Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc
JOSEPH J JAROSCHAK FOUNDATION INC is a private foundation based in Cranford, New Jersey. Its 2024 grants included support for education and religious services, as well as grants to organizations serving veterans and people with intellectual disabilities.
Key facts about Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc
In short: Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc gave $847K across 38 grants in 2025 (avg $22K), mostly in New Jersey. 63% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 22-2693991
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $846,738
- Grants made (2025)
- 38
- Average grant
- $22,283
- Median grant
- $10,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 63% first-time grantees (24 of 38, 2025)
- Total assets
- $5,161,970
- Primary geography
- New Jersey (63% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$5.2M
-7.9% YoY
Annual Giving
$847K
+21.0% YoY
Grant Count
38
+5.6% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$22K
+14.6% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $275K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc open to new grantees?
63%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 24 of 38 grantees (63%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $19K; repeat grants $27K. How we count
Medians: $13K first-time, $10K repeat.
- 34% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 148% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 308% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement is provided. The 2024 grants show support for educational purposes, religious services, and other charitable organizations. Among its 2024 grantees, Wounded Warrior Project describes its mission as improving the well-being of post-9/11 wounded, ill, and injured veterans, service members, and their families. Special Olympics describes its mission as fostering acceptance and inclusion of people of all abilities through sports, health, and education programs.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation gave $700,039 through 36 grants. Awards ranged from $800 to $200,000, with a median grant of $10,000. The largest listed grants included $200,000 to St Peter’s University for education; $50,000 to St Bartholomew Church for religious services; and $40,300 to Seton Hall University for student education. Other listed recipients included Brandeis University ($33,541), Keiser University ($31,974), and Stevens Institute of Technology ($30,514), each for student education. Wounded Warrior Project received $10,000 and Special Olympics received $5,000.
Review Cycle
.
Ready to take the next step with Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2024, 74% of grant dollars went to recipients in New Jersey. Other recipient-state shares were Florida (6%), Massachusetts (5%), Pennsylvania (4%), and Delaware (3%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 38 itemized grants.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $246K (2019) to $847K (2025). In 2025 it made 38 grants totaling $847K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was St Peter's University ($200K). Together the top 10 received $582K.
Grant Size Distribution
143 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 133 grants of 143 (93%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| St Peter's University Jersey City, NJ | Education | $200,000 |
| Brandeis University - Madeline Rogala Waltham, MA | Student Education | $103,475 |
| Stevens Institute of Technology - for James Mallon Hoboken, NJ | Student Education | $60,921 |
| St Bartholemew Church East Brunswick, NJ | Religious Services | $50,000 |
| Keiser University - Sierrah Payne Fort Lauderdale, FL | Student Education | $34,010 |
| University of Tennessee- Luc Acquaviva Queens, NY | Student Education | $30,000 |
| Arrhythmic Technologies Institute- Kim Koger Greenville, SC | Student Education | $28,500 |
| Drew University - for Haley Meierhofer Madison, NJ | Student Education | $25,400 |
| Diocese of Metuchen Piscataway, NJ | Religious - servicing Middlesex, Somerset, Hunterdon, and Warren counties in nj | $25,000 |
| Our Lady Lourdes Milltown, NJ | Religious Services | $25,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $5,606,740 | $233,678 | $750,193 | $700,039 |
| 2023 | $6,123,255 | $169,678 | $385,604 | $339,922 |
| 2022 | $6,339,181 | $200,897 | $396,673 | $340,851 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $5,161,970 | $5,606,740 | $6,123,255 |
| Revenue | $449,143 | $233,678 | $169,678 |
| Expenses | $893,913 | $750,193 | $385,604 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $846,738 | $700,039 | $339,922 |
| Net Investment Income | $407,722 | $191,151 | $175,733 |
| Distributable Amount | $275,308 | $298,351 | $313,925 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 30, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 10, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2024 filing lists James Clark, Frank La Cava, and Susan Barlett as trustees.
Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc's 2025 filing lists 3 officers; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Frank La Cava
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
James Clark
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Susan Barlett
Trustee
On filings since 2019
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Application contact: Frank La Cava
Mailing address: 9304 Wentworth Lane, Port Saint Lucie, FL 34986
Phone: (609) 638-1421
Frequently asked questions about Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc
How much does Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc give each year?
Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc gave $847K across 38 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $700K across 36 grants.
What is Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc's typical grant size?
Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc's median grant in 2025 was $10,000, and its average grant was $22,283, across 38 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc that year got $19K on average.
Where does Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc give grants?
Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc gives mostly in New Jersey: 63% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Massachusetts (12%) and Florida (6%). The most frequent recipient cities were East Brunswick, NJ (2 grants), South Orange, NJ (2 grants) and Glassboro, NJ (2 grants).
Does Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 38 grants with a stated purpose on Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Student Education" (21 grants) and "Religious Services" (3 grants).
Who are Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc's largest grantees?
Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc's largest 2025 grantees include St Peter's University ($200,000), Brandeis University - Madeline Rogala ($103,475) and Stevens Institute of Technology - for James Mallon ($60,921), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 43% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc?
Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc reported $5.2M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $847K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $275K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc fund?
No mission statement is provided. The 2024 grants show support for educational purposes, religious services, and other charitable organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc?
Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc does not accept unsolicited proposals, according to Grantable's research on its published guidelines.
What is Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc's EIN?
Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 22-2693991. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Does Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Miramar Charitable Foundation
Ft Mitchell, KY
Miramar Charitable Foundation funds preselected charitable organizations across areas including arts, survivor support, education, science, and journalism, with grants to recipients in multiple states; in 2024, the largest shares went to Colorado, North Carolina, California, New York, and Florida. Its 2024 grants ranged from $250 to $1 million, with a median of $2,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
—
Grants
188
Total Given
$4.5M
Gives Sunset FKA Depcom Gives
Scottsdale, AZ
Assets
—
Grants
8
Total Given
$37K
B & R Charitable Foundation Inc
Nashville, TN
Assets
$203K
Grants
1
Total Given
$55K
The Bryan Foundation
Baton Rouge, LA
Assets
$524K
Grants
16
Total Given
$50K
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
—
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Princeton, NJ
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funds work to improve health and health equity in the United States, including health policy, community health, prevention, and social justice. In 2024, its grants ranged from $125 to $12.15 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to recipients across multiple states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$13.4B
Grants
3,093
Total Given
$622.6M
Community Foundation of New Jersey
Morristown, NJ
The Community Foundation of New Jersey supports nonprofits and projects across arts, education, environment, health and human services, and social welfare. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of about $19,800, though awards varied widely; funding went to organizations in multiple states, with 32% of itemized grant dollars going to New Jersey. It accepts applications for specific opportunities, and its FAQ encourages eligible New Jersey 501(c)(3) nonprofits to apply; requirements vary by opportunity.
Assets
$1.0B
Grants
1,321
Total Given
$93.8M
Crane Fund for Widows and Children
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
The Crane Fund for Widows and Children supports local charities, agencies, and schools addressing needs such as food insecurity, housing, education, health, environmental protection, and animal welfare in communities where Crane Company operates or its associates have connections. In 2024, grants ranged from $2,000 to $45,000, with a median of $4,500; it funds organizations in multiple states. The fund contributes only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
—
Grants
985
Total Given
$4.5M
Community Food Bank Of New Jersey Inc
Hillside, NJ
The Community Food Bank of New Jersey funds community organizations addressing hunger and food insecurity, including food distribution, nutrition, and related support programs. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,660 to $399,494, with a median of $20,000; nearly all funding went to organizations in New Jersey. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$125.2M
Grants
705
Total Given
$151.0M
The Hyde and Watson Foundation
Warren Township, NJ
The Hyde and Watson Foundation funds one-time capital needs—such as construction, renovations, equipment, and furnishings—for eligible nonprofits working in human services, education, health, arts and culture, and the environment. Most grants are $5,000–$20,000, and it primarily serves New York City and Essex, Morris, and Union counties in New Jersey; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$88.2M
Grants
611
Total Given
$6.1M
Princeton Area Community Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
Princeton Area Community Foundation funds nonprofits working in education, basic needs, health, housing, arts, the environment, and nonprofit capacity, with priorities including poverty and the needs of children, families, and communities. Its 2024 median grant was $15,000, and its discretionary programs focus on Greater Mercer County and central New Jersey, though donor-recommended grants may support nonprofits elsewhere. Eligible regional nonprofits may apply through competitive programs such as the Community Impact Grants.
Assets
$279.6M
Grants
515
Total Given
$31.3M
Oceanfirst Foundation
Toms River, NJ
OceanFirst Foundation funds nonprofits working in economic stability, youth development, health and wellness, housing, education, and community quality of life, including scholarships, summer camps, and flexible support. It serves communities in OceanFirst Bank’s New Jersey footprint; 2025 grants ranged from $50 to $55,000, with a median of $2,200. It accepts unsolicited requests, and deadlines vary by program.
Assets
$6.1M
Grants
425
Total Given
$1.6M
More Funders in New Jersey
Joseph J Jaroschak Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?