James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Fair Lawn, NJ EIN: 22-3734103

JAMES & RITA SULLIVAN FAMILY is a private foundation based in Fair Lawn, New Jersey. It supports charitable organizations and their programs through grantmaking; its 2024 filing describes contributions to various charitable organizations in support of their programs.

Key facts about James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation

In short: James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation gave $96K across 34 grants in 2024 (avg $3K), mostly in New Jersey. 9% of 2024 grantees were new. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

EIN
22-3734103
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$96,100
Grants made (2024)
34
Average grant
$2,826
Median grant
$2,000
New grantees (estimate)
9% first-time grantees (3 of 34, 2024)
Total assets
$9,580
Primary geography
New Jersey (60% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Accepts unsolicited proposals
No
How to apply
The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Full details ↓

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026. New grantees are estimated by matching recipient names across years (methodology). Application details from Grantable's research on the foundation's public materials; confirm on its website before applying.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990-PF · View filing

Total Assets

$10K

+190.5% YoY

Annual Giving

$96K

+70.1% YoY

Grant Count

34

+9.7% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$3K

+55.1% YoY

Is James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation open to new grantees?

9%

first-time grantees, 2024

In 2024, 3 of 34 grantees (9%) were first-time recipients. First grants averaged $1K; repeat grants $3K. How we count

Medians: $300 first-time, $2K repeat.

  • 85% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving fell 53% from 2021 to 2024. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990-PF filings (2019–2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

Research compiled by Grantable AI from public sources. Last updated September 2026.

Mission & Focus Areas

The foundation’s stated charitable activity is giving to various charitable organizations in support of their programs. Its 2024 grants include stated purposes related to education, disability support, and religious services, as well as grants to organizations whose work includes child welfare, adoption, health care, food assistance, and support for children with specialized needs.

Among the grantees, LifeNet describes its mission as preventing cruelty to children through training, speaking engagements, and educational programs. Downey Side describes itself as a full-service adoption agency for older homeless children ages 7 to 17. Children’s Specialized Hospital says it raises funds to support its foundation and organizations with similar purposes.

Grantmaking

In 2024, the foundation reported 34 grants totaling $96,100. Grant amounts ranged from $300 to $19,000, with a median of $2,000.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

In 2024, recipients in New Jersey received 60% of grant dollars and recipients in New York received 28%. Smaller shares went to recipients in Florida (3%), Alabama (2%), and Illinois (2%).

Grant Distribution by State

11states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 34 itemized grants.

Cities

Fair LawnBronxNew YorkHobokenPrincetonSeaside ParkNewarkCliftonDenvilleFairfieldHackensackHillsideLewistonLivingstonMountainsidePort JervisQueensRamseyWashingtonBlauvelt

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K35 grants2019 31 grants2020 38 grants2021 37 grants2022 31 grants2023 34 grants2024

From 2019 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $57K (2023) to $206K (2021). In 2024 it made 34 grants totaling $96K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

St Annes Church: $19KSt Annes Church$19KLifenet: $8KLifenet$8KSisters of St Dominic: $6KSisters of St Dominic$6KSponsors Corner Inc: $6KSponsors Corner Inc$6KSeveral Sources Shelter: $5KSeveral Sources Shelter$5KPartnership Schools: $5KPartnership Schools$5KSt Johns Univ Athletics: $5KSt Johns Univ Athletics$5KCovenant House: $4KCovenant House$4KCardinal Hayes HS: $4KCardinal Hayes HS$4KArchbishop Annual Appeal: $3KArchbishop Annual Appeal$3K

The largest 2024 recipient was St Annes Church ($19K). Together the top 10 received $64K.

Grant Size Distribution

171 grants across all recorded years

168<$50K3$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 168 grants of 171 (98%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
St Annes Church Fair Lawn, NJFunds to Benefit Educ or Dis$19,000
Lifenet Newark, NJFunds to Benefit Educ & Dis.$8,000
Sisters of St Dominic Caldwell, NJFunds to Benefit Educ. & Dis.$6,000
Sponsors Corner Inc Port Jervis, NYTo Benefit Educ or Disablied$6,000
Several Sources Shelter Ramsey, NJFunds to Benefit Educ or Dis$5,000
Partnership Schools New York, NYFunds to Benefit Education$4,500
St Johns Univ Athletics Queens, NYFunds to Benefit Educ or Dis$4,500
Covenant House New York, NYFunds to Benefit Educ or Dis$4,000
Cardinal Hayes HS Bronx, NYFunds to Benefit Educ or Disabled$3,500
Archbishop Annual Appeal Newark, NJFunds to Benefit Religious Svcs$3,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Filing year Assets Revenue Expenses Grants
2024 $9,580 $102,328 $96,530 $96,100
2023 $3,298 $54,888 $56,955 $56,500
2022 $5,003 $141,917 $148,545 $148,000
Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$100K$200K$300K2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$9,580$3,298$5,003
Revenue$102,328$54,888$141,917
Expenses$96,530$56,955$148,545
Qualifying Distributions$96,530$56,955$148,545
Net Investment Income$8$12—

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS August 25, 2020)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Leadership team and compensation from IRS filings

The 2024 filing lists James F Sullivan as president. Trustees are Rita Sullivan, Daniel Sullivan, James F Sullivan Jr, Tara Harris, and Christine Johnson.

James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation is led by James F. Sullivan, President on every filing since 2019; none of the 6 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • James F. Sullivan

    President

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Christine Johnson

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Daniel Sullivan

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • James F. Sullivan Jr.

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Rita Sullivan

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

  • Tara Harris

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    No compensation reported

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Contact

Mailing address: 39-09 Wenonah Drive, Fair Lawn, NJ 07410
Phone: (201) 791-2599

Frequently asked questions about James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation

How much does James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation give each year?

James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation gave $96K across 34 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $57K across 31 grants.

What is James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation's typical grant size?

James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $2,000, and its average grant was $2,826, across 34 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Organizations receiving their first grant from James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation that year got $1K on average.

Where does James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation give grants?

James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation gives mostly in New Jersey: 60% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was New York (28%). The most frequent recipient cities were New York, NY (3 grants), Fair Lawn, NJ (2 grants), Newark, NJ (2 grants) and Bronx, NY (2 grants).

Does James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 34 grants with a stated purpose on James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Funds to Benefit Educ or Dis" (17 grants), "Funds to Benefit Educ or Disaster" (4 grants) and "Funds to Benefit Religious Svcs" (3 grants).

Who are James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation's largest grantees?

James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include St Annes Church ($19,000), Lifenet ($8,000) and Sisters of St Dominic ($6,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 34% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation?

James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation reported $10K in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Its revenue that year was $102K.

What does James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation fund?

The foundation’s stated charitable activity is giving to various charitable organizations in support of their programs. See mission & focus areas ↑

How do I apply for a grant from James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation?

The foundation makes contributions only to preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests for funds. Eligibility and process details are in the grantmaking section of this profile. See how to apply ↑

What is James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation's EIN?

James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 22-3734103. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2024.

Does James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation accept unsolicited proposals?

No, according to Grantable's research on the foundation's published guidelines. See how to apply ↑

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings. Research dossier generated September 2026.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce development, local economic development and recovery, disaster resilience, conservation, and economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. It reports more than $30 million in annual charitable grants; awards vary widely, with a 2024 median of $25,000, and applications of $20,000 or less are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants should contact their local Foundation representative before applying.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

Lester and Cathy Holze Jr

Elgin, IL

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$13K

Grants

79

Total Given

$46K

The Edward Colston Foundation Inc

Atlanta, GA

The Edward Colston Foundation supports organizations in health care, education, humanitarian aid, and religious leadership, with grants across the U.S. and the largest share going to Georgia. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,500 to $100,000, with a median of $10,000. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$12.5M

Grants

55

Total Given

$981K

Aetna Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.

Assets

—

Grants

65

Total Given

$7.2M

AbbVie Foundation

North Chicago, IL

The AbbVie Foundation funds health equity, access to care, cancer care, and community-led health solutions through partnerships and local programs, supporting communities worldwide. Its 2025 grants ranged from $8,000 to $15 million, with a median of $25,000. It says it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests; a separate Health Equity Accelerator is listed as encouraging applications, but its application details are not specified.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$265.6M

Grants

65

Total Given

$47.1M

The Paula and William J Marino Family

New Vernon, NJ

The foundation supports education and scholarships, arts, churches, and organizations providing food, medical care, and other assistance, with most funding going to New Jersey. In 2025, grants ranged from $100 to $118,500, with a median of $1,000. It does not accept unsolicited requests and gives only to preselected charitable organizations.

Assets

$727K

Grants

126

Total Given

$667K

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health-access initiatives for disproportionately affected populations, including cancer, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation, in the United States and internationally. In 2024, its median grant was $134,090, though awards varied widely; it says application materials are available upon request and advises organizations to contact it about the process, but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

Mutual of America Foundation

New York, NY

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$136K

Grants

539

Total Given

$839K

Knights of Columbus Charitable Fund Inc

New Haven, CT

The fund supports Catholic organizations and other charities whose missions align with Catholic teachings, primarily through donor-advised grants; 2024 awards had a median of $16,250, though amounts varied widely. Its grants went to organizations across the United States, with the largest shares in Washington, DC, Ohio, Connecticut, Virginia, and California. It does not accept unsolicited grant applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$127.1M

Grants

358

Total Given

$77.1M

Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota

St. Paul, MN

The Catholic Community Foundation of Minnesota funds spiritual, educational, and social needs through grants for education, capital improvements, assistance programs, and other charitable purposes. Its 2025 grants had a median of $16,124, and at least half of grants over any three-year period are intended for Minnesota organizations; 86% of 2025 grant dollars went to Minnesota. Its Social Impact and Educational Impact programs are invitation-only, while other CCF-directed programs may offer open, competitive applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$751.7M

Grants

504

Total Given

$43.9M

Community Foundation of New Jersey

Morristown, NJ

The Community Foundation of New Jersey supports nonprofits and projects across arts, education, environment, health and human services, and social welfare. Its 2024 itemized grants had a median of about $19,800, though awards varied widely; funding went to organizations in multiple states, with 32% of itemized grant dollars going to New Jersey. It accepts applications for specific opportunities, and its FAQ encourages eligible New Jersey 501(c)(3) nonprofits to apply; requirements vary by opportunity.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,321

Total Given

$93.8M

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Princeton, NJ

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation funds work to improve health and health equity in the United States, including health policy, community health, prevention, and social justice. In 2024, its grants ranged from $125 to $12.15 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to recipients across multiple states. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$13.4B

Grants

3,093

Total Given

$622.6M

More Funders in New Jersey

James & Rita Sullivan Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?