Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc

Public charity · Grantmaker Charlotte, NC EIN: 56-1356858

Healthy Charlotte Alliance (Alliance) is a non-profit organization whose purpose is to improve the health and quality of life for all people of Mecklenburg County. It offers educational and informative events and lectures about health and wellness; grants and awards given through our endowment; and fun, informative meetings for members.

Key facts about Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc

In short: Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc gave $100K across 5 grants in 2026 (avg $20K), mostly in North Carolina. Source: 2026 IRS Form 990.

EIN
56-1356858
Latest 990 filing
Form 990, 2026
Annual giving (2026)
$100,000
Grants made (2026)
5
Average grant
$20,000
Median grant
$20,000
Total assets
$2,305,065
Primary geography
North Carolina (100% of itemized 2026 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990, 2026; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2026 IRS Form 990 · View filing

Total Assets

$2.3M

+8.8% YoY

Annual Giving

$100K

+11.1% YoY

Grant Count

5

+25.0% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$20K

-11.1% YoY

How Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc gives

  • Giving held roughly steady from 2023 to 2026 (+11%). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990 filings. Methodology.

About Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc

Based on IRS filings

Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc is a public charity, based in Charlotte, NC. IRS filing data is available from 2021 through 2026. As of 2026, the organization holds $2.3M in total assets. In 2026, it awarded 5 grants totaling $100K. Net investment income was $58K.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of 2026 grant dollars across all 5 itemized grants.

Cities

CharlotteConcordLos AngelesMatthew

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$25K$50K$75K$100K2 grants2021 4 grants2022 3 grants2023 3 grants2024 4 grants2025 5 grants2026

From 2021 to 2026, annual grant giving ranged from $80K (2021) to $100K (2026). In 2026 it made 5 grants totaling $100K.

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2026

Wayfinders: $35KWayfinders$35KBraveStep: $20KBraveStep$20KHopeWay: $20KHopeWay$20KKinderMourn: $15KKinderMourn$15KBaby Bundles: $10KBaby Bundles$10K

The largest 2026 recipient was Wayfinders ($35K). Together the top 5 received $100K.

Grant Size Distribution

19 grants across all recorded years

17<$50K2$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 17 grants of 19 (89%).

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Wayfinders Charlotte, NCTo further its mission$35,000
BraveStep Concord, NCTo further its mission$20,000
HopeWay Charlotte, NCTo further its mission$20,000
KinderMourn Charlotte, NCTo further its mission$15,000
Baby Bundles Charlotte, NCTo further its mission$10,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Net Investment Income
$0$100K$200K$300K2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026
Metric202620252024
Total Assets$2,305,065$2,119,340$2,058,677
Revenue$138,595$143,480$148,928
Expenses$206,475$197,316$192,996
Net Investment Income$57,689$57,904$73,477

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS July 21, 2021)
  2. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS August 2, 2022)
  3. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS August 29, 2023)
  4. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS October 3, 2024)
  5. Updated Form 990 for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS September 10, 2025)
  6. Added Form 990 for fiscal year 2026 (received by the IRS July 27, 2026)
  7. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2021–2025

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc is led by Erin Edwards, Executive Director on every filing since 2021; 1 of 14 officers listed in 2026 is compensated.

Officers on the 2026 filing

  • Erin Edwards

    Executive Director

    On filings since 2021

    20 hrs/week

    $38K (2021) → $71K (2026)

  • Jennie Carruth

    President

    Co-Vp Grants → At-Large, 2024

    At-Large → President, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    8 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Becky Williford

    Corr. Secretary

    Co-Vp Edu & Program → Co-Vp Board Development, 2022

    Co-Vp Board Development → Corr. Secretary, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Joan Scharf

    At-Large

    Corr. Secretary → At-Large, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Julie Adams

    Vice President & Grants

    Vice President Membership → Vice President & Grants, 2025

    On filings since 2021

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Karen Chandler

    Imm. Past President

    Board President → Past President, 2025

    Past President → Imm. Past President, 2026

    On filings since 2021

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Kendra May

    At-Large

    Co-Vp Edu & Program → Vice President, Edu & Program, 2022

    Vice President, Edu & Program → At-Large, 2026

    On filings since 2021

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Leslie Aronovitz

    Treasurer

    On filings since 2021

    6 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mimi Compton

    Vice President & Awards

    Vice President Awards → Vice President & Awards, 2026

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Mitzi Yount

    Parliamentarian

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sherry Ward

    At-Large

    Vice President Board Development → At-Large, 2024

    On filings since 2021

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Cristina Licari

    At-Large

    On filings since 2024

    2 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jane Llewellyn

    Vice President & Membership

    At-Large → Vice President & Membership, 2025

    On filings since 2024

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Teresa Starr

    Vice President, Edu & Program

    At Large → Vice President, Edu & Program, 2026

    On filings since 2025

    3 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Trisha Mendoza (2021–2024) — Vice President Grants

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2021–2026. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2026 IRS filing

Erin Edwards — Executive Dir.: $71KErin EdwardsExecutive Dir.$71K

The highest reported compensation on the 2026 filing was $71K, to Erin Edwards (Executive Dir.).

Frequently asked questions about Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc

How much does Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc give each year?

Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc gave $100K across 5 grants in 2026, according to its 2026 IRS Form 990. In 2025 it gave $90K across 4 grants.

What is Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc's typical grant size?

Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc's median grant in 2026 was $20,000, and its average grant was $20,000, across 5 grants on its 2026 IRS Form 990.

Where does Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc give grants?

Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc gives mostly in North Carolina: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2026 IRS Form 990 went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Charlotte, NC (4 grants).

Does Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc give general operating support?

Not in 2026: none of the 5 grants with a stated purpose on Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc's 2026 IRS Form 990 were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "To further its mission" (5 grants).

Who are Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc's largest grantees?

Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc's largest 2026 grantees include Wayfinders ($35,000), BraveStep ($20,000) and HopeWay ($20,000), according to its 2026 IRS Form 990. Together they received 75% of its itemized 2026 grant dollars.

How large is Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc?

Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc reported $2.3M in total assets on its 2026 IRS Form 990. Its revenue that year was $139K.

What is Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc's EIN?

Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 56-1356858. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2021–2026.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Foundation for the Carolinas

Charlotte, NC

Foundation For The Carolinas funds education and youth development, environmental and wildlife work, health and human services, and animal welfare, with a reported median grant of $25,000 in 2024. Its competitive programs focus on Charlotte-Mecklenburg, the Carolinas, and specific local communities, while donor-advised funds may support eligible nonprofits more broadly; it accepts applications for some competitive grants, but most grants are recommended by fund advisors and have no application process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.9B

Grants

1,605

Total Given

$609.1M

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce and local economic development, disaster resilience, conservation, clean water, and economic opportunity in North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000; applications for grants of $20,000 or less are accepted year-round, after applicants discuss proposals with a state representative.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

The Leon Levine Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Leon Levine Foundation funds healthcare, human services, education, and Jewish community work, primarily benefiting people in North and South Carolina. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $2.1 million, with a median of $60,000. It accepts unsolicited requests through an eligibility quiz and portal, starting with a letter of inquiry.

Assets

$1.9B

Grants

522

Total Given

$57.9M

United Way of Greater Charlotte Inc

Charlotte, NC

United Way of Greater Charlotte supports nonprofits and community initiatives focused on economic opportunity and locally identified needs, including housing, food security, education, health, and mental wellness. Its grants primarily serve Anson, Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, and Union counties; in 2025, the median grant was $30,878, with awards ranging from $5,292 to $1,178,487. Application access varies by program: the 2026 Anson and Cabarrus county processes are invitation-only, while the 2026 Unite Charlotte cycle is open to eligible organizations serving Mecklenburg County.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$26.7M

Grants

210

Total Given

$11.0M

Philip L Van Every Foundation

Wilmington, DE

The Philip L. Van Every Foundation funds established 501(c)(3) nonprofits in North and South Carolina, primarily in human and community services, education, healthcare and rehabilitation, and arts, culture, and history; it favors special projects and capital needs over operating costs. In 2025, grants ranged from $7,500 to $200,000, with a median of $25,000. Its 2025 filing says it funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$39.6M

Grants

51

Total Given

$1.8M

Merancas Foundation Inc

Charlotte, NC

The Merancas Foundation funds nonprofits addressing economic hardship, especially through education, affordable housing, and services that support individual and community wellbeing. Its 2025 grants ranged from $10,000 to $1.8 million, with a median of $50,000, and it focuses on the Charlotte, Atlanta, and Trenton metropolitan areas. It accepts unsolicited requests through an online “Are We a Match” process; full proposals are by invitation for pre-approved applicants and current partners.

Assets

$174.4M

Grants

140

Total Given

$16.2M

Speedway Children's Charities

Concord, NC

Speedway Children’s Charities funds nonprofits serving children with medical, educational, safety, and social needs in communities served by its local chapters. Its 2024 grants ranged from $6,000 to $125,000, with a median of $10,000. The profile describes chapter application processes but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2M

Grants

221

Total Given

$3.5M

The Presbyterian Hospital

Winston-Salem, NC

The Presbyterian Hospital funds community outreach, particularly health-related services, while also supporting arts, cultural, regional, and literacy initiatives. In 2024, it made 58 grants ranging from $5,145 to $503,571 (median $14,275), with 88% of grant dollars going to North Carolina. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$4.8B

Grants

58

Total Given

$2.9M

Presbyterian Hospital Foundation

Winston-Salem, NC

Assets

$115.6M

Grants

2

Total Given

$4.6M

The Cannon Foundation Inc

Concord, NC

The Cannon Foundation funds capital, equipment, and infrastructure projects in human services, higher education, healthcare, and community, primarily for established organizations with significant operations in North Carolina. Recent grants ranged from $2,500 to $500,000, with a median of $50,000. It accepts inquiries through a staged application process, with quarterly deadlines.

Assets

$351.7M

Grants

218

Total Given

$14.6M

Albemarle Foundation

Charlotte, NC

In 2024, the Albemarle Foundation funded emergency relief, education, community philanthropy, and services for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities, among other causes. It made 147 grants totaling $3.65 million; awards ranged from $10 to $1,359,587, with a median of $1,000. Most grant dollars went to Delaware, with additional funding in the District of Columbia and North Carolina; the filing says applicants should contact the foundation and directs them to application materials, but does not explicitly state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$30.2M

Grants

147

Total Given

$3.7M

State Employees Credit Union Foundation

Raleigh, NC

The foundation funds capital projects, regional or statewide programs, and organizational capacity building that strengthen North Carolina communities; it favors projects with broad or replicable impact and does not fund operating budgets or shortfalls. Its 2025 grants ranged from $1,250 to $1 million, with a median of $2,500. Applications are accepted at any time and typically reviewed semiannually.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$61.0M

Grants

1,806

Total Given

$17.4M

More Funders in North Carolina

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Healthy Charlotte Alliance Inc down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?