Martin Charity Fund

Private foundation · Grantmaker Wolfeboro, NH EIN: 02-6006524

Martin Charity Fund is a private foundation, based in Wolfeboro, NH. IRS filing data is available for 2021. As of 2021, the organization holds $138K in total assets. In 2021, it awarded 3 grants totaling $900. Net investment income was $10K.

Martin Charity Fund at a glance

In short: Martin Charity Fund gave $900 across 3 grants in 2021 (avg $300), mostly in New Hampshire. Source: 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2021)
$900
Grants made (2021)
3
Average grant
$300
Median grant
$300
Total assets
$138,166
Primary geography
New Hampshire (100% of itemized 2021 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2021 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2021; updated September 2026.

Who Martin Charity Fund funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top recipient in 2021

Josephine Amatucci Jeff's K-1 Fuel: $300Josephine Amatucci Jeff's K-1Fuel$300

The largest 2021 recipient was Josephine Amatucci Jeff's K-1 Fuel ($300).

Organizations only. It also paid 2 grants to individuals ($600), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

3 grants across all recorded years

3<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 3 grants of 3 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

Share of 2021 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.

Cities

Wolfeboro

How Martin Charity Fund gives

  • In 2021 it paid out 10% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$250$500$750$1K3 grants2021

In 2021 it made 3 grants totaling $900.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
2 grants to individuals Recipients not named —$600
Josephine Amatucci Jeff's K-1 Fuel Wolfeboro, NHHeating Assistance$300
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Martin Charity Fund?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2021$138,166$14,794$5,925$9003$900$9,769$9,131

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Martin Charity Fund reported a distributable amount of $9K for 2021 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Martin Charity Fund is led by Jon Sbc Hanson, Trustee on the 2021 filing — the only officer listed, and uncompensated.

Officers on the 2021 filing

  • Jon Sbc Hanson

    Trustee

    New on the 2021 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Martin Charity Fund

How much does Martin Charity Fund give each year?

Martin Charity Fund gave $900 across 3 grants in 2021, according to its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.

What is Martin Charity Fund's typical grant size?

Martin Charity Fund's median grant in 2021 was $300, and its average grant was $300, across 3 grants on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Martin Charity Fund give grants?

Martin Charity Fund gives mostly in New Hampshire: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there.

Does Martin Charity Fund give general operating support?

Not in 2021: none of the 3 grants with a stated purpose on Martin Charity Fund's 2021 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Heating Assistance" (3 grants).

How large is Martin Charity Fund?

Martin Charity Fund reported $138K in total assets on its 2021 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $900 in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $9K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

What is Martin Charity Fund's EIN?

Martin Charity Fund's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 02-6006524. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal year 2021

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Martin Charity Fund's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in New Hampshire

New Hampshire Charitable Foundation

Concord, NH

The New Hampshire Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits and students in New Hampshire across areas including health, education, housing, the environment, arts and civic life. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, while its Responsive Grants offer eligible nonprofits up to $10,000; applications are accepted through that program on a rolling basis.

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

949

Total Given

$59.7M

For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology (FIRST)

Manchester, NH

FIRST funds youth robotics and STEM programs, primarily through support for regional FIRST organizations and team grants for costs such as registration, equipment, travel, and events. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,050 to $1,404,497, with a median of $10,550; its programs and grantmaking reach the U.S. and internationally, though some opportunities are location-restricted. The profile describes specific sponsor-funded team grant opportunities and application processes but does not state whether FIRST accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$73.0M

Grants

847

Total Given

$21.8M

Alexander and Linda Milley Foundation

Rye, NH

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$11.1M

Grants

194

Total Given

$350K

The Robert and Joyce Oberkotter Family

Newport, NH

The Robert and Joyce Oberkotter Family funds scholarships for eligible high school seniors pursuing post-secondary education and school programs that support extracurricular activities and underfunded areas such as music, art, and athletics. Recent grants ranged from $4,000 to $50,000, with a median of $4,000; giving is concentrated in New Hampshire, with additional support in Vermont and Rhode Island. Scholarship application instructions are published on its website; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests for other grants.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$14.2M

Grants

189

Total Given

$810K

Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital

Lebanon, NH

Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital funds medical education, research, healthcare services, charity care, and community programs, with 2025 grants ranging from $5,056 to $3.34 million and a median of $22,200. Its giving is concentrated in New Hampshire, with grants also reaching organizations in other states. The available information does not say whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

177

Total Given

$14.0M

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic

Lebanon, NH

Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic supports medical education and research, including clinical, biomedical, and quality-improvement projects, as well as community health initiatives; its care network serves New Hampshire and Vermont, while reported grants also went to organizations elsewhere in the U.S. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,017 to $1,091,164, with a median of $14,216; one program awards two $30,000 grants annually. Some programs accept letters of intent, but only selected applicants may submit full proposals.

Health

Assets

$309.3M

Grants

120

Total Given

$4.6M

More similar funders

More Funders in New Hampshire

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Martin Charity Fund's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Martin Charity Fund down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?