James E Hughes Jr Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Birmingham, AL EIN: 86-3843897

James E Hughes Jr Foundation is a private foundation, based in Birmingham, AL. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $1.9M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 3 grants totaling $20K. Net investment income was $165K.

Key facts about James E Hughes Jr Foundation

In short: James E Hughes Jr Foundation gave $20K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $7K), mostly in Massachusetts. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
86-3843897
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025
Annual giving (2025)
$20,000
Grants made (2025)
3
Average grant
$6,667
Median grant
$5,000
Total assets
$1,868,988
Primary geography
Massachusetts (50% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2025 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$1.9M

+0.6% YoY

Annual Giving

$20K

-24.5% YoY

Grant Count

3

-40.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$7K

+25.8% YoY

How James E Hughes Jr Foundation gives

  • Giving fell 20% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with James E Hughes Jr Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

7states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.

Cities

DenverLa Canada FlintridgeBonita SpringsBostonClaremontGladstoneSeattleSkokie

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$10K$20K$30K1 grant2021 1 grant2022 0 grants2023 5 grants2024 3 grants2025

From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $20K (2025) to $27K (2024). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $20K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 3 recipients in 2025

The Boston Foundation - Karoff Fund for Leadership in Philanthropy: $10KThe Boston Foundation - KaroffFund for Leadership in…$10KHorizons Colorado: $5KHorizons Colorado$5KMusizi University Foundation: $5KMusizi University Foundation$5K

The largest 2025 recipient was The Boston Foundation - Karoff Fund for Leadership in Philanthropy ($10K). Together the top 3 received $20K.

Grant Size Distribution

10 grants across all recorded years

10<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 10 grants of 10 (100%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The Boston Foundation - Karoff Fund for Leadership in Philanthropy Boston, MATo promote art and culture for historically underserved communities$10,000
Horizons Colorado Denver, COTo create community and opportunity for youth of under-resourced communities in and around denver$5,000
Musizi University Foundation La Canada Flintridge, CATo Provide Higher Education for African Youth$5,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$500K$1M$1.5M2021 2022 2023 2024 2025
Metric202520242023
Total Assets$1,868,988$1,858,610$1,892,772
Revenue$271,862$171,663$624,947
Expenses$261,484$205,825$127,962
Qualifying Distributions$252,546$190,452$117,382
Net Investment Income$164,785$79,902$47,804

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS June 3, 2022)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 8, 2023)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 13, 2024)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 1, 2025)
  5. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
  6. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

James E Hughes Jr Foundation's 2025 filing lists 5 officers; 1 of 5 officers listed in 2025 is compensated.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Catherine Rollhaus

    Director

    New on the 2025 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $100K (2025)

  • James E. Hughes Jr.

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kenneth H. Polk

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mary Duke

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Peter Evans

    Director

    On filings since 2021

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Catherine Rollhaus — Director: $100KCatherine RollhausDirector$100K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $100K, to Catherine Rollhaus (Director).

Frequently asked questions about James E Hughes Jr Foundation

How much does James E Hughes Jr Foundation give each year?

James E Hughes Jr Foundation gave $20K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $27K across 5 grants.

What is James E Hughes Jr Foundation's typical grant size?

James E Hughes Jr Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $5,000, and its average grant was $6,667, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does James E Hughes Jr Foundation give grants?

James E Hughes Jr Foundation gives mostly in Massachusetts: 50% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Colorado (25%) and California (25%).

Does James E Hughes Jr Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 3 grants with a stated purpose on James E Hughes Jr Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.

How large is James E Hughes Jr Foundation?

James E Hughes Jr Foundation reported $1.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Its revenue that year was $272K.

What is James E Hughes Jr Foundation's EIN?

James E Hughes Jr Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 86-3843897. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching James E Hughes Jr Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in James E Hughes Jr Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Alabama

Ratna Sabapathy Family Foundation Inc

Palm Beach Garde, FL

The foundation supports animal welfare and conservation, along with organizations serving military families and retired service dogs; its 2025 grants went to recipients in multiple states. It made 27 grants totaling $38,980, typically around $1,000 (ranging from $500 to $5,500). The filing says giving is not limited to preselected organizations, but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$819K

Grants

27

Total Given

$39K

Florand Research Foundation Inc

Gainesville, FL

Social Science

Assets

$2.2M

Grants

2

Total Given

$89K

Fleischaker Women's Legacy Fund

Oklahoma City, OK

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.1M

Grants

12

Total Given

$30K

The Loftus Family Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The Loftus Family Foundation funds churches, performing arts and music, schools, children’s health, and youth programs, with nearly all 2024 grants going to organizations in California and a small share to Texas. Its 2024 grants ranged from $500 to $75,000, with a median of $5,650. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$6.3M

Grants

10

Total Given

$174K

Cheeryble Foundation

Encino, CA

The Cheeryble Foundation funds arts and cultural organizations, health and human services, and environmental work, with most of its giving going to California. Its 2024 grants ranged from $155 to $100,000, with a median of $1,625. The filing says giving is not limited to preselected organizations, but does not explicitly state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$2.7M

Grants

44

Total Given

$268K

The Rose and David Dortort Foundation

Los Angeles, CA

The Rose and David Dortort Foundation supports organizations in areas including environment, animal welfare, health, arts, education, religion, and civic engagement, with most 2025 grant dollars going to California. Its 35 grants ranged from $5,000 to $45,000, with a median of $10,000; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$13.7M

Grants

35

Total Given

$535K

The Patrick F Cadigan Family Foundation

Newport Beach, CA

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$290.3M

Grants

4

Total Given

$14.8M

Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation

Kansas City, MO

The foundation funds college access and completion, workforce and career development, entrepreneurship, and related efforts to improve economic mobility, with a primary focus on Kansas City and support for regional and national work. Its 2024 grants had a median of $75,000; it accepts requests through its online portal and says it does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Education

Assets

$2.5B

Grants

364

Total Given

$95.0M

The Volgenau Foundation

McLean, VA

The Volgenau Foundation funds conservation and wildlife protection, education for under-resourced communities, and classical music, with 2024 grants ranging from $25,000 to $4.15 million and a median grant of $112,500. It is based in Virginia, with recent grants concentrated in Virginia, Washington, D.C., California, and Montana, though it also funds elsewhere. It gives only to preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Environment & Animals

Assets

$166.2M

Grants

60

Total Given

$13.4M

Alabama Power Foundation Inc

Birmingham, AL

The Alabama Power Foundation funds Alabama nonprofits, schools, and community initiatives in education, civic and community development, arts and culture, health and human services, and environmental stewardship. In 2024, grants ranged from $100 to $500,000, with a median of $2,500. It provides an online application for grants; unsolicited requests are not specifically addressed.

Assets

$117.9M

Grants

1,240

Total Given

$16.2M

The Daniel Foundation of Alabama

Birmingham, AL

The Daniel Foundation of Alabama funds education and youth development, basic needs, health and human services, arts, and community and rural projects that strengthen Alabama communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $10,000 and ranged from $200 to $112,500, with most funding going to Alabama organizations and projects.

Assets

$114.5M

Grants

521

Total Given

$7.5M

The Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham

Birmingham, AL

The Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham funds programs, projects, and capital improvements across priorities including thriving communities, economic opportunity, poverty reduction, and equity. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $20,600, though awards varied widely; competitive grants support eligible organizations serving Blount, Jefferson, Shelby, and St. Clair counties in Alabama. It accepts competitive requests through periodic application cycles, but the current cycle described is closed.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$350.7M

Grants

440

Total Given

$43.6M

More Funders in Alabama

James E Hughes Jr Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?