Justice Resource Institute Inc logo

Justice Resource Institute Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Needham, MA EIN: 04-2526357 Website

Justice Resource Institute is a leader in social services, with over 100 programs meeting the needs of individuals, families, and communities. We are committed to excellence, delivering targeted services that support each person.

Key facts about Justice Resource Institute Inc

EIN
04-2526357
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2025
Total assets
$240,748,041

Data from IRS Form 990, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$240.7M

+7.8% YoY

Revenue

$279.1M

+4.7% YoY

Net Investment Income

$3.1M

-14.9% YoY

Expenses

$263.1M

+5.3% YoY

About Justice Resource Institute Inc

Based on IRS filings

Justice Resource Institute Inc is a public charity focused on Crime & Legal Related, based in Needham, MA. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $240.7M in total assets. Net investment income was $3.1M.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Justice Resource Institute Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Cities

BostonMilwaukeeRandolphRoxburySpringfieldStonehamWaltham

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$50K$100K$150K0 grants2019 0 grants2020 0 grants2021 8 grants2022 0 grants2023 0 grants2024 0 grants2025

In 2022 it made 8 grants totaling $115K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Grant Size Distribution

8 grants across all recorded years

8<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 8 grants of 8 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

No grants recorded for 2025.

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$100M$200M$300M$400M2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$240,748,041$223,370,784$208,759,874
Revenue$279,083,645$266,455,588$239,863,306
Expenses$263,147,271$249,915,241$229,906,024
Net Investment Income$3,121,824$3,669,377$1,911,698

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 15, 2023)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2019–2025

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Justice Resource Institute Inc is led by Andrew Pond, CEO & President on every filing since 2019; 13 of 24 officers listed in 2025 are compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Andrew Pond

    CEO & President

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $453K (2019) → $389K (2025)

  • Mia Demarco

    CEO & President

    Chief Operations Officer & Assistant Clerk → COO, CEO & President, 2024

    COO, CEO & President → CEO & President, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $305K (2019) → $538K (2025)

  • Jennifer Miguel

    Executive President

    Executive Vice President → Vice President, 2023

    Vice President → Executive President, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $241K (2019) → $330K (2025)

  • Francine Rosenberg

    Chair

    Vice Chairperson → Vice Chair & Chair, 2023

    Vice Chair & Chair → Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jim Cunha

    Trustee

    Trustee Member → Trustee, 2020

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Monalisa Smith

    Trustee

    Trustee Member → Trustee, 2020

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Caro Ruiz

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • David Chapin

    Trustee

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Douglas Brooks

    Trustee

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joel Kershner

    Trustee

    On filings since 2024

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Pratiti Bandopadhayay

    Trustee

    New on the 2025 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Bisser Dokov

    CFO & Assistant Treasurer

    Chief Financial Officer → Chief Financial Officer & Assistant Treasurer, 2023

    Chief Financial Officer & Assistant Treasurer → CFO & Assistant Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $266K (2019) → $449K (2025)

  • Kari Beserra

    Chief Operations Officer

    Vice President → Vice President & COO, 2024

    Vice President & COO → Chief Operations Officer, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $230K (2019) → $441K (2025)

  • Mark Robbins

    Psychiatrist

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $234K (2019) → $289K (2025)

  • Mark Schueppert

    Vice President, General Counsel & Assistant Clerk

    Vice President → Vice President & Assistant Clerk, 2024

    Vice President & Assistant Clerk → Vice President, General Counsel & Assistant Clerk, 2025

    On filings since 2019

    40 hrs/week

    $183K (2019) → $285K (2025)

  • Roody Herold

    Chief Information Officer

    Chief Infomation Officer → Chief Information Officer, 2023

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $207K (2020) → $437K (2025)

  • Kerry A. Williams

    Chief Medical Officer

    Psychiatrist → Chief Medical Officer, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    40 hrs/week

    $226K (2021) → $398K (2025)

  • Christina M. Seabury

    Rn & Masters Np

    Rn & Masters → Rn & Masters Np, 2023

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $205K (2022) → $230K (2025)

  • Deirdre J. Hunter

    Senior Vice President

    Vice President → Senior Vice President, 2025

    On filings since 2023

    40 hrs/week

    $220K (2023) → $230K (2025)

  • Dani K. Silcox

    Vice President

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $243K (2025)

  • Matthew George

    Vice President

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $242K (2025)

  • Judith Tsipis

    Vice Chair

    Trustee → Trustee & Vice Chair, 2023

    Trustee & Vice Chair → Vice Chair, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mark S. Cuddy

    Treasurer

    Trustee Member → Trustee, 2020

    Trustee → Treasurer, 2024

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Stephen Porter

    Clerk

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (14)
  • Former: Andrea Nix (2019–2024) — Treasurer
  • Former: Audrey Shelto (2019–2023) — Treasurer
  • Former: Dawna Paton (2019–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Linda Turner (2019–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Valerie Samuels (2020–2023) — Trustee
  • Former: Victor Komry (2019–2022) — Medical Director
  • Former: John Gatto (2020–2021) — Vice President
  • Former: Patrick Rose (2019–2020) — Vice President
  • Former: Robert J. Guttentag (2019–2020) — Vice Chairperson
  • Former: Gregory Canfield (2019) — Former Vice President
  • Former: Kristine Kinniburgh (2019) — Lead Trainer
  • Former: Rudy Herold (2019) — Chief Information Officer
  • Former: Thomas Fisher (2019) — Former Vice President
  • Former: Valerie Samuels Esquire (2019) — Trustee Member

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

MIA Demarco — CEO/President: $538KMIA DemarcoCEO/President$538KBisser Dokov — CFO/ Asst. Treasurer: $449KBisser DokovCFO/ Asst. Treasurer$449KKari Beserra — Chief Operations Officer: $441KKari BeserraChief Operations Officer$441KRoody Herold — Chief Information Officer: $437KRoody HeroldChief Information Officer$437KKerry a Williams — Chief Medical Officer: $398KKerry a WilliamsChief Medical Officer$398KAndrew Pond — CEO/President (Until 9/24): $389KAndrew PondCEO/President (Until 9/24)$389KJennifer Miguel — Executive President: $330KJennifer MiguelExecutive President$330KMark Robbins — Psychiatrist: $289KMark RobbinsPsychiatrist$289KMark Schueppert — VP/Gen COUNS.(UNTIL 2/25)/Asst Clerk: $285KMark SchueppertVP/Gen COUNS.(UNTIL 2/25)/Asst…$285KDani K Silcox — Vice President: $243KDani K SilcoxVice President$243KMatthew George — Vice President: $242KMatthew GeorgeVice President$242KChristina M Seabury — RN/Masters NP: $230KChristina M SeaburyRN/Masters NP$230KDeirdre J Hunter — Senior Vice President: $230KDeirdre J HunterSenior Vice President$230K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $538K, to MIA Demarco (CEO/President). 13 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Justice Resource Institute Inc

How large is Justice Resource Institute Inc?

Justice Resource Institute Inc reported $240.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $279.1M.

What is Justice Resource Institute Inc?

Justice Resource Institute Inc is a public charity focused on Crime & Legal Related, based in Needham, MA. It holds $240.7M in total assets as of 2025.

Where does Justice Resource Institute Inc operate?

Justice Resource Institute Inc has awarded grants in Massachusetts, Wisconsin.

What is Justice Resource Institute Inc's EIN?

Justice Resource Institute Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 04-2526357. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Justice Resource Institute Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Justice Resource Institute Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common

Gannett Foundation Inc

New York, NY

Gannett Foundation’s 2025 grants supported a range of organizations, with listed awards generally between $1,500 and $2,500, though the available figures do not establish a typical grant size or geographic focus. The foundation has wound down: its 2026 filing reports no grants or assets, and no current application process or acceptance of unsolicited requests is stated.

Assets

—

Grants

32

Total Given

$65K

Peoplesbank Charitable Foundation Inc

Holyoke, MA

The foundation supports qualified public charities working in areas such as education, health, youth development, hunger, homelessness, and community and cultural events in communities served by Peoples Bank, primarily in Massachusetts and Connecticut. Its 2025 grants ranged from $35 to $59,000, with a median of $10,000. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$17.3M

Grants

67

Total Given

$641K

The Fish Family Foundation

Boston, MA

The Fish Family Foundation funds education, human services, and philanthropy and volunteerism, primarily in Massachusetts. Its stated award range is $250 to $1.8 million, though recent grants ranged from $5,000 to $1.05 million. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited funding requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.8M

Grants

4

Total Given

$1.1M

Massachusetts Bankers Association

Boston, MA

The Massachusetts Bankers Association funds a range of charitable causes, including education, financial literacy, housing, and support services, with most grant dollars going to Massachusetts organizations. Its 2025 grants ranged from $100 to $44,000, with a median of $5,500; it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.7M

Grants

31

Total Given

$195K

Community Foundation of Western Massachusetts

Springfield, MA

The Community Foundation of Western Massachusetts funds nonprofits and students through grants and scholarships, with priorities including organizations led by people of color, early education, post-secondary pathways, and arts and creativity. Its 2025 grants had a median award of $25,000 and supported work benefiting residents of Franklin, Hampshire, and Hampden counties; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$292.1M

Grants

392

Total Given

$22.4M

The Mercy Hospital Inc

Hartford, CT

We, trinity health of new england and trinity health, serve together in the spirit of the gospel as a compassionate and transforming healing presence within our communities. The Mercy Hospital is a member of trinity health of new england and trinity health.

Assets

$130.8M

Grants

1

Total Given

$238K

Boston Foundation Inc

Boston, MA

The Boston Foundation funds nonprofits and community initiatives focused on equity and opportunity, including child well-being, economic opportunity, community wealth, and community leadership, primarily in Greater Boston. Its 2025 grants had a median of $25,000, while specific programs offer amounts such as $50,000; whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Assets

$2.1B

Grants

2,375

Total Given

$228.4M

Baystate Medical Center Inc

Springfield, MA

Baystate Medical Center funds health and community-benefit work, with reported grants supporting youth mental health, cancer-survivor programs, and community initiatives. Its 2025 grants went to Massachusetts recipients and ranged from $10,000 to $2,570,339, with a median of $38,670; the available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Health

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

15

Total Given

$3.2M

The Klarman Family Foundation

Boston, MA

The Klarman Family Foundation funds health research, democracy, access to services and enrichment, and the global Jewish community, through operating, project, and capital grants, with giving across the U.S. and internationally and a strong Massachusetts presence. Its 2024 grants ranged from $50 to $5 million, with a median of $100,000. Most grants are by invitation; the Community Capital Fund accepts applications for eligible Massachusetts capital projects.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$713.2M

Grants

260

Total Given

$82.2M

Annie E Casey Foundation Inc

Baltimore, MD

The Annie E. Casey Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and other partners working to improve outcomes for children and young people, including family strengthening, child welfare, education, employment, community development and juvenile justice. In 2024, grants ranged from $50 to $1,185,000, with a median of $40,000. Grants are by invitation only; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.3B

Grants

1,462

Total Given

$93.1M

The Beveridge Family Foundation

West Newbury, MA

The Beveridge Family Foundation supports nonprofit organizations working to enhance quality of life in Hampden and Hampshire counties in Western Massachusetts. Its 2025 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $500 to $782,160; the foundation says giving is not limited to preselected organizations and provides an application process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$67.1M

Grants

144

Total Given

$2.6M

More Funders in Massachusetts

Justice Resource Institute Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?