Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo
JOSEPH & KATHLEEN CURATOLO is a private foundation based in Williamsville, New York. It reported making 21 grants totaling $151,857 in 2025, supporting charitable organizations in several states.
Key facts about Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo
In short: Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo gave $152K across 21 grants in 2025 (avg $7K), top state New York. 71% of 2025 grantees were new. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 87-4586090
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025
- Annual giving (2025)
- $151,857
- Grants made (2025)
- 21
- Average grant
- $7,231
- Median grant
- $5,357
- New grantees (estimate)
- 71% first-time grantees (15 of 21, 2025)
- Total assets
- $105,948
- Primary geography
- New York (42% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$106K
+55.8% YoY
Annual Giving
$152K
+47.6% YoY
Grant Count
21
-16.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$7K
+75.8% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo reported a distributable amount of $5K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo open to new grantees?
71%
first-time grantees, 2025
In 2025, 15 of 21 grantees (71%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $8K; repeat grants $6K. How we count
Medians: $8K first-time, $5K repeat.
- 24% of 2025 grantees were also funded in 2024. Method
- Giving grew 135% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2022–2025). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
The available filing information does not state a mission for the foundation. Its 2025 grants included organizations whose own missions address economic mobility and technology careers, support for people with developmental disabilities, services for children with cancer, and programs for children with autism. For example, Per Scholas describes its work as advancing economic mobility through training and employer connections; Mychal’s Learning Place describes supporting young people with developmental disabilities to build independence; and Special Spaces describes providing dream bedrooms for children with cancer. These are grantee missions, not stated missions of the foundation.
Grantmaking
In 2025, the foundation reported 21 grants totaling $151,857. Grant amounts ranged from $2,500 to $12,000, with a median of $5,357.
Ready to take the next step with Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
The 2025 grant dollars went to recipients in New York (42%), Florida (20%), Ohio (19%), California (13%), and Tennessee (5%). These figures describe the locations of 2025 recipients.
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 21 itemized 2025 grant dollars.
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2022 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $65K (2022) to $152K (2025). In 2025 it made 21 grants totaling $152K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Christopher's Promise ($12K). Together the top 10 received $102K.
Grant Size Distribution
89 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 89 grants of 89 (100%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Christopher's Promise Columbus, OH | Charitable | $12,000 |
| Per Scholas Bronx, NY | Charitable | $12,000 |
| Mychal's Learning Place Hawthorne, CA | Charitable | $12,000 |
| Heinzerling Community Columbus, OH | Charitable | $11,600 |
| Gi Gi's Playhouse Buffalo, NY | Charitable | $10,900 |
| Miami Children Museum Miami, FL | Charitable | $10,000 |
| Miami Holms for All Miami, FL | Charitable | $10,000 |
| Our Lady of Hope Buffalo, NY | Charitable | $8,000 |
| Gerald Place Buffalo, NY | Charitable | $7,500 |
| Special Spaces Knoxville, TN | Charitable | $7,500 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants | Grant count |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $105,948 | $192,329 | $154,383 | $151,857 | 21 |
| 2024 | $68,002 | $122,744 | $104,356 | $102,857 | 25 |
| 2023 | $49,614 | $110,000 | $79,196 | $72,118 | 24 |
| Metric | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $105,948 | $68,002 | $49,614 |
| Revenue | $192,329 | $122,744 | $110,000 |
| Expenses | $154,383 | $104,356 | $79,196 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $151,857 | $102,857 | $72,118 |
| Net Investment Income | — | — | — |
| Distributable Amount | $5,218 | $3,349 | $2,444 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 15, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 9, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS June 11, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 28, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2022–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
The 2025 filing lists Joseph Curatolo as president/chair, Mary Kelly Rehak as secretary, and Michael Curatolo as treasurer.
Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo is led by Joseph Curatolo, President & Chair on every filing since 2022; none of the 3 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Joseph Curatolo
President & Chair
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Mary Kelly Rehak
Secretary
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Michael Curatolo
Treasurer
On filings since 2022
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2022–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Contact
Mailing address: 5350 Main Street, Williamsville, NY 14221
Phone: (716) 633-9800
Frequently asked questions about Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo
How much does Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo give each year?
Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo gave $152K across 21 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $103K across 25 grants.
What is Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo's typical grant size?
Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo's median grant in 2025 was $5,357, and its average grant was $7,231, across 21 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo that year got $8K on average.
Where does Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo give grants?
Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo's top state is New York, with 42% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Florida (20%) and Ohio (19%). The most frequent recipient cities were Buffalo, NY (5 grants), Columbus, OH (3 grants) and Miami, FL (3 grants).
Does Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 21 grants with a stated purpose on Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Charitable" (21 grants).
Who are Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo's largest grantees?
Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo's largest 2025 grantees include Christopher's Promise ($12,000), Per Scholas ($12,000) and Mychal's Learning Place ($12,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 24% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo?
Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo reported $106K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $152K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $5K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo fund?
The available filing information does not state a mission for the foundation. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo's EIN?
Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 87-4586090. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2022–2025.
Does Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Community Foundation for Greater Buffalo
Buffalo, NY
The Community Foundation for Greater Buffalo funds nonprofits and community initiatives addressing racial and ethnic equity, economic mobility, environmental resilience, and regional arts and culture, primarily across Western New York’s eight counties. Its 2024 grants ranged from $5,100 to $1,790,661, with a median of $23,220; it accepts applications through its competitive process, which requires a full electronic application.
Assets
$944.0M
Grants
562
Total Given
$33.4M
Enterprise Holdings Foundation
Saint Louis, MO
Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.
Assets
$594.3M
Grants
1
Total Given
$101.4M
The John R Oishei Foundation
Buffalo, NY
The John R. Oishei Foundation supports community-led work advancing racial equity and financial prosperity, including education, workforce development, arts and technology, and systems change in the Buffalo-Niagara region, with priority for Buffalo’s East Side. Its 2024 grants ranged from $750 to $930,000, with a median of $20,000. It is not accepting new grant requests; organizations interested in partnership can complete its Request to Partner form.
Assets
$330.0M
Grants
168
Total Given
$9.5M
The Frank G Raichle Foundation
Williamsville, NY
The Frank G Raichle Foundation’s 2025 grants supported New York charities working in areas such as education, health, food and nutrition, arts, broadcasting, and disability services. It awarded $1,000–$10,000 per grant, with a median of $5,000, and gives only to preselected organizations; it does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$2.6M
Grants
19
Total Given
$118K
Aetna Foundation Inc
Hartford, CT
Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.
Assets
$16.6M
Grants
65
Total Given
$7.2M
The Ford Foundation
New York, NY
The Ford Foundation funds organizations, individuals, and ideas working to reduce inequality and advance social justice, including work in areas such as immigrant justice, criminal justice reform, gender equity, and arts and culture, through grants around the world. Its 2024 grants had a median of $100,000, with amounts ranging from $45 to $15 million; it does not accept unsolicited requests by mail, email, or phone.
Assets
$17.5B
Grants
4,007
Total Given
$844.7M
The New York Community Trust
New York, NY
The New York Community Trust funds projects in areas including arts, education, health, human services, community development, and the environment, primarily in New York City, Long Island, and Westchester, with some opportunities elsewhere. Its 2024 median grant was $20,000, though awards varied widely. It accepts applications through its open competitive grants program and selected RFPs or letters of interest; donor-advised funds do not accept proposals.
Assets
$3.5B
Grants
2,748
Total Given
$193.8M
The Simons Foundation Inc
New York, NY
The Simons Foundation funds research in mathematics and the basic sciences, as well as autism and other disease research, through grants to research centers, universities, and related organizations. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,480 to $20 million, with a median of $72,000; funding is concentrated in New York, California, and Massachusetts, with awards also made elsewhere in the U.S. and internationally. Whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$4.5B
Grants
1,727
Total Given
$272.0M
More Funders in New York
Joseph & Kathleen Curatolo down — hundreds of funders to go?