Nikkel Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Tulsa, OK EIN: 20-2033062

The Nikkel Family Foundation is a private foundation based in Tulsa, Oklahoma. In its 2024 filing, it reported grants to charitable organizations in several states, with the largest shares of grant dollars going to organizations in Oklahoma, Kansas, and Missouri.

Nikkel Family Foundation at a glance

In short: Nikkel Family Foundation gave $270K across 14 grants in 2024 (avg $19K), mostly in Oklahoma. 45% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$270,157
-9.8% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
14
+7.7% vs 2023
Average grant
$19,297
-16.2% vs 2023
Median grant
$20,000
Total assets
$9,123,147
+53.4% vs 2023
New grantees (estimate)
45% first-time grantees (5 of 11, 2024; small sample)
Primary geography
Oklahoma (50% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated October 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology).

How to apply to Nikkel Family Foundation

Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to Apply

The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations.

Contact

Mailing address: 6800 S Granite Avenue 306, Tulsa, OK 74136
Phone: (918) 630-2600

Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Who Nikkel Family Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Metro Christian Academy: $40KMetro Christian Academy$40KKansas City Christian School: $40KKansas City Christian School$40KCrossover Prep Academy: $40KCrossover Prep Academy$40KCristo Rey Kansas City: $40KCristo Rey Kansas City$40KElam Ministries: $30KElam Ministries$30KChrist for Humanity Inc: $30KChrist for Humanity Inc$30KLittle Light House: $20KLittle Light House$20KTabor College: $5KTabor College$5KShe Brews Coffee & Transition Program: $5KShe Brews Coffee & TransitionProgram$5KAlliance Resources Partners LP - PTP: $116Alliance Resources Partners LP- PTP$116

The largest 2024 recipient was Metro Christian Academy ($40K). Together the top 10 received $250K.

Organizations only. It also paid 1 grant to individuals ($20,000), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

62 grants across all recorded years

59<$50K3$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 59 grants of 62 (95%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The foundation’s 2024 grant dollars went to recipients in Oklahoma (50%), Kansas (17%), Missouri (15%), Georgia (11%), and North Carolina (7%).

Grant Distribution by State

10states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 14 itemized grants.

Cities

TulsaKansas CityAlpharettaHillsboroPraire VillageDeerfieldTrussvilleWashingtonBooneColorado SpringsDallasEdmondHoustonSand SpringsThe WoodlandsWheaton

Is Nikkel Family Foundation open to new grantees?

45%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 5 of 11 grantees (45%) were first-time recipients. With only 11 grantees, that is a small sample: one grantee more or less moves the share by about 9 points. First grants averaged $1K; repeat grants $33K. How we count

Medians: $33 first-time, $35K repeat.

  • 36% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+15%). Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 69% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K13 grants2020 10 grants2021 12 grants2022 13 grants2023 14 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $235K (2021) to $300K (2023). In 2024 it made 14 grants totaling $270K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Metro Christian Academy Tulsa, OKGeneral Fund.$40,000
Kansas City Christian School Praire Village, KSGeneral Fund.$40,000
Crossover Prep Academy Tulsa, OKGeneral Fund.$40,000
Cristo Rey Kansas City Kansas City, MOGeneral Fund.$40,000
Elam Ministries Alpharetta, GAGeneral Fund.$30,000
Christ for Humanity Inc Tulsa, OKGeneral Fund$30,000
1 grant to individuals Recipients not named —$20,000
Little Light House Tulsa, OKGeneral Fund$20,000
Tabor College Hillsboro, KSGeneral Fund.$5,000
She Brews Coffee & Transition Program Tulsa, OKGeneral Fund$5,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Nikkel Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024$9,123,147$2,574,994$308,225$270,15714$270,157$2,585,477$391,419
2023$5,946,191$604,061$319,780$299,50013$299,500$536,813$283,328
2022$5,661,910$175,920$293,912$280,00012$280,000$300,955$282,522
2021$5,779,902$967,035$261,017$235,00010$235,000$897,755$291,001
2020$5,073,884$962,825$279,833$270,01213—$950,471$238,086

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Nikkel Family Foundation reported a distributable amount of $391K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation’s own mission is not stated in the available information. Its 2024 grants included general-fund support for schools, ministries, humanitarian organizations, and services for children with special needs.

Among its grantees, Kansas City Christian School says its mission is to provide an excellent Christ-centered education. Elam Ministries says it works to strengthen and expand the Persian-speaking church through leader training, resources, and evangelism. Christ for Humanity describes itself as a Christian humanitarian relief organization that enables churches to serve people in need. Little Light House says it provides tuition-free Christian education and therapeutic services for children with special needs and their families. Tabor College says it prepares people for learning, work, and service for Christ and his kingdom.

Grantmaking

In 2024, the foundation reported 14 grants totaling $270,157. Grant amounts ranged from $2 to $40,000, with a median of $20,000. Its largest listed grants included $40,000 each to Metro Christian Academy, Kansas City Christian School, Crossover Prep Academy, and Cristo Rey Kansas City. Other notable grants were $30,000 each to Elam Ministries and Christ for Humanity; $20,000 each to an individual recipient and Little Light House; and $5,000 each to Tabor College and She Brews Coffee & Transition Program.

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists John G Nikkel, Carole A Nikkel, Robert E Nikkel, and Melody A McSparran as trustees.

Nikkel Family Foundation's 2024 filing lists 4 officers; none of the 4 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Carole A. Nikkel

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • John G. Nikkel

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Melody A. McSparran

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

  • Robert E. Nikkel

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Nikkel Family Foundation

How much does Nikkel Family Foundation give each year?

Nikkel Family Foundation gave $270K across 14 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $300K across 13 grants.

What is Nikkel Family Foundation's typical grant size?

Nikkel Family Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $20,000, and its average grant was $19,297, across 14 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Nikkel Family Foundation that year got $1K on average.

Where does Nikkel Family Foundation give grants?

Nikkel Family Foundation gives mostly in Oklahoma: 50% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Kansas (17%) and Missouri (15%). The most frequent recipient cities were Tulsa, OK (6 grants).

Does Nikkel Family Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of Nikkel Family Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (14 of 14) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Nikkel Family Foundation's largest grantees?

Nikkel Family Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Metro Christian Academy ($40,000), Kansas City Christian School ($40,000) and Crossover Prep Academy ($40,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 1 grant to individuals ($20,000), which are not listed by name. Together they received 44% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Nikkel Family Foundation?

Nikkel Family Foundation reported $9.1M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $270K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $391K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What does Nikkel Family Foundation fund?

The foundation’s own mission is not stated in the available information. Its 2024 grants included general-fund support for schools, ministries, humanitarian organizations, and services for children with special needs. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Nikkel Family Foundation?

The foundation does not accept unsolicited requests for funds and states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Nikkel Family Foundation's EIN?

Nikkel Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-2033062. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Does Nikkel Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Nikkel Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Oklahoma

Christian Community Foundation Inc

Colorado Springs, CO

WaterStone supports domestic and international nonprofits, including Christian ministries and charitable and educational organizations, through donor-directed grants; eligible organizations must be IRS-recognized 501(c)(3)s whose mission aligns with its Statement of Faith. Its 2025 grants had a median of $20,000, with awards ranging from $5,028 to $11 million, and were concentrated in Texas and Colorado. Grant recommendations come from donor-advised fund holders; the profile does not state that it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$746.4M

Grants

1,651

Total Given

$161.8M

Lilly Endowment Inc

Indianapolis, IN

Lilly Endowment funds community development, education and youth, and religion, with priority given to Indianapolis and Indiana and some national support, especially for religion. Its 2025 grants had a median of $100,000, though awards varied widely; for community development requests, it suggests starting with a brief preliminary letter.

Assets

$105.9B

Grants

2,285

Total Given

$3.9B

Communitygiving

St Cloud, MN

COMMUNITYGIVING supports nonprofits, scholarships, and community initiatives through donor-established funds and some competitive grants, serving communities in Minnesota and Derby, Kansas. In 2025, its grants ranged from $5,100 to $680,477, with a median of $15,528; listed competitive opportunities generally offer $5,000–$30,000. It accepts applications for competitive opportunities through its online grant system; availability and eligibility depend on each opportunity.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$282.6M

Grants

426

Total Given

$16.7M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Communities Foundation of Texas Inc

Dallas, TX

Communities Foundation of Texas funds a broad range of community needs, including health, education, housing, and community development, primarily in North Texas and across Texas. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $18,800, though amounts varied widely; nearly all opportunities are by invitation, with some specific programs open for applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

2,209

Total Given

$209.2M

Folds of Honor Foundation

Owasso, OK

Folds of Honor funds education scholarships for spouses and children of U.S. military service members and first responders killed or disabled in service, with awards available for K–12 and higher education in the United States and its territories. Awards are up to $5,000 per academic year, based on unmet need, and are paid directly to the school. It accepts scholarship applications through an online portal during its annual application window; it does not make grants to outside applicants.

Education

Assets

$122.3M

Grants

1,551

Total Given

$37.6M

More similar funders

More Funders in Oklahoma

Cite this profile

Grantable. (2026). Nikkel Family Foundation funder profile. GrantGraph. Retrieved October 21, 2026, from https://grantable.co/funders/nikkel-family-foundation-morg_69e8af31da0e415693507fb9b3ed0bbb

BibTeX
@misc{grantable_202033062_2026,
  author       = {{Grantable}},
  title        = {{Nikkel Family Foundation funder profile}},
  howpublished = {GrantGraph},
  year         = {2026},
  url          = {https://grantable.co/funders/nikkel-family-foundation-morg_69e8af31da0e415693507fb9b3ed0bbb},
  note         = {Accessed 2026-10-21. Data licensed CC BY 4.0}
}

The figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0: reuse them with credit to Grantable and a link. Download the data.

Figures come from Nikkel Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Nikkel Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?