Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Tacoma, WA EIN: 20-1035294

Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation is a private foundation, based in Tacoma, WA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $99K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 5 grants totaling $7K. Net investment income was $7K.

Key facts about Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation

In short: Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation gave $7K across 5 grants in 2025 (avg $1K), mostly in Washington. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
20-1035294
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$6,800
Grants made (2025)
5
Average grant
$1,360
Median grant
$1,000
Total assets
$98,949
Primary geography
Washington (81% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$99K

-2.6% YoY

Annual Giving

$7K

+7.1% YoY

Grant Count

5

-16.7% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$1K

+28.5% YoY

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation reported a distributable amount of $7K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

How Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation gives

  • In 2025 it paid out 104% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

3states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

TacomaGig HarborVancouverMemphisThomaston

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2K$4K$6K$8KTotal only2019 Total only2020 Total only2021 Total only2022 Total only2023 6 grants2024 5 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $5K (2019) to $7K (2025). In 2025 it made 5 grants totaling $7K.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2025

Tom Taylor Family YMCA: $3KTom Taylor Family YMCA$3KThomaston Community Pantry: $1KThomaston Community Pantry$1KTacoma City Ballet: $1KTacoma City Ballet$1KTacoma Youth Symphony Association: $1KTacoma Youth SymphonyAssociation$1KCourts for Kids: $1KCourts for Kids$1K

The largest 2025 recipient was Tom Taylor Family YMCA ($3K). Together the top 5 received $7K.

Grant Size Distribution

11 grants across all recorded years

11<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 11 grants of 11 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Tom Taylor Family YMCA Gig Harbor, WACharitable Contribution$2,500
Thomaston Community Pantry Thomaston, CTCharitable Contribtuion$1,300
Tacoma City Ballet Tacoma, WACharitable Contribution$1,000
Tacoma Youth Symphony Association Tacoma, WACharitable Contribution$1,000
Courts for Kids Vancouver, WACharitable Contribtuion$1,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$5K$10K$15K$20K2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$98,949$101,609$99,427
Revenue$7,665$8,653$12,197
Expenses$7,674$7,306$6,339
Qualifying Distributions$6,800$6,350$5,460
Net Investment Income$7,141$8,047$11,718
Distributable Amount$6,565——

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 14, 2025)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 7, 2026)
  3. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 3, 2020)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS October 15, 2021)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 16, 2022)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 24, 2023)
  7. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 15, 2024)

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation is led by Judith Secco, President on every filing since 2019; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Judith Secco

    President

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Charles Gould

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gary Gould

    Secretary

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pamela Carbone

    Vice President

    On filings since 2019

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation

How much does Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation give each year?

Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation gave $7K across 5 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $6K across 6 grants.

What is Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation's typical grant size?

Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $1,000, and its average grant was $1,360, across 5 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation give grants?

Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation gives mostly in Washington: 81% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Connecticut (19%). The most frequent recipient cities were Tacoma, WA (2 grants).

Who are Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation's largest grantees?

Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Tom Taylor Family YMCA ($2,500), Thomaston Community Pantry ($1,300) and Tacoma City Ballet ($1,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 71% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation?

Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation reported $99K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $7K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $7K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation's EIN?

Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 20-1035294. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Names Family Foundation

Fircrest, WA

The Names Family Foundation funds nonprofit programs and projects focused on sports, physical activity, fitness, and movement, primarily in Pierce County, Washington, and areas connected to the Names family. Its 2024 grants had a median of $10,000, though awards varied widely; it accepts unsolicited online requests for eligible activities, while other requests require an invitation.

Assets

$178.4M

Grants

177

Total Given

$7.0M

Greater Tacoma Community Foundation

Tacoma, WA

Greater Tacoma Community Foundation supports youth, basic needs, housing, education, community development, the arts, and the environment, primarily in Pierce County, Washington. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of $23,839, though awards vary widely; Spark Grants are capped at $1,500. It offers open applications for some opportunities over $100,000 and a Spark Grant application process, but does not state whether other funding accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$185.7M

Grants

189

Total Given

$18.3M

Heidner Marco J Char Trust

Eagan, MN

In 2025, the trust funded organizations working in behavioral health, cancer and children’s health, dental care, education, housing, and youth programs, primarily in Washington, with some grants in Oregon and California. It awarded 63 grants totaling $321,500, ranging from $1,000 to $65,000, with a median grant of $4,000. It gives only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$5.2M

Grants

63

Total Given

$322K

Artsfund

Seattle, WA

ArtsFund supports Washington nonprofit arts and cultural organizations, primarily with unrestricted general operating grants, while some awards fund specific projects or capital needs. Its 2025 grants had a median of $17,500 and ranged from $5,934 to $860,000; Annual Allocations Grants are invitation-only, so unsolicited applications are not accepted for that program.

Arts, Culture & Humanities

Assets

$9.6M

Grants

434

Total Given

$10.8M

M J Murdock Charitable Trust

Vancouver, WA

The M.J. Murdock Charitable Trust funds nonprofit capacity-building projects, including program and staff expansion, capital improvements, and equipment or technology, across areas such as education, health, arts, and community services. Its 2024 grants ranged from $4,000 to about $1.55 million, with a median of $87,000; it focuses on Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington, and also considers projects with more than half their impact there. Applicants start with an eligibility assessment and, if eligible, submit a Letter of Inquiry; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

797

Total Given

$116.6M

Ima Foundation

Wichita, KS

Assets

$11.4M

Grants

602

Total Given

$831K

The Baker Foundation

Tacoma, WA

The Baker Foundation funds 501(c)(3) organizations primarily serving youth in Pierce County, Washington, with a focus on education, fine arts, and health care. Program grants are typically $2,500–$10,000, while capital and endowment grants are listed at $25,000. It accepts proposal letters year-round; unsolicited requests are not explicitly addressed.

Assets

$6.6M

Grants

34

Total Given

$262K

June & Julian Foss Foundation

Fircrest, WA

The June & Julian Foss Foundation funds programs that help children and young adults—particularly those with mental illness or physical disabilities—build healthy, responsible lives, strengthen families, and live self-sufficiently. Grants are generally no more than $5,000, though recent awards ranged from $500 to $40,000; it supports organizations serving areas near Tacoma and Seattle, Portland, parts of the San Francisco Bay Area, metro Phoenix, and Miami. It accepts applications through an online process.

Assets

$6.1M

Grants

81

Total Given

$464K

Kilworth Florence Char Tr Fndn

Eagan, MN

In 2025, the foundation supported charitable organizations working in areas such as foster-care support, family services, housing, health, and food assistance, with most funding going to Washington. Grants ranged from $1,000 to $10,000, with a median of $3,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$6.5M

Grants

103

Total Given

$354K

Lucky Seven Foundation

Wilmington, DE

Lucky Seven Foundation funds human services and related community causes, including education, homelessness services, civic leadership, environmental accountability, and community well-being, with most giving in Washington State. Its 2024 grants averaged about $8,000 (median $2,000), with awards ranging from $100 to $240,000. It does not restrict giving to preselected organizations and directs applicants to an online process for application materials and deadlines.

Assets

$27.6M

Grants

215

Total Given

$1.8M

Forest Foundation

Tacoma, WA

Forest Foundation supports programs in youth development, the environment, community development, arts and culture, and family self-sufficiency, primarily in Tacoma and Pierce County; outside Pierce County, it funds capital projects only in eligible Washington counties. Grants typically range from $1,500 to $100,000, with a median of $10,000. Organizations may submit an unsolicited Stage One request online; Stage Two applications are by invitation.

Assets

$19.5M

Grants

56

Total Given

$1.0M

Seattle Foundation

Seattle, WA

Seattle Foundation funds community-led work advancing racial and economic equity in Greater Seattle, including housing, economic opportunity, climate justice, democracy, arts, and organizing; some programs support specific medical or performing-arts needs. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $7 million, with a median of $6,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through program-specific applications or letters of inquiry.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.4B

Grants

5,379

Total Given

$177.9M

More Funders in Washington

Lillian Bredow Gould Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?