Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett
Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett is a private foundation, based in Montgomery, AL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $10.1M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 3 grants totaling $960K. Net investment income was $367K.
Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett at a glance
In short: Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett gave $960K across 3 grants in 2025 (avg $320K), mostly in Alabama. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $959,710
- +82.7% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 3
- +50.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $319,903
- +21.8% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $390,402
- Total assets
- $10,055,880
- -3.4% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Alabama (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top recipient in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Auburn University ($960K across 3 grants).
Grant Size Distribution
13 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was in the $100–250K range: 5 grants of 13 (38%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 3 itemized grants.
States
Cities
How Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett gives
- Giving grew 507% from 2022 to 2025. Method
- In 2025 it paid out 160% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2021 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $149K (2021) to $960K (2025). In 2025 it made 3 grants totaling $960K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Auburn University Auburn, AL | Fund Veterinary Scholarships | $419,308 |
| Auburn University Auburn, AL | Fund Veterinary Scholarships | $390,402 |
| Auburn University Auburn, AL | Fund Veterinary Scholarships | $150,000 |
Ready to take the next step with Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $10,055,880 | $378,092 | $966,240 | $959,710 | 3 | $959,710 | $367,274 | $601,005 |
| 2024 | $10,407,040 | $353,951 | $146,966 | $525,402 | 2 | $135,000 | $353,951 | $569,308 |
| 2023 | $10,200,054 | $332,263 | $424,618 | $417,000 | 5 | $417,000 | $332,263 | $526,819 |
| 2022 | $10,292,410 | $316,014 | $165,933 | $158,004 | 2 | $158,004 | $316,014 | $545,908 |
| 2021 | $10,142,329 | $10,291,492 | $149,163 | $149,163 | 1 | $149,163 | $149,163 | $176,841 |
| 2019 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | $1 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett reported a distributable amount of $601K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett's 2025 filing lists 2 officers; none of the 2 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
Haywood B. Bartlett Jr.
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
John P. Livings
Trustee
On filings since 2019
No compensation reported
Former officers (1)
- Former: Clinton C. Berry Jr. (2019–2020) — Trustee
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett
How much does Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett give each year?
Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett gave $960K across 3 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $525K across 2 grants.
What is Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett's typical grant size?
Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett's median grant in 2025 was $390,402, and its average grant was $319,903, across 3 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett give grants?
Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett gives mostly in Alabama: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Auburn, AL (3 grants).
Does Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 3 grants with a stated purpose on Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Fund Veterinary Scholarships" (3 grants).
How large is Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett?
Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett reported $10.1M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $960K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $601K (roughly 5% of its investment assets).
What is Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett's EIN?
Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 84-6854274. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(3)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 17, 2020)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS June 11, 2026)
- IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024
Live grants for the work Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett funds
Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
- Nixa Affiliate Grantmaking Program Up to US $10,000 · Due October 19, 2026
- Community and School Grants $28,000 total pool; 10-15 grants expected · Due October 19, 2026
- Mary Pinola/Crescenta Valley Chamber Education Fund $500 - $5,000 for ongoing programs; up to $15,000 for Strategic Initiative Grants · Due October 19, 2026
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common
The Morton Arboretum
Lisle, IL
The Morton Arboretum funds tree and urban-forestry work, plant collections, conservation, research, and related community programs, with grants typically around $24,000 (2024 awards ranged from about $5,000 to $75,000). Its giving is concentrated in Illinois, and it offers specific grant opportunities through requests for proposals; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$367.6M
Grants
48
Total Given
$1.1M
Georgia Tr Uw Arthur Rhoads for Arthur & JES
Saint Louis, MO
Assets
—
Grants
1
Total Given
$112K
American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine
Englewood, CO
The mission of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine (ACVIM) is to enhance animal and human health by advancing veterinary internal medicine through training, education, an discovery. The ACVIM is the American certifying organization for veterinary specialists in cardiology, large animal internal medicine, neurology, oncology, nutrition, and small animal internal medicine.
Assets
$15.8M
Grants
7
Total Given
$122K
Phoenix Foundation of Central Florida Inc
Merritt Island, FL
The foundation funds scholarships for students pursuing higher education and grants that support music, dance, and theater education. Its 2024 grants had a median of $3,000, though awards ranged from $500 to $180,000; scholarships are available nationally, while Morning Glow teacher grants focus on Orange County, Florida. It does not accept unsolicited requests from charitable organizations, but it describes application processes for scholarships and teacher grants.
Assets
$413K
Grants
31
Total Given
$311K
Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
Washington, DC
PhRMA funds organizations and initiatives related to biopharmaceutical research, patient access and affordability, health care policy, and public education, with grants mainly going to U.S. recipients. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, though awards ranged from $5,250 to more than $6.8 million. The profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.
Assets
$349.0M
Grants
461
Total Given
$41.4M
J D Hudson Professorial Chair Trust
Dallas, TX
Assets
$1.2M
Grants
1
Total Given
$41K
More similar funders
More Funders in Alabama
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
Haywood Bellingrath Bartlett down — hundreds of funders to go?