Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc

Private foundation · Grantmaker New York, NY EIN: 81-0812254

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc is a private foundation focused on Health, based in New York, NY. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $8.4M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 5 grants totaling $401K. Net investment income was $276K.

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc at a glance

In short: Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc gave $401K across 5 grants in 2024 (avg $80K), mostly in New York. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$400,567
+15.5% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
5
+25.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$80,113
-7.6% vs 2023
Median grant
$76,725
Total assets
$8,387,016
+10.4% vs 2023
Primary geography
New York (59% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2024

Columbia University: $175KColumbia University$175KWashington University: $89KWashington University$89KYale University: $77KYale University$77KUniversity of Health SCI: $32KUniversity of Health SCI$32KHospital for Special Sur: $28KHospital for Special Sur$28K

The largest 2024 recipient was Columbia University ($175K). Together the top 5 received $401K.

Grant Size Distribution

25 grants across all recorded years

7<$50K12$50–100K6$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 12 grants of 25 (48%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

6states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

New YorkMt ScopusSt. LouisCharlestonClevelandJamaicaKansas CityNew HavenScottsdale

How Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc gives

  • Giving grew 27% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 108% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$200K$400K$600K7 grants2020 4 grants2021 5 grants2022 4 grants2023 5 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $305K (2022) to $448K (2020). In 2024 it made 5 grants totaling $401K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Columbia University New York, NYResearch$175,000
Washington University St. Louis, MOResearch$88,842
Yale University New Haven, CTResearch$76,725
University of Health SCI Newyork, NYResearch$32,000
Hospital for Special Sur New York, NYResearch$28,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024$8,387,016$359,062$513,492$400,5675$421,817$275,658$391,095
2023$7,598,543$389,078$450,094$346,7664$368,016$316,678$360,516
2022$7,093,195$354,702$411,614$304,6415$325,933$276,841$368,416
2021$8,912,714$399,472$428,465$315,8314$337,081$310,588$429,980
2020$8,318,790$-13,328$563,120$447,9697—$108,120$370,512

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc reported a distributable amount of $391K for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc is led by Stephen M. Harnik, President & Director on every filing since 2020; 1 of 7 officers listed in 2024 is compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Stephen M. Harnik

    President & Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $9K (2020) → $0 (2024)

  • Christian Votava

    Treasurer & Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gerard Armand

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jerome Cantor

    Vice President & Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Daniel Greif

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Dirk Hubmacher

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Nicholas M. Harnik

    Secretary & Administrator

    Secretary & Director → Secretary & Administrator, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    3 hrs/week

    $25K (2020) → $25K (2024)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Nicholas M Harnik — Sec & Administrator: $25KNicholas M HarnikSec & Administrator$25K

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $25K, to Nicholas M Harnik (Sec & Administrator).

Frequently asked questions about Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc

How much does Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc give each year?

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc gave $401K across 5 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $347K across 4 grants.

What is Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc's typical grant size?

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc's median grant in 2024 was $76,725, and its average grant was $80,113, across 5 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc give grants?

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc gives mostly in New York: 59% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest states were Missouri (22%) and Connecticut (19%). The most frequent recipient cities were New York, NY (3 grants).

Does Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2024: none of the 5 grants with a stated purpose on Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc's 2024 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Research" (5 grants).

Who are Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc's largest grantees?

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc's largest 2024 grantees include Columbia University ($175,000), Washington University ($88,842) and Yale University ($76,725), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 85% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc?

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc reported $8.4M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $422K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $391K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc?

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc is a private foundation focused on Health, based in New York, NY. It holds $8.4M in total assets as of 2024.

What is Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc's EIN?

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 81-0812254. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

American Heart Association Inc

Dallas, TX

The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational and population research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular and brain health, along with research training and education programs. In 2025 it awarded 833 grants totaling about $198 million; amounts ranged from $5,000 to nearly $9.93 million, with a median of $20,000. Research awards are for eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions, and the profile describes a formal proposal process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

833

Total Given

$198.2M

American Cancer Society Inc

Atlanta, GA

The American Cancer Society funds cancer research, patient support, and advocacy, including grants to researchers, institutions, and related organizations. Its 2025 grants ranged from $5,648 to $9.6 million, with a median of $15,000; research funding supports institutions across the United States. It accepts applications for specific research programs through ProposalCentral, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$1.7B

Grants

509

Total Given

$23.1M

Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Bethesda, MD

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation funds cystic fibrosis research, drug development, specialized care, and related training and clinical programs. In 2024, its grants had a median of about $150,000, with awards ranging from $2,800 to nearly $12.9 million; it supports work nationwide. Applications are submitted through specific funding opportunities, but the profile does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$5.0B

Grants

624

Total Given

$189.6M

Ernst & Young Foundation

New York, NY

Ernst & Young Foundation supports higher education through employee and partner matching gifts, as well as educational and special-project grants, including research, education forums, and programs that expand educational opportunity. In 2025, it made 637 grants ranging from $5,056 to $316,005, with a median of $13,525, to recipients across multiple states; the largest shares went to New York, Texas, California, Michigan, and Pennsylvania. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$47.6M

Grants

637

Total Given

$16.7M

President and Fellows of Harvard College

Cambridge, MA

Harvard’s grantmaking primarily supports research and education, including research awards and sub-awards to universities, hospitals, and research institutes. In 2025, it reported 352 grants ranging from $5,002 to $27.4 million, with a median of $123,018; recipients were concentrated in Massachusetts, which received 64% of grant dollars. The profile does not state whether Harvard accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$79.9B

Grants

352

Total Given

$273.3M

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Troy, NY

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute’s reported grants primarily support research subcontracts to universities, medical institutions, and research organizations; its student scholarships and fellowships are not grants to outside applicants. In 2025, grants ranged from $5,700 to $659,031, with a median of $71,429, and recipients were located across the U.S., especially in New York. It does not state whether it accepts unsolicited funding requests.

Education

Assets

$1.8B

Grants

57

Total Given

$7.3M

More similar funders

More Funders in New York

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Ines Mandl Research Foundation Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?