Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation
JEFFERSON FAMILY CHARITABLE FOUNDATION is a private foundation based in Charlottesville, Virginia. Its 2024 filing reports 36 grants totaling $251,480 to charitable organizations, with grants including support for education, research, arts, health, and community services.
Key facts about Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation
In short: Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation gave $251K across 36 grants in 2024 (avg $7K), top state New York. 11% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
- EIN
- 47-6491632
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2024
- Annual giving (2024)
- $251,480
- Grants made (2024)
- 36
- Average grant
- $6,986
- Median grant
- $5,000
- New grantees (estimate)
- 11% first-time grantees (4 of 36, 2024)
- Total assets
- $5,347,460
- Primary geography
- New York (49% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
- Accepts unsolicited proposals
- No
- How to apply
- The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.
Financial Overview
From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing
Total Assets
$5.3M
+4.1% YoY
Annual Giving
$251K
-3.4% YoY
Grant Count
36
+0.0% YoY
Avg Grant Size
$7K
-3.4% YoY
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation reported a distributable amount of $261K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Is Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation open to new grantees?
11%
first-time grantees, 2024
In 2024, 4 of 36 grantees (11%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $7K; repeat grants $7K. How we count
Medians: $8K first-time, $5K repeat.
- 89% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
- Giving held roughly steady from 2021 to 2024 (+6%). Method
- In 2024 it paid out 112% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2020–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.
Mission & Focus Areas
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 recipients illustrate a range of supported organizations. Millbrook School describes its mission as preparing students for college and meaningful lives; SafeSpace says it supports adult victims of domestic violence and their children; and the Vermont Land Trust focuses on helping people protect, care for, and connect to land. Other recipients include museums, a laboratory, and health and community organizations.
Grantmaking
In 2024, the foundation reported 36 grants totaling $251,480. Grant amounts ranged from $1,000 to $26,000, with a median of $5,000. Its largest listed awards were $26,000 each to Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory and Millbrook School; $15,000 each to Florida Oceanographic Institute and Save the Children; and $12,000 to Art Council of Martin County. Other listed grants included $10,000 to Founding Friends of Hospice, SafeSpace, Harbour Ridge Family Foundation, Martin Health Foundation, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Boys and Girls Club of Martin, and Sandhill Cove Foundation.
Ready to take the next step with Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation?
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
In 2024, 49% of grant dollars went to recipients in New York and 39% to recipients in Florida. Smaller shares went to recipients in Vermont (3%), California (2%), and Nebraska (2%).
Grant Distribution by State
Share of all 36 itemized 2024 grant dollars.
States
Cities
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $238K (2021) to $267K (2022). In 2024 it made 36 grants totaling $251K.
Grant Insights
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 10 recipients in 2024
The largest 2024 recipient was Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory ($26K). Together the top 10 received $144K.
Grant Size Distribution
168 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 167 grants of 168 (99%).
Giving History
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Cold Spring Harbor, NY | General | $26,000 |
| Millbrook School Millbrook, NY | General | $26,000 |
| Florida Oceanographic Institute Stuart, FL | General | $15,000 |
| Save the Children Cold Spring Harbor, NY | General | $15,000 |
| Art Council of Martin County Stuart, FL | General | $12,000 |
| Founding Friends of Hospice Stuart, FL | Support of the Ill | $10,000 |
| Safespace Stuart, FL | To Provide a Safeand Secure Environmentfor Every Child | $10,000 |
| Harbour Ridge Family Foundation Palm City, FL | General | $10,000 |
| Martin Health Foundation Stuart, FL | General | $10,000 |
| Cornell Lab of Ornithology Ithaca, NY | General | $10,000 |
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $5,347,460 | $135,213 | $411,193 | $251,480 |
| 2023 | $5,136,035 | $127,136 | $409,545 | $260,222 |
| 2022 | $5,149,721 | $167,367 | $419,113 | $266,800 |
| Metric | 2024 | 2023 | 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Assets | $5,347,460 | $5,136,035 | $5,149,721 |
| Revenue | $135,213 | $127,136 | $167,367 |
| Expenses | $411,193 | $409,545 | $419,113 |
| Qualifying Distributions | $292,195 | $295,579 | $302,361 |
| Net Investment Income | $413,916 | — | — |
| Distributable Amount | $261,144 | $248,553 | $254,428 |
Data update history
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Leadership & Key People
Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings
Bradford Lamb was listed as trustee on the 2024 filing.
Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation is led by Bradford Lamb, Trustee on the 2024 filing — the only officer listed, and compensated.
Officers on the 2024 filing
Bradford Lamb
Trustee
New on the 2024 filing
5 hrs/week
$60K (2024)
Former officers (1)
- Former: Gordon Lamb (2020–2023) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Compensation Overview
From 2024 IRS filing
The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $60K, to Bradford Lamb (Trustee).
Contact
Mailing address: 107 Ednam Place, Charlottesville, VA 22903
Phone: (434) 960-0118
Website: https://jeffersontrust.org
Frequently asked questions about Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation
How much does Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation give each year?
Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation gave $251K across 36 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $260K across 36 grants.
What is Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation's typical grant size?
Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $5,000, and its average grant was $6,986, across 36 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation that year got $7K on average.
Where does Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation give grants?
Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation's top state is New York, with 49% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest state was Florida (39%). The most frequent recipient cities were Stuart, FL (6 grants), Cold Spring Harbor, NY (4 grants), New York, NY (4 grants) and Palm City, FL (2 grants).
Does Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation give general operating support?
Yes: 86% of Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (31 of 36) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.
Who are Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation's largest grantees?
Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory ($26,000), Millbrook School ($26,000) and Florida Oceanographic Institute ($15,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 27% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.
How large is Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation?
Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation reported $5.3M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $292K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $261K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What does Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation fund?
No mission statement for the foundation is provided. Its 2024 recipients illustrate a range of supported organizations. See mission & focus areas ↑
How do I apply for a grant from Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation?
The foundation states that it makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑
What is Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation's EIN?
Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 47-6491632. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.
Does Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?
No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.
Here's the math on researching Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation by hand.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders that support many of the same organizations
Robert David Lion Gardiner
Riverhead, NY
The foundation funds nonprofit projects preserving and sharing Long Island history, including collections care, exhibitions, education, public programs, and historic restoration, with particular emphasis on Islip and Suffolk County. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,152 to $500,000, with a median of $10,000. It requires applicants to contact the office before applying; unsolicited applications without prior discussion and site visits are not considered.
Assets
$122.7M
Grants
85
Total Given
$4.3M
The James and Robin Coogan Foundation
Bronxville, NY
The James and Robin Coogan Foundation makes cash grants to charitable, religious, and educational organizations serving varied needs. In 2025, grants ranged from $100 to $25,000, with a median of $1,000; funding was concentrated in New York, Florida, and Rhode Island. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.
Assets
$5.5M
Grants
74
Total Given
$213K
The Henry Luce Foundation Inc
New York, NY
The Henry Luce Foundation funds U.S. nonprofits and international equivalents working in areas including education, research, arts, civic life, Indigenous knowledge, religion, and women in STEM. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, with amounts ranging from $75 to $1.25 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
652
Total Given
$49.3M
Jack Kent Cooke Foundation
Lansdowne, VA
The Jack Kent Cooke Foundation funds education for exceptionally promising students with financial need, through student scholarships and grants to organizations serving them. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6 to $515,000, with a median of $7,702; 86% of grant dollars went to Virginia recipients, with others across multiple states and Washington, D.C. The available information does not state whether it accepts unsolicited organizational requests.
Assets
$940.1M
Grants
1,419
Total Given
$25.1M
Donors Trust Inc
Alexandria, VA
Donors Trust supports charities and programs in social welfare, health, the environment, economics, governance, foreign relations, and arts and culture, with a strong emphasis on conservative and libertarian policy and education groups. Its 2024 grants had a median of $50,000, though awards ranged from $5,038 to $35 million, and recipients were concentrated in Washington, D.C., Virginia, New York, Texas, and California. It does not accept unsolicited requests; donor-advisors recommend grants through their accounts.
Assets
$1.4B
Grants
919
Total Given
$282.1M
The Community Foundation Inc
Richmond, VA
The Community Foundation funds health and wellness, education, economic prosperity, and community vibrancy, as well as other causes through donor-advised and field-of-interest funds. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000, with awards ranging from $5,100 to $1.795 million; most funding went to Virginia, especially the Richmond area. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$852.4M
Grants
917
Total Given
$61.8M
America's Charities
Chantilly, VA
America’s Charities distributes workplace-giving contributions to member nonprofits working in areas such as education, health, hunger, human rights, and disaster relief; it also manages emergency assistance for eligible employees. In 2024, reported grants ranged from $5,017 to $1,379,226, with a median of $9,674, and recipients were concentrated in California, Virginia, D.C., Maryland, and Pennsylvania. These disbursements are donor-directed contributions rather than competitive grants; the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.
Assets
$36.2M
Grants
808
Total Given
$16.4M
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation
Richmond, VA
Dominion Energy Charitable Foundation funds eligible 501(c)(3) organizations in health and human services, education, arts and culture, civic and community development, and the environment within Dominion’s operating area. Its 2024 grants ranged from $100 to $1 million, with a median of $5,000. It accepts online applications during spring and fall grant cycles.
Assets
—
Grants
773
Total Given
$16.4M
Foster Foundation
Brookneal, VA
Assets
$18.6M
Grants
686
Total Given
$1.3M
JT-Minnie Maude Charitable Trust
Danville, VA
The J.T.–Minnie Maude Charitable Trust funds tax-exempt organizations and government agencies for a wide range of projects that improve quality of life for residents of Danville and/or Pittsylvania County, Virginia. Its 2025 grants had a median of $2,000 and ranged from $500 to $220,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online application, with an annual August 1 deadline.
Assets
$51.2M
Grants
678
Total Given
$2.3M
More Funders in Virginia
Jefferson Family Charitable Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?