Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship

Private foundation · Grantmaker Dallas, TX EIN: 05-6107149

Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Dallas, TX. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2023. In 2023, it awarded 9 grants totaling $241K. Net investment income was $27K.

Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship at a glance

In short: Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship gave $241K across 9 grants in 2023 (avg $27K), mostly in Rhode Island. Source: 2023 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2023)
$241,063
+2042.8% vs 2022
Grants made (2023)
9
+50.0% vs 2022
Average grant
$26,785
+1328.5% vs 2022
Median grant
$250
Primary geography
Rhode Island (98% of itemized 2023 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2023 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2023; updated September 2026.

Who Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 9 recipients in 2023

The Rhode Island Foundation: $232KThe Rhode Island Foundation$232KJoslin Diabetes Center: $3KJoslin Diabetes Center$3KSouth County Hospital: $3KSouth County Hospital$3KThe Salvation Army: $3KThe Salvation Army$3KUniversity of Rhode Island: $250University of Rhode Island$250Community College of Rhode Island: $250Community College of RhodeIsland$250University of Delaware: $250University of Delaware$250Brown University: $250Brown University$250University of Miami: $250University of Miami$250

The largest 2023 recipient was The Rhode Island Foundation ($232K). Together the top 9 received $241K.

Grant Size Distribution

33 grants across all recorded years

32<$50K$50–100K1$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 32 grants of 33 (97%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

8states

Share of 2023 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.

Cities

BostonWakefieldWest NyackProvidenceKingstonWarwickAkronAmherstBristolCharlotteCoral GablesNew YorkNewarkPhiladelphia

How Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship gives

  • Giving grew 1952% from 2020 to 2023. Method
  • In 2023 it paid out well above its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K6 grants2019 5 grants2020 7 grants2021 6 grants2022 9 grants2023

From 2019 to 2023, annual grant giving ranged from $10K (2019) to $241K (2023). In 2023 it made 9 grants totaling $241K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
The Rhode Island Foundation Providence, RIUnrestricted General$232,313
Joslin Diabetes Center Boston, MAUnrestricted General$2,500
South County Hospital Wakefield, RIUnrestricted General$2,500
The Salvation Army West Nyack, NYUnrestricted General$2,500
University of Rhode Island Kingston, RIScholarships$250
Community College of Rhode Island Warwick, RIScholarships$250
University of Delaware Newark, DEScholarship$250
Brown University Providence, RIScholarship$250
University of Miami Coral Gables, FLScholarship$250
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2023—$30,175$252,726$241,0639$249,566$26,724$12,270
2022$241,807$-4,614$27,947$11,2506$23,128$1,713$13,396
2021$274,360$60,942$19,444$11,7507$15,488$56,837$15,130
2020$232,551$17,096$17,837$11,7505—$13,799$13,248
2019$233,308$15,502$16,158$10,0006—$13,040$12,896

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship reported a distributable amount of $12K for 2023 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship's only listed officer is Bank Of America, Trustee on every filing since 2019 (compensated).

Officers on the 2023 filing

  • Bank Of America

    Trustee

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $4K (2019) → $2K (2023)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2023. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2023 IRS filing

Bank of America — Trustee: $2KBank of AmericaTrustee$2K

The highest reported compensation on the 2023 filing was $2K, to Bank of America (Trustee).

Frequently asked questions about Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship

How much does Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship give each year?

Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship gave $241K across 9 grants in 2023, according to its 2023 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2022 it gave $11K across 6 grants.

What is Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship's typical grant size?

Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship's median grant in 2023 was $250, and its average grant was $26,785, across 9 grants on its 2023 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship give grants?

Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship gives mostly in Rhode Island: 98% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2023 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Providence, RI (2 grants).

Does Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship give general operating support?

Yes: 44% of Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship's 2023 grants with a stated purpose (4 of 9) were for general or operating support, per its 2023 IRS Form 990-PF. Recurring purposes include "Scholarship" (3 grants).

Who are Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship's largest grantees?

Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship's largest 2023 grantees include The Rhode Island Foundation ($232,313), Joslin Diabetes Center ($2,500) and South County Hospital ($2,500), according to its 2023 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 98% of its itemized 2023 grant dollars.

What is Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship?

Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship is a private foundation focused on Education, based in Dallas, TX.

How much is Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship required to give away each year?

Private foundations must generally distribute about 5% of their assets annually. For 2023, Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship reported a distributable amount of $12K on its IRS Form 990-PF — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

What is Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship's EIN?

Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 05-6107149. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2023.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(2)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS April 23, 2020)
  2. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2023

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Aetna Foundation Inc

Hartford, CT

Aetna Foundation supported health and wellness, access to health care, and related community needs; its 2021 grants ranged from $5,000 to $1 million, with a median of $40,000, and went to organizations across multiple states, especially in D.C. and Connecticut. Its 2021 filing was marked final, so it appears to have ended or be winding down grantmaking; that filing said there were no restrictions on who could apply and pointed applicants to its website for application materials.

Assets

—

Grants

65

Total Given

$7.2M

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

Johns Hopkins University

Baltimore, MD

Johns Hopkins University funds a broad range of education, research, health, and community-related work, with 2025 grants ranging from $5,500 to nearly $95 million and a median of $100,000; many of the largest awards were sub-awards. Its grants went to organizations across the U.S., with the largest shares in California and Maryland, and the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$25.3B

Grants

813

Total Given

$594.1M

American Heart Association Inc

Dallas, TX

The American Heart Association funds basic, clinical, behavioral, translational and population research on cardiovascular, cerebrovascular and brain health, along with research training and education programs. In 2025 it awarded 833 grants totaling about $198 million; amounts ranged from $5,000 to nearly $9.93 million, with a median of $20,000. Research awards are for eligible U.S.-based nonprofit institutions, and the profile describes a formal proposal process but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Diseases, Disorders & Medical Disciplines

Assets

$2.0B

Grants

833

Total Given

$198.2M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

Communities Foundation of Texas Inc

Dallas, TX

Communities Foundation of Texas funds a broad range of community needs, including health, education, housing, and community development, primarily in North Texas and across Texas. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $18,800, though amounts varied widely; nearly all opportunities are by invitation, with some specific programs open for applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

2,209

Total Given

$209.2M

More similar funders

More Funders in Texas

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Ha& LM Walsh Tr-Scholarship down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?