Good Start Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Plano, TX EIN: 27-2983295

Good Start Foundation is a private foundation, based in Plano, TX. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $44.7M in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 7 grants totaling $5.1M. Net investment income was $1.6M.

Good Start Foundation at a glance

In short: Good Start Foundation gave $5.1M across 7 grants in 2024 (avg $722K), mostly in Texas. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2024)
$5,056,416
+250.7% vs 2023
Grants made (2024)
7
+40.0% vs 2023
Average grant
$722,345
+150.5% vs 2023
Median grant
$722,869
Total assets
$44,663,274
-7.3% vs 2023
Primary geography
Texas (58% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2024 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2024; updated September 2026.

Who Good Start Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2024

Pathways Adult Learning Center: $2.1M across 2 grantsPathways Adult Learning Center$2.1M · 2 grantsThe Agape Clinic: $1.7M across 2 grantsThe Agape Clinic$1.7M · 2 grantsCornerstone Assistance Network Inc: $723KCornerstone Assistance NetworkInc$723KTexas A&M Foundation: $450KTexas A&M Foundation$450KVisiting Nurse Association of Texas: $120KVisiting Nurse Association ofTexas$120K

The largest 2024 recipient was Pathways Adult Learning Center ($2.1M across 2 grants). Together the top 5 received $5.1M.

Grant Size Distribution

31 grants across all recorded years

6<$50K7$50–100K7$100–250K3$250–500K6$500K–1M2$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was in the $50–100K range: 7 grants of 31 (23%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

3states

Share of 2024 grant dollars across all 7 itemized grants.

Cities

DallasKalamazooFort WorthTulsaCollege StationGrand RapidsWyoming

How Good Start Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 95% from 2021 to 2024. Method
  • In 2024 it paid out 223% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$2M$4M$6M8 grants2020 7 grants2021 4 grants2022 5 grants2023 7 grants2024

From 2020 to 2024, annual grant giving ranged from $959K (2022) to $5.1M (2024). In 2024 it made 7 grants totaling $5.1M.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Pathways Adult Learning Center Tulsa, OKContribution for Property Purchase.$2,000,000
The Agape Clinic Dallas, TXContribution for dental clinic operational support / initial setup expenses.$888,667
The Agape Clinic Dallas, TXContribution for Dental Clinic Operational Support.$774,880
Cornerstone Assistance Network Inc Fort Worth, TXContribution for Dental Clinic Program Oerational Support.$722,869
Texas A&M Foundation College Station, TXContribution for Dental Clinic Operational Support.$450,000
Visiting Nurse Association of Texas Dallas, TXContribution for "Meals on Wheels" Program.$120,000
Pathways Adult Learning Center Tulsa, OKContribution for Operating Funds (Challenge Grant).$100,000
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Good Start Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment IncomeDistributable Amount
2024$44,663,274$941,507$5,302,035$5,056,4167$5,125,378$1,568,979$2,301,342
2023$48,194,274$1,885,134$1,682,795$1,441,6175$1,506,834$1,733,265$2,179,035
2022$47,960,526$2,413,790$1,198,610$958,5684$1,017,344$2,225,273$2,161,572
2021$46,190,050$9,205,898$2,928,523$2,592,9667$2,656,003$9,059,409$2,181,201
2020$39,999,694$33,772,381$1,610,988$1,330,3618—$2,441,430$1,962,758

Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, Good Start Foundation reported a distributable amount of $2.3M for 2024 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Good Start Foundation is led by M. J. Peak, Director & President on every filing since 2022; none of the 5 officers listed in 2024 report compensation.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • M. J. Peak

    Director & President

    On filings since 2022

    10 hrs/week

    No compensation reported

  • Martha P. Rochelle

    Director & Secretary

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Sandra A. Flanagan

    Director & Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Teri Mayhew

    Director

    On filings since 2023

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Debbie Rau

    Director

    New on the 2024 filing

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (1)
  • Former: Margaret J. Peak (2020–2021) — Director & President

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Frequently asked questions about Good Start Foundation

How much does Good Start Foundation give each year?

Good Start Foundation gave $5.1M across 7 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2023 it gave $1.4M across 5 grants.

What is Good Start Foundation's typical grant size?

Good Start Foundation's median grant in 2024 was $722,869, and its average grant was $722,345, across 7 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Good Start Foundation give grants?

Good Start Foundation gives mostly in Texas: 58% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The next largest state was Oklahoma (42%). The most frequent recipient cities were Dallas, TX (3 grants) and Tulsa, OK (2 grants).

Does Good Start Foundation give general operating support?

Yes: 57% of Good Start Foundation's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (4 of 7) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF.

Who are Good Start Foundation's largest grantees?

Good Start Foundation's largest 2024 grantees include Pathways Adult Learning Center ($2,100,000 across 2 grants), The Agape Clinic ($1,663,547 across 2 grants) and Cornerstone Assistance Network Inc ($722,869), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. Together they received 89% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is Good Start Foundation?

Good Start Foundation reported $44.7M in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $5.1M in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $2.3M (roughly 5% of its investment assets).

What is Good Start Foundation's EIN?

Good Start Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 27-2983295. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(1)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Good Start Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

Communities Foundation of Texas Inc

Dallas, TX

Communities Foundation of Texas funds a broad range of community needs, including health, education, housing, and community development, primarily in North Texas and across Texas. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $18,800, though amounts varied widely; nearly all opportunities are by invitation, with some specific programs open for applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$1.2B

Grants

2,209

Total Given

$209.2M

Meadows Foundation Inc

Dallas, TX

The foundation funds Texas-benefiting work in arts and culture, civic affairs, education, the environment, health, and human services, with added consideration for postsecondary completion, educator preparation, water conservation, depression, and homelessness. Its 2024 median grant was $75,000, and it accepts proposals year-round through its online application portal.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$718.0M

Grants

161

Total Given

$24.1M

Harry Bass Foundation

Dallas, TX

The Harry Bass Foundation primarily funds youth and education, especially early childhood education and literacy, and sometimes supports health and human services, civic work, research, and arts and culture. Recent awards ranged from $1,000 to $5 million, with a median of $30,000; it gives predominantly in Dallas County and rarely considers requests from outside the county. It accepts unsolicited Letters of Inquiry through its online portal, with full applications by invitation.

Assets

$71.2M

Grants

40

Total Given

$6.7M

The Chicago Community Trust

Chicago, IL

The Chicago Community Trust funds eligible nonprofits working to narrow the wealth gap and meet urgent needs, with priorities including economic mobility, education, jobs, homeownership, and community development in metropolitan Chicago and Cook County. Its 2025 grants had a median of $26,500, though amounts varied widely; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests.

Assets

$7.1B

Grants

4,316

Total Given

$1.2B

Tulsa Community Foundation

Tulsa, OK

Tulsa Community Foundation supports charitable causes through donor-advised grants and selected funds, including scholarships, emergency assistance, disaster relief, arts and humanities, healthcare, and financial literacy, primarily in the Tulsa metro area and eastern Oklahoma, with some giving elsewhere in the United States. Its 2024 median grant was $18,560; selected field-of-interest funds have application cycles, but the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests generally.

Assets

$1.1B

Grants

1,066

Total Given

$158.6M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

The Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports charitable and educational nonprofits in communities where Enterprise Mobility operates, focusing on health, education, arts, and disaster relief; applicants must be actively supported by an Enterprise Mobility team member, spouse, or domestic partner. Giving varies widely: it reported 9,499 grants in 2024, but its 2025 filing showed one grant of $101.4 million, so that amount is not a typical award. Applications are accepted at any time through eligible Enterprise-affiliated applicants; the Foundation does not limit giving to preselected organizations.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

More similar funders

More Funders in Texas

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Good Start Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Good Start Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?