Leader Center for Active Life logo

Leader Center for Active Life

Public charity · Grantmaker Hershey, PA EIN: 23-2228592 Website

To positively impact our community by promoting healthy aging through social engagement, physical and emotional well-being, civic involvement, creative offerings, and lifelong learning for those over 50 years of age.

Leader Center for Active Life at a glance

Total assets
$1,159,651
+7.2% vs 2024
Revenue (2025)
$414,259
+28.7% vs 2024
Net investment income (2025)
$162,621
+207.7% vs 2024
Expenses (2025)
$312,657
-1.8% vs 2024
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated October 2026.

Who Leader Center for Active Life funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

1 grant across all recorded years

<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 1 grant of 1 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

1state

States

Cities

Hershey

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K0 grants2020 1 grant2021 Total only2022 Total only2023 0 grants2024 0 grants2025

From 2021 to 2023, annual grant giving ranged from $205 (2023) to $100K (2021). In 2023 it reported $205 in grants paid, as a total without an itemized list.

Hatched bars: grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Friends of Derry Township Parks and Recreation Hershey, PADonation$100,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Leader Center for Active Life?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsNet Investment Income
2025$1,159,651$414,259$312,657——$162,621
2024$1,081,329$321,782$318,353——$52,850
2023$1,037,449$289,053$298,230$205Total only$25,692
2022$940,540$251,364$263,661$250Total only$24,956
2021$1,120,682$373,927$273,662$100,0001$174,812
2020$1,102,525$135,030$179,409——$16,882

"Total only": grants paid as reported on the IRS filing, which lists no individual grants for that year.

About Leader Center for Active Life

Based on IRS filings

Leader Center for Active Life is a public charity focused on Human Services, based in Hershey, PA. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.2M in total assets. Net investment income was $163K.

Focus Areas

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Leader Center for Active Life is led by Megan Marshall, Chairman since 2025 (on filings since 2020); 1 of 14 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Megan Marshall

    Chairman

    Current President → President, 2023

    President → Chairman, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Aura Bunn

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Brenda Berman

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jack Bishop

    Director

    President → Director, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Marsha Major

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sally Kurtz

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Shel Parker

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Doug Berlin

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jeff Stover

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Andrew Chodos

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Annamarie Fazzolari

    Executive Di

    Current Executive → Executive Di, 2024

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $45K (2023) → $93K (2025)

  • Jori Culp

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ted Seeber

    Vice Chairman

    Director → Vice President, 2023

    Vice President → Vice Chairman, 2025

    On filings since 2020

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Betsy Hancock

    Secretary

    Director → Secretary, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    0.5 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (5)
  • Former: Melissa Weigle (2020–2023) — Executive Di
  • Former: Betsy Kopec (2020–2022) — Secretary
  • Former: Chris Abruzzo (2020–2022) — Vice President
  • Former: Peter Gleeson (2020–2022) — Director
  • Former: Jay Carr (2020) — Director

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Annamarie Fazzolari — Executive Di: $93KAnnamarie FazzolariExecutive Di$93K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $93K, to Annamarie Fazzolari (Executive Di).

Frequently asked questions about Leader Center for Active Life

How large is Leader Center for Active Life?

Leader Center for Active Life reported $1.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $414K.

What is Leader Center for Active Life?

Leader Center for Active Life is a public charity focused on Human Services, based in Hershey, PA. It holds $1.2M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Leader Center for Active Life operate?

Leader Center for Active Life has awarded grants in Pennsylvania.

What is Leader Center for Active Life's EIN?

Leader Center for Active Life's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 23-2228592. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated October 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Data update history

(5)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS November 11, 2022)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS October 10, 2023)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS September 30, 2024)
  4. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS August 5, 2026)
  5. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Leader Center for Active Life's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Pennsylvania

The Pittsburgh Foundation

Pittsburgh, PA

The Pittsburgh Foundation funds nonprofits working in basic needs, equity and social justice, environmental action, arts and culture, and economic mobility, with most opportunities for organizations in Allegheny County or primarily serving its residents. Its 2024 grants had a median amount of about $18,600, though awards varied widely. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.5B

Grants

1,132

Total Given

$64.0M

The William Penn Foundation

Philadelphia, PA

The William Penn Foundation funds arts and culture, children and families, civic participation, the environment and public spaces, and workforce training, primarily in the Philadelphia region. Its 2024 median grant was $50,000, though awards varied widely. It accepts unsolicited requests through limited open applications and invites letters of inquiry from public charities.

Assets

$3.4B

Grants

1,027

Total Given

$148.8M

Dick's Sporting Goods Foundation

Coraopolis, PA

DICK’S Sporting Goods Foundation primarily funds youth sports participation in under-resourced communities, including equipment, registration costs and facilities, and also supports outdoor access and education. Its 2025 grants ranged from $626 to $2.5 million, with a median of $5,000, and Sports Matter funding has reached all 50 states. Sports Matter opportunities are by invitation only; the foundation says 501(c)(3) grant requests should be submitted in writing.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$34.5M

Grants

964

Total Given

$18.0M

Hillman Family Foundations

Pittsburgh, PA

The 18 independently operated foundations support projects in areas such as arts and culture, health, education, economic development, and community improvement, with a preference for Pittsburgh and southwestern Pennsylvania; each foundation has its own geographic focus. In 2024, grants ranged from $75 to $5 million, with a median of $20,000. The 2024 filing says unsolicited requests are accepted, beginning with a brief letter of intent through the online portal.

Assets

$1.9B

Grants

814

Total Given

$88.8M

Pidc Financing Corporation

Philadelphia, PA

PIDC Financing Corporation administers Pennsylvania business loans for real estate, leasehold improvements, and equipment, as well as partner-funded grants for Philadelphia economic, cultural, civic, historical, storefront, and stormwater projects. Its 2024 filing reports no grants, so no typical giving level is stated; grant partners select recipients, and the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Community Improvement & Capacity Building

Assets

$6.7M

Grants

774

Total Given

$16.4M

Pennsylvania CDFI Network

Philadelphia, PA

The Pennsylvania CDFI Network funds Pennsylvania CDFIs and community-development organizations, and supports small businesses through counseling, technical assistance, loan capital, and some microgrants. Its 2025 grants had a median of $10,000, with awards ranging from $6,000 to $7,124,547; its business assistance programs serve all 67 Pennsylvania counties. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$4.5M

Grants

180

Total Given

$15.5M

More similar funders

More Funders in Pennsylvania

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Leader Center for Active Life's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Leader Center for Active Life down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?