Man up Monday Inc

Private foundation · Grantmaker Statesville, NC EIN: 82-4730037

Man up Monday Inc is a private foundation based in Statesville, North Carolina. Its reported giving includes support for youth activities, schools, community programs, and churches, with grants in 2025 directed mainly to recipients in North Carolina.

Key facts about Man up Monday Inc

In short: Man up Monday Inc gave $34K across 26 grants in 2025 (avg $1K), mostly in North Carolina. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
82-4730037
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$33,883
Grants made (2025)
26
Average grant
$1,303
Median grant
$1,000
Primary geography
North Carolina (93% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

—

Annual Giving

$34K

+5.2% YoY

Grant Count

26

+44.4% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$1K

-27.2% YoY

How Man up Monday Inc gives

  • 54% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
  • Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−15%). Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

No mission statement is provided. The listed grants show support for activities including community gift cards, transportation for community activities, student bikes, senior graduation, youth sports, school supplies, youth incentives, athletics, summer camp, and youth music ministry.

Grantmaking

In 2025, the foundation reported 26 grants totaling $33,883. Grants ranged from $330 to $5,000, with a median of $1,000. In 2024, it reported 18 grants totaling $32,220; in 2023, it reported 14 grants totaling $11,020.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Man up Monday Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

The 2025 grant-dollar distribution was reported as 93% to North Carolina recipients, 6% to California recipients, and 2% to Illinois recipients. Listed North Carolina recipients include organizations in Salisbury, Spencer, and Statesville.

Grant Distribution by State

4states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 26 itemized grants.

Cities

SalisburyStatesvilleClevelandWinston-SalemChina GroveConcordSan DiegoSpencerWillowbrookBermuda RunBurlingtonCharlotteGreensboroMount UllaNew LondonNorfolkSwannanoaWingate

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K5 grants2019 8 grants2020 9 grants2021 15 grants2022 14 grants2023 18 grants2024 26 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $9K (2020) to $44K (2021). In 2025 it made 26 grants totaling $34K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2025

Zion Hill Apartments: $5KZion Hill Apartments$5KVan Maintenance and Insurance: $4KVan Maintenance and Insurance$4KSalisbury Parks and Recreation: $3KSalisbury Parks and Recreation$3KNorth Rowan High School: $2KNorth Rowan High School$2KYouth Footballbasketball: $2KYouth Footballbasketball$2KGo Fund ME: $2KGo Fund ME$2KRowan Salisbury School: $2KRowan Salisbury School$2KTeen Center: $2KTeen Center$2KStatesville High: $1KStatesville High$1KCameron Presbyterian Church: $1KCameron Presbyterian Church$1K

The largest 2025 recipient was Zion Hill Apartments ($5K). Together the top 10 received $23K.

Organizations only. It also paid 1 grant to individuals ($726), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

82 grants across all recorded years

82<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 82 grants of 82 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Zion Hill Apartments Salisbury, NCCommunity Gift Cards$5,000
Van Maintenance and Insurance Salisbury, NCTransportation for Community Activities$3,971
Salisbury Parks and Recreation Salisbury, NCSponsor Bikes for Students$2,580
North Rowan High School Spencer, NCSponsor Graduation for Seniors$2,250
Youth Footballbasketball Salisbury, NCSponsor Registration Fees for Clinic$1,950
Go Fund ME San Diego, CADonation to Fundraiser$1,890
Rowan Salisbury School Salisbury, NCBack to School Supplies$1,650
Teen Center Salisbury, NCSnacks and Weekly Incentives to the Youth$1,610
Statesville High Statesville, NCSponsor Athletics$1,380
Cameron Presbyterian Church Statesville, NCSummer Camp$1,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Expenses Grants Grant count
2025 $840 $33,883 26
2024 $420 $32,220 18
2023 Not provided $11,020 14
Revenue
Expenses
$0$20K$40K$60K2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Expenses$840$420—

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS July 20, 2020)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 17, 2021)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 11, 2022)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 13, 2025)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 4, 2026)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2025 filing lists Timothy L Bates I as chairman and Nicolas Means, George Bates III, Patrick Jones, and Anthony Johnson as board members.

Man up Monday Inc is led by Timothy L. Bates I., Chairman on every filing since 2019; none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Timothy L. Bates I.

    Chairman

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Anthony Johnson

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • George Bates III

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Nicolas Means

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Patrick Jones

    Board Member

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 153 Sierra Chase Dr, Statesville, NC 28677
Phone: (980) 234-8044

Frequently asked questions about Man up Monday Inc

How much does Man up Monday Inc give each year?

Man up Monday Inc gave $34K across 26 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $32K across 18 grants.

What is Man up Monday Inc's typical grant size?

Man up Monday Inc's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $1,303, across 26 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Man up Monday Inc give grants?

Man up Monday Inc gives mostly in North Carolina: 93% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was California (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were Salisbury, NC (12 grants), Statesville, NC (4 grants), Cleveland, NC (2 grants) and Winston-Salem, NC (2 grants).

Does Man up Monday Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 26 grants with a stated purpose on Man up Monday Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Sponsor Bikes for Students" (3 grants) and "Youth Ministry" (3 grants).

Who are Man up Monday Inc's largest grantees?

Man up Monday Inc's largest 2025 grantees include Zion Hill Apartments ($5,000), Van Maintenance and Insurance ($3,971) and Salisbury Parks and Recreation ($2,580), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 1 grant to individuals ($726), which are not listed by name. Together they received 34% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

What does Man up Monday Inc fund?

No mission statement is provided. The listed grants show support for activities including community gift cards, transportation for community activities, student bikes, senior graduation, youth sports, school supplies, youth incentives, athletics, summer camp, and youth music ministry. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from Man up Monday Inc?

The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is Man up Monday Inc's EIN?

Man up Monday Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 82-4730037. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Does Man up Monday Inc accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Man up Monday Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Man up Monday Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Margaret C Woodson Foundation Inc

Charlotte, NC

The Margaret C. Woodson Foundation supports scholarships and education, as well as services for children, families, and people in need, with awards focused on Davie and Rowan counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from $1,500 to $75,000, with a median of $7,750. To apply, contact Foundation for the Carolinas; no particular form is required.

Assets

$380K

Grants

72

Total Given

$1.0M

Reddish Family Foundation

Lithia Springs, GA

Assets

$13K

Grants

2

Total Given

$6K

Ketner Foundation Inc

Salisbury, NC

The Ketner Foundation supports educational and local-area charities, with 2025 grants going to North Carolina organizations including schools, health and human-services groups, churches, and arts organizations. Its 13 grants ranged from $1,000 to $15,000, with a median of $2,500. The filing says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations and lists no prescribed application form.

Assets

$866K

Grants

13

Total Given

$43K

Tom Joyner Foundation Inc

Dallas, TX

The Tom Joyner Foundation supports scholarships and educational programs at historically Black colleges and universities (HBCUs), with grants paid to colleges for student scholarships. In 2024, its grants ranged from $5,048 to $56,952, with a median of $20,000; funding went to HBCUs across the United States, with the largest shares in North Carolina and Washington, D.C. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$6.1M

Grants

17

Total Given

$377K

All Conference Foundation

Charlotte, NC

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3K

Grants

18

Total Given

$14K

Stephen L Cornwell Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Stephen L Cornwell Foundation supports North Carolina organizations working in education, housing, homelessness services, and community programs. Its 2025 grants ranged from $4,000 to $55,000, with a median of $9,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$22.0M

Grants

22

Total Given

$412K

The Cannon Foundation Inc

Concord, NC

The Cannon Foundation funds capital and equipment projects in human services, higher education, healthcare, and community programs, primarily for organizations with significant operations in North Carolina. Its 2025 grants ranged from $2,500 to $500,000, with a median award of $50,000. Organizations begin with an online inquiry form; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$351.7M

Grants

218

Total Given

$14.6M

Thurgood Marshall College Fund

Washington, DC

Thurgood Marshall College Fund supports scholarships, career and leadership programs, research, and capacity building for students and member HBCUs, predominantly Black institutions, and historically Black community colleges. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,235 to $675,000, with a median of $25,000, and supported institutions and programs in its member-school network; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$143.3M

Grants

37

Total Given

$2.7M

Samuel L Powell Trust

Saint Louis, MO

The Samuel L Powell Trust funds scholarships, with awards typically $1,000 each; most 2025 grant dollars went to recipients in Virginia. Awards are restricted to graduates of City of Alexandria High School, who can apply through the T.C. Williams High School Guidance Center; the available information does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$757K

Grants

40

Total Given

$40K

United Negro College Fund Inc

Washington, DC

UNCF funds scholarships and student-support programs, as well as capacity-building and technical assistance for colleges and organizations serving students, with a strong focus on HBCUs and underrepresented students. Its 2025 itemized grants ranged from about $715,000 to $3.84 million, with a median of about $1.04 million, and went to recipients across multiple states. The profile does not state whether UNCF accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$892.4M

Grants

40

Total Given

$59.6M

The Cashion Foundation

Newport Beach, CA

The Cashion Foundation supports a range of charitable programs, including Christian ministries, education, libraries, health, and recovery services. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $10,000, with a median of $2,500; most funding went to California organizations. It funds only preselected charities and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.2M

Grants

41

Total Given

$110K

National Center for Teacher Residencies

Chicago, IL

The National Center for Teacher Residencies funds and supports programs that recruit, prepare, and retain educators, especially those reducing barriers for educators from historically underserved communities. Its 2025 grants ranged from $25,000 to $330,000, with a median of $100,000, and support programs across the United States. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Education

Assets

$13.2M

Grants

51

Total Given

$7.0M

More Funders in North Carolina

Man up Monday Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?