Mary and Martha House Inc logo

Mary and Martha House Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Ruskin, FL EIN: 59-2788323 Website

To provide emergency shelter, transitional housing and support services to homeless and/or abused women and their children so they will gain employment and transition.

Mary and Martha House Inc at a glance

In short: Mary and Martha House Inc gave $78K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $26K), mostly in Florida. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990.

Annual giving (2025)
$78,375
-10.8% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
3
-25.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$26,125
+19.0% vs 2024
Median grant
$25,864
Total assets
$3,456,081
-5.3% vs 2024
Primary geography
Florida (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Mary and Martha House Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 3 recipients in 2025

Hope for Her Florida Inc: $27KHope for Her Florida Inc$27KEcho of Brandon Inc: $26KEcho of Brandon Inc$26KRuskin Senior Center: $26KRuskin Senior Center$26K

The largest 2025 recipient was Hope for Her Florida Inc ($27K). Together the top 3 received $78K.

Grant Size Distribution

12 grants across all recorded years

12<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 12 grants of 12 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.

States

Cities

BrandonApollo BeachRuskinTampa

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100KTotal only2020 Total only2021 0 grants2022 5 grants2023 4 grants2024 3 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $31K (2020) to $95K (2023). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $78K.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Hope for Her Florida Inc Brandon, FLDonation$26,648
Echo of Brandon Inc Brandon, FLDonation$25,864
Ruskin Senior Center Ruskin, FL—$25,863
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Mary and Martha House Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$3,456,081$1,049,303$1,201,475$78,3753$17,142
2024$3,648,371$1,124,390$1,150,703$87,8384$27,136
2023$3,705,095$1,368,375$1,206,142$95,2955$20,352
2022$3,552,932$1,318,780$961,908——$185,417
2021$3,208,614$845,384$872,768$60,240Total only$3
2020$3,267,498$1,453,080$748,681$31,029Total only$251,683

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About Mary and Martha House Inc

Based on IRS filings

Mary and Martha House Inc is a public charity, based in Ruskin, FL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $3.5M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 3 grants totaling $78K. Net investment income was $17K.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Mary and Martha House Inc is led by Bill J. Byler, President on every filing since 2021; 1 of 11 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Bill J. Byler

    President

    On filings since 2021

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michelle Fleming

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeanine Dowling

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jennifer Wells China

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Melissa Hartmann

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sandra Murman

    Director

    On filings since 2022

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terri Howard

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michelle Shryock

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bill Chini

    Executive Di

    Vice Chair → Executive Di, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $17K (2021) → $86K (2025)

  • Paul Sponseller

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Terri Lancaster

    Vice President

    Director → Vice President, 2021

    On filings since 2020

    4 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (12)
  • Former: John Boa (2020–2024) — Director
  • Former: Bonnie Peacock (2022–2024) — Secretary
  • Former: Keylodha Irons (2023–2024) — Director
  • Former: Robert A. McGlynn Jr. (2023–2024) — Director
  • Former: Chris Herring (2022) — Director
  • Former: W. Thomas Grimm (2020–2021) — Director
  • Former: Elizabeth Pitcher (2021) — Secretary
  • Former: Melissa Mull (2021) — Director
  • Former: Jody Byler (2020) — Chairperson
  • Former: Laurie Herring (2020) — Executive Director
  • Former: Rick Massiah (2020) — Secretary
  • Former: Robert Newhart (2020) — Emeritus

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Bill Chini — Executive Di: $86KBill ChiniExecutive Di$86K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $86K, to Bill Chini (Executive Di).

Frequently asked questions about Mary and Martha House Inc

How much does Mary and Martha House Inc give each year?

Mary and Martha House Inc gave $78K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990. In 2024 it gave $88K across 4 grants.

What is Mary and Martha House Inc's typical grant size?

Mary and Martha House Inc's median grant in 2025 was $25,864, and its average grant was $26,125, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990.

Where does Mary and Martha House Inc give grants?

Mary and Martha House Inc gives mostly in Florida: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Brandon, FL (2 grants).

Does Mary and Martha House Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 2 grants with a stated purpose on Mary and Martha House Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support.

How large is Mary and Martha House Inc?

Mary and Martha House Inc reported $3.5M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $1.0M.

What is Mary and Martha House Inc's EIN?

Mary and Martha House Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 59-2788323. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(6)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 27, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 7, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS June 18, 2024)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS June 11, 2025)
  5. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 5, 2026)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Mary and Martha House Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Foundation for Christian Ministries

Tampa, FL

Assets

—

Grants

2

Total Given

$280K

Fiume Family Foundation Inc

Tampa, FL

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$10K

Grants

3

Total Given

$13K

Vinik Family Foundation

Tampa, FL

The Vinik Family Foundation supports arts and culture, education, health, human services, and startup development, with most of its giving going to Florida and additional grants in Massachusetts and other states. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000 and ranged from $258 to $2.12 million. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$183.3M

Grants

103

Total Given

$12.2M

The Grand Chapter of Florida Order of the Eastern Star Charitable FD Inc

Lynn Haven, FL

The Grand Chapter of Florida Order of supports scholarships and youth programs, hospitals, medical research, and other charitable, educational, and benevolent causes. In 2025, it made 11 grants totaling $480,012, ranging from $8,275 to $134,276, with a median of $30,000; recipient locations are not specified. The profile does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$11.0M

Grants

11

Total Given

$480K

Lazydays Employee Foundation Inc

Seffner, FL

In its final 2025 filing, the foundation reported funding for at-risk and homeless children and youth, including shelter, education, counseling, and related support. Its 11 grants ranged from $6,500 to $430,597, with a median of $29,500; nearly all funding went to Florida, with small amounts in Tennessee and Colorado. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and the final return indicates it has wound down or stopped grantmaking.

Assets

—

Grants

11

Total Given

$798K

Ivon E and Jane W Culver Char Trust

Chicago, IL

The foundation supports general operating costs for organizations working in areas including education, housing, cancer support, conservation, and services for children with autism. Its 2024 grants ranged from $7,723 to $84,954, with a median of $25,000; most funding went to Florida, followed by Pennsylvania and Maryland. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

$14.6M

Grants

15

Total Given

$575K

More similar funders

More Funders in Florida

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Mary and Martha House Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Mary and Martha House Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?