washington state. Listed recipients were based in communities including Tacoma, Bremerton, Lakewood, Seattle, and Bonney Lake.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 31 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Is Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation open to new grantees?
10%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 3 of 31 grantees (10%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $22K; repeat grants $97K. How we count
Medians: $10K first-time, $50K repeat.
- 90% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving grew 40% from 2021 to 2024. Method
- In 2024 it paid out 99% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $2.0M (2021) to $2.8M (2023). In 2024 it made 31 grants totaling $2.8M.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Mary Bridge Children's Foundation Tacoma, WA | General Operations | $1,000,000 |
| The Coffee Oasis Bremerton, WA | General Operations | $250,000 |
| Boys and Girls Clubs Tacoma, WA | General Operations | $200,000 |
| Emergency Food Network Lakewood, WA | General Operations | $150,000 |
| Tacoma Community House Tacoma, WA | General Operations | $150,000 |
| South Sound Care Foundation Tacoma, WA | General Operations | $100,934 |
| Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Seattle, WA | General Operations | $100,000 |
| Hope Sparks Tacoma, WA | General Operations | $100,000 |
| United Way Tacoma, WA | General Operations | $100,000 |
| Rescue Mission Tacoma, WA | General Operations | $75,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $108,724,760 | $20,137,628 | $20,827,704 | $2,779,034 | 31 | $3,345,435 | $2,655,359 | $3,381,307 |
| 2023 | $109,993,883 | $19,697,444 | $19,887,071 | $2,823,895 | 37 | $3,520,530 | $3,330,903 | $3,474,342 |
| 2022 | $110,774,593 | $18,099,772 | $18,314,386 | $2,701,790 | 22 | $3,194,025 | $2,979,411 | $3,316,420 |
| 2021 | $111,933,036 | $18,970,052 | $17,120,229 | $1,984,140 | 21 | $2,448,448 | $4,131,931 | $3,169,296 |
| 2020 | $111,601,599 | $15,898,165 | $17,327,906 | $2,734,000 | 24 | — | $1,764,777 | $3,367,223 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation reported a distributable amount of $3.4M for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated October 2026.
Mission & Focus Areas
The foundation’s filing does not state a mission. Its 2024 grantees include organizations working in children’s health, youth services, cancer care and research, food access, education, and services for immigrants and refugees. These are descriptions of grantees’ work, not stated focus areas of the foundation.
Mary Bridge Children’s Foundation describes its mission as “partnering for healing and a healthy future through philanthropy.” The Coffee Oasis says it works to support homeless youth through a continuum of services and sustainable coffee businesses. Tacoma Community House says it creates opportunities for immigrants, refugees, and other Puget Sound community members through services focused on self-sufficiency, inclusion, and advocacy. GoodRoots Northwest describes its work as providing equitable access to nutritious food for people facing food insecurity.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 31 grants totaling $2,779,034. Grant amounts ranged from $600 to $1,000,000, with a median of $50,000. Listed recipients included Mary Bridge Children’s Foundation ($1,000,000), The Coffee Oasis ($250,000), Boys and Girls Clubs ($200,000), Emergency Food Network ($150,000), Tacoma Community House ($150,000), South Sound Care Foundation ($100,934), Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center ($100,000), Hope Sparks ($100,000), United Way ($100,000), Rescue Mission ($75,000), GoodRoots Northwest ($65,000), and Foundation for Tacoma Students ($50,000). The filing lists these grants as for general operations.
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists Jean M. Patterson as president of the foundation and CEO of Hokold, and Millie Schulz as secretary/treasurer of the foundation and COO of Hokold.
Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation is led by Jean M. Patterson, President-Fndn & Ceo-Hokold on every filing since 2020; all 2 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Jean M. Patterson
President-Fndn & Ceo-Hokold
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$249K (2020) → $251K (2024)
Millie Schulz
Secretary, Treas-Fndn & Coo-Hokold
On filings since 2020
40 hrs/week
$369K (2020) → $437K (2024)
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $437K, to Millie Schulz (Secr/Treas-Fndn, COO-Hokold). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.
Frequently asked questions about Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation
How much does Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation give each year?
Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation gave $2.8M across 31 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $2.8M across 37 grants.
What is Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation's typical grant size?
Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $50,000, and its average grant was $89,646, across 31 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation that year got $22K on average.
Where does Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation give grants?
Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation gives mostly in Washington: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Tacoma, WA (25 grants).
Does Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 90% of Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (28 of 31) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation's largest grantees?
Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Mary Bridge Children's Foundation ($1,000,000), The Coffee Oasis ($250,000) and Boys and Girls Clubs ($200,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 52% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation?
Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation reported $108.7M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $3.3M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $3.4M (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What does Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation fund?
The foundation’s filing does not state a mission. Its 2024 grantees include organizations working in children’s health, youth services, cancer care and research, food access, education, and services for immigrants and refugees. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation's EIN?
Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-4298535. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Does Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated October 2026.
Data update history
(1)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
Woodworth Family Foundation
Tacoma, WA
The Woodworth Family Foundation supports Tacoma and Pierce County nonprofits working in education, youth services, health care, and human services. Grants typically range from $2,500 to $25,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online letter of inquiry; full proposals are by invitation only.
Assets
$26.7M
Grants
58
Total Given
$1.6M
Tacoma Rotary 8 Foundation
Tacoma, WA
The foundation funds grants and scholarships for charitable organizations serving people in need, including food, health care, housing, and employment-related services. Its 2025 grants were typically $8,000 and went to organizations in Washington; its mission also mentions charitable work in global communities. It requires formal applications, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.7M
Grants
11
Total Given
$88K
Fuchsg & M Fdn Tai
Eagan, MN
FUCHSG & M FDN TAI supports food assistance, education, and community services, with most of its 2025 grant dollars going to Washington organizations and additional funding in several other states. Its grants ranged from $1,000 to $139,200, with a median of $5,000; it accepts applications through its application form, and no deadline is listed.
Assets
$25.4M
Grants
139
Total Given
$1.6M
Kilworth Florence Char Tr Fndn
Eagan, MN
The foundation supports organizations serving children and families, including foster care, food assistance, literacy, youth services, health, and family support, with most funding going to Washington. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,000 to $10,000, with a median of $3,000. It funds preselected organizations only and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$6.5M
Grants
103
Total Given
$354K
Greater Tacoma Community Foundation
Tacoma, WA
Greater Tacoma Community Foundation supports youth, basic needs, housing, education, community development, the arts, and the environment, primarily in Pierce County, Washington. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of $23,839, though awards vary widely; Spark Grants are capped at $1,500. It offers open applications for some opportunities over $100,000 and a Spark Grant application process, but does not state whether other funding accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$185.7M
Grants
189
Total Given
$18.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in Washington
Cite this profile
Grantable. (2026). Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 5, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/oscar-t-and-olivann-hokold-foundation-morg_139590a169df46df88fe64a89cdbbb9c
BibTeX
@misc{grantable_204298535_2026,
author = {{Grantable}},
title = {{Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation funder profile}},
howpublished = {GrantGraph},
year = {2026},
url = {https://grantable.co/funders/oscar-t-and-olivann-hokold-foundation-morg_139590a169df46df88fe64a89cdbbb9c},
note = {Accessed 2026-10-05. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
} The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.
Figures come from Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Oscar T and Olivann Hokold Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?