Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800

Private foundation · Grantmaker Boston, MA EIN: 04-2607227

Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 is a private foundation, based in Boston, MA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $706K in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 5 grants totaling $40K. Net investment income was $67K.

Key facts about Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800

In short: Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 gave $40K across 5 grants in 2024 (avg $8K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
04-2607227
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$40,100
Grants made (2024)
5
Average grant
$8,020
Median grant
$9,500
Total assets
$705,794
Primary geography
Massachusetts (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$706K

+2.5% YoY

Annual Giving

$40K

-20.3% YoY

Grant Count

5

-28.6% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$8K

+11.6% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 reported a distributable amount of $64K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+8%). Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 75% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

BostonBrooklineSomervilleHinghamW NewtonNew YorkRoxbury

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K14 grants2020 7 grants2021 9 grants2022 7 grants2023 5 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $37K (2021) to $56K (2022). In 2024 it made 5 grants totaling $40K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2024

Boys and Girls Club of Boston: $15KBoys and Girls Club of Boston$15KJudge Ireland Childrens Fund Inc: $10KJudge Ireland Childrens FundInc$10KThe Salvation Army: $10KThe Salvation Army$10KCitizens Programs Corporation: $3KCitizens Programs Corporation$3KCradles to Crayonsboston: $3KCradles to Crayonsboston$3K

The largest 2024 recipient was Boys and Girls Club of Boston ($15K). Together the top 5 received $40K.

Grant Size Distribution

42 grants across all recorded years

42<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 42 grants of 42 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Boys and Girls Club of Boston Boston, MAIn support of yawkey club of roxbury and edgerley family south boston club$15,000
Judge Ireland Childrens Fund Inc Boston, MAGeneral$10,000
The Salvation Army Boston, MAIn support of holiday gifts for the residents of the gentle arms program$9,500
Citizens Programs Corporation Boston, MASupport of Fuel Assistance for Those in Need$3,000
Cradles to Crayonsboston Brookline, MAGeneral$2,600

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$50K$100K$150K$200K2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$705,794$688,830$606,857
Revenue$75,589$154,219$176,741
Expenses$58,625$72,245$75,293
Qualifying Distributions$48,061$59,586$64,693
Net Investment Income$66,843$144,364$168,292
Distributable Amount$64,440$57,426$58,470

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800's 2024 filing lists 2 officers; all 2 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Elizabeth F. Potter

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    $2K (2021) → $1K (2024)

  • Nancy T. Harmon

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    0.3 hrs/week

    $2K (2020) → $2K (2024)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Nancy T Harmon — Trustee: $2KNancy T HarmonTrustee$2KElizabeth F Potter — Trustee: $1KElizabeth F PotterTrustee$1K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $2K, to Nancy T Harmon (Trustee). 2 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800

How much does Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 give each year?

Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 gave $40K across 5 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $50K across 7 grants.

What is Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800's typical grant size?

Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800's median grant in 2024 was $9,500, and its average grant was $8,020, across 5 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 give grants?

Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 gives mostly in Massachusetts: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Boston, MA (4 grants).

Does Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 give general operating support?

Yes: 40% of Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (2 of 5) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800's largest grantees?

Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800's largest 2024 grantees include Boys and Girls Club of Boston ($15,000), Judge Ireland Childrens Fund Inc ($10,000) and The Salvation Army ($9,500), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 86% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800?

Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 reported $706K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $48K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $64K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800's EIN?

Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-2607227. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Eastern Bank Foundation

Wakefield, MA

Eastern Bank Foundation supports economic inclusion and mobility, including small businesses, early childhood development, affordable housing, and workforce development. Its 2025 grants ranged from $50 to $2,002,500, with a median of $2,500, primarily in Massachusetts and also in New Hampshire and Rhode Island. It accepts online applications and does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$266.7M

Grants

1,786

Total Given

$19.0M

Boston Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

The Boston Foundation funds nonprofits and community initiatives focused on equity and opportunity, including child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer amounts such as $50,000; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$2.1B

Grants

2,375

Total Given

$228.4M

Arbella Insurance Foundation

Boston, MA

The Arbella Insurance Foundation supports social justice, housing and homelessness, immigration, health and human services, education, and the arts, primarily in New England, with most 2024 grant dollars going to Massachusetts. Its 201 grants in 2024 totaled about $2.23 million; awards ranged from $28 to $152,319, with a median of $2,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$22.2M

Grants

201

Total Given

$2.2M

Liberty Mutual Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

Liberty Mutual Foundation funds basic needs such as food and shelter, education and workforce development, and climate and community infrastructure, including homelessness and community preparedness programs. Its 2024 grants had a median of $35,000, and most funding supports organizations or programs serving the Boston area, though it also gives elsewhere. It accepts unsolicited online requests on a rolling basis, with no submission deadlines.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$46.1M

Grants

706

Total Given

$50.6M

Paul & Phyllis Fireman Charitable

Waltham, MA

The foundation supports organizations working in health, education, civil rights, homelessness, youth development, and related community needs, with much of its recent giving in Massachusetts and additional grants in Georgia, New Jersey, Florida, and New York. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $1.8 million, with a median of $15,000. It funds only pre-selected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$178.8M

Grants

77

Total Given

$8.1M

Barr Foundation

Boston, MA

The Barr Foundation funds arts and creativity, climate, education, and New England’s social sector, primarily through long-term support for organizations in New England. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $3.275 million, with a median of $80,000. Its filing says it accepts only requests from preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests, though its website describes program-page inquiries and occasional open calls.

Assets

$1.9B

Grants

903

Total Given

$123.2M

Cummings Foundation Grants Inc (FKA Oneworld Boston Inc)

Woburn, MA

Cummings Foundation Grants Inc. funds nonprofits working in human services, education, healthcare, fairness and justice, and the environment, primarily in greater Boston and eastern Massachusetts. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,000 to $3.5 million, with a median of $35,000; it accepts letters of inquiry through an online portal during its application cycle, which was not open at the time described.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$258.2M

Grants

658

Total Given

$38.2M

American Tower Corporation Foundation

Boston, MA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$15.4M

Grants

632

Total Given

$1.7M

Good Sports Inc

Braintree, MA

Good Sports provides free sports equipment, footwear, and apparel to established schools and community organizations running ongoing youth sports and physical-activity programs in high-need communities; it serves all 50 states and Puerto Rico. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,004 to $229,133, with a median of $12,781. Youth programs and schools can apply through its community-organization application process.

Assets

$13.8M

Grants

619

Total Given

$11.2M

The Stephen Phillips Memorial Scholarship Fund Inc

Boston, MA

The fund awards need- and merit-based scholarships to full-time students pursuing bachelor’s degrees who permanently reside in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont; recipients may attend college anywhere in the United States. Awards generally range from $3,000 to $17,000, with typical annual awards of $6,000 to $10,000. It accepts applications through an online student portal; the profile does not describe other unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$41.6M

Grants

520

Total Given

$5.1M

More Funders in Massachusetts

Mary a Crabtree Fund #0710800 down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?