Hugh Marshall

Private foundation · Grantmaker Birmingham, AL EIN: 62-6283263

Hugh Marshall is a private foundation, based in Birmingham, AL. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $129K in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 2 grants totaling $4K. Net investment income was $639.

Hugh Marshall at a glance

In short: Hugh Marshall gave $4K across 2 grants in 2025 (avg $2K), mostly in Tennessee. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$4,440
+2.8% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
2
+0.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$2,220
+2.8% vs 2024
Median grant
$2,220
Total assets
$129,386
-5.4% vs 2024
Primary geography
Tennessee (55% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Hugh Marshall funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 2 recipients in 2025

Hickory Valley Christian Church Attn: $2KHickory Valley ChristianChurch Attn$2KCarolina Christian College Attn Mrs: $2KCarolina Christian CollegeAttn Mrs$2K

The largest 2025 recipient was Hickory Valley Christian Church Attn ($2K). Together the top 2 received $4K.

Grant Size Distribution

10 grants across all recorded years

10<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 10 grants of 10 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 2 itemized grants.

Cities

ChattanoogaWinston-Salem

How Hugh Marshall gives

  • Giving fell 31% from 2022 to 2025. Method
  • In 2025 it paid out 98% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2K$4K$6K$8K2 grants2020 2 grants2021 2 grants2022 2 grants2023 2 grants2024 2 grants2025

From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $2K (2020) to $7K (2021). In 2025 it made 2 grants totaling $4K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Hickory Valley Christian Church Attn Chattanooga, TNGeneral Operating$2,442
Carolina Christian College Attn Mrs Winston-Salem, NCGeneral Operating$1,998
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Hugh Marshall?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2025$129,386$2,408$9,869$4,4402$6,714$639$6,836
2024$136,842$6,228$9,774$4,3202$6,605$3,084$6,725
2023$140,390$159$10,297$5,0112$7,264$1,807$6,574
2022$150,441$1,831$11,604$6,4722$8,688$1,703$7,226
2021$160,195$4,740$11,643$6,5322$8,735$1,899$8,675
2020$167,093$7,748$6,929$1,8962—$4,822$8,739

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Hugh Marshall reported a distributable amount of $7K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Hugh Marshall's only listed officer is Regions Bank, Trustee on filings since 2020 (compensated).

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Regions Bank

    Trustee

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $4K (2020) → $4K (2025)

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Regions Bank Trust Dept (2022–2023) — Trustee

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2025 IRS filing

Regions Bank — Trustee: $4KRegions BankTrustee$4K

The highest reported compensation on the 2025 filing was $4K, to Regions Bank (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Hugh Marshall

How much does Hugh Marshall give each year?

Hugh Marshall gave $4K across 2 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $4K across 2 grants.

How large is Hugh Marshall?

Hugh Marshall reported $129K in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $7K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $7K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.

Where does Hugh Marshall operate?

Hugh Marshall has awarded grants in North Carolina, Tennessee.

What is Hugh Marshall's EIN?

Hugh Marshall's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 62-6283263. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(7)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 6, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS May 10, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 10, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS April 18, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS April 30, 2025)
  6. Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS April 21, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2025

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Hugh Marshall's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Similar funders in Alabama

Alabama Power Foundation Inc

Birmingham, AL

The Alabama Power Foundation funds Alabama nonprofits, schools, and community initiatives in education, civic and community development, arts and culture, health and human services, and environmental stewardship. In 2024, grants ranged from $100 to $500,000, with a median of $2,500. It provides an online application for grants; unsolicited requests are not specifically addressed.

Assets

$117.9M

Grants

1,240

Total Given

$16.2M

The Daniel Foundation of Alabama

Birmingham, AL

The Daniel Foundation of Alabama funds education and youth development, basic needs, health and human services, arts, and community and rural projects that strengthen Alabama communities. Its 2024 grants had a median of $10,000 and ranged from $200 to $112,500, with most funding going to Alabama organizations and projects.

Assets

$114.5M

Grants

521

Total Given

$7.5M

The Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham

Birmingham, AL

The Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham funds programs, projects, and capital improvements across priorities including thriving communities, economic opportunity, poverty reduction, and equity. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $20,600, though awards varied widely; competitive grants support eligible organizations serving Blount, Jefferson, Shelby, and St. Clair counties in Alabama. It accepts competitive requests through periodic application cycles, but the current cycle described is closed.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$350.7M

Grants

440

Total Given

$43.6M

The Long Lewis Foundation

Muscle Shoals, AL

The Long-Lewis Foundation supports evangelistic causes, local and global mission work, and people facing medical or emotional hardship, with limited scholarships for those pursuing full-time ministry. Its 2024 grants ranged from $27 to $62,450, with a median of $1,000; it primarily funded Alabama organizations and supports communities it serves. It states that it funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$5.5M

Grants

318

Total Given

$845K

Community Foundation of Greater Huntsville

Huntsville, AL

The Community Foundation of Greater Huntsville supports quality-of-life needs including education, basic needs, health, arts, and community development across Jackson, Limestone, Madison, Marshall, and Morgan Counties. In 2024, its grants had a median of $14,700 and ranged from $5,100 to $651,700; some named programs offer awards of $50,000. It provides application options for Foundation grants, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$66.3M

Grants

285

Total Given

$11.7M

Protective Life Foundation

Birmingham, AL

Protective Life Foundation funds nonprofits focused on education, food security, shelter, disaster relief, and community quality of life, primarily in metro Birmingham. Its 2024 grants had a median of $5,000, though awards ranged from $48 to $700,000; the Foundation does not restrict giving to preselected organizations, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$653K

Grants

219

Total Given

$3.8M

More similar funders

More Funders in Alabama

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Hugh Marshall's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Hugh Marshall down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?