George a Robinson IV Foundation
George a Robinson IV Foundation is a private foundation, based in Houston, TX. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $3.7M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 6 grants totaling $203K. Net investment income was $121K.
George a Robinson IV Foundation at a glance
In short: George a Robinson IV Foundation gave $203K across 6 grants in 2025 (avg $34K), mostly in Texas. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
- Annual giving (2025)
- $203,000
- +4.1% vs 2024
- Grants made (2025)
- 6
- +20.0% vs 2024
- Average grant
- $33,833
- -13.2% vs 2024
- Median grant
- $45,000
- Total assets
- $3,696,887
- -2.3% vs 2024
- Primary geography
- Texas (100% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
- Latest 990 filing
- Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing
Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.
Who George a Robinson IV Foundation funds
How this funder distributes its grants
Top Recipients
Top 5 recipients in 2025
The largest 2025 recipient was Baylor College of Medicine ($50K). Together the top 5 received $198K.
Organizations only. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($5,000), which are not listed by name.
Grant Size Distribution
31 grants across all recorded years
The most common grant size was under $50K: 18 grants of 31 (58%).
Geographic Focus
Where this funder awards grants
Grant Distribution by State
Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 6 itemized grants.
Cities
How George a Robinson IV Foundation gives
- Giving held roughly steady from 2022 to 2025 (−14%). Method
- In 2025 it paid out 95% of its IRS minimum distribution (the 5% rule). Foundations have until the end of the next year to meet it. Method
From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.
Giving History
Giving Over Time
Total grant dollars and number of grants per year
From 2020 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $195K (2024) to $235K (2022). In 2025 it made 6 grants totaling $203K.
Grants by year
Grant recipients and amounts by year
| Recipient | Purpose | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Baylor College of Medicine Houston, TX | Global Surgery Residency Training | $50,000 |
| Texas A&M Foundation College Station, TX | Support for the Chagas 74 Sacs Fund | $50,000 |
| Texas Music Project Keller, TX | Support for Music Education in Texas Schools | $50,000 |
| American Medical Debt Relief Houston, TX | Purchase Delinquent Medical Debt | $40,000 |
| Kniestedt Foundation San Antonio, TX | Support for hunting experiences for active-duty service members and veterans | $8,000 |
| 1 individual scholarship Recipients not named | — | $5,000 |
Ready to take the next step with George a Robinson IV Foundation?
Financial History
Multi-year comparison from IRS filings
| Filing year | Total Assets | Revenue | Expenses | Grants paid | Grants | Qualifying Distributions | Net Investment Income | Distributable Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $3,696,887 | $128,982 | $218,994 | $203,000 | 6 | $206,825 | $120,638 | $218,241 |
| 2024 | $3,784,684 | $162,515 | $208,939 | $195,000 | 5 | $198,505 | $154,563 | $205,272 |
| 2023 | $3,829,008 | $208,785 | $258,694 | $225,000 | 5 | $227,100 | $178,557 | $189,605 |
| 2022 | $3,878,917 | $104,085 | $252,194 | $235,000 | 8 | $240,277 | $98,249 | $212,379 |
| 2021 | $4,027,026 | $409,712 | $229,976 | $216,000 | 7 | $222,800 | $404,127 | $241,475 |
| 2020 | $3,847,290 | $-1,018,433 | $258,341 | $235,000 | 7 | — | $114,435 | $224,841 |
Under IRS private-foundation payout rules, George a Robinson IV Foundation reported a distributable amount of $218K for 2025 — the minimum it must pay out in qualifying distributions.
Leadership & Key People
Officers and directors from IRS filings
George a Robinson IV Foundation is led by George A. Robinson IV, President & Trustee on every filing since 2020; none of the 4 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.
Officers on the 2025 filing
George A. Robinson IV
President & Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Jay Houren
Secretary & Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Larry Hollier MD
Trustee
On filings since 2020
0.5 hrs/week
No compensation reported
Michael R. Zuber
Vice President, Treasurer & Trustee
On filings since 2020
1 hr/week
No compensation reported
Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.
Frequently asked questions about George a Robinson IV Foundation
How much does George a Robinson IV Foundation give each year?
George a Robinson IV Foundation gave $203K across 6 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $195K across 5 grants.
What is George a Robinson IV Foundation's typical grant size?
George a Robinson IV Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $45,000, and its average grant was $33,833, across 6 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.
Where does George a Robinson IV Foundation give grants?
George a Robinson IV Foundation gives mostly in Texas: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Houston, TX (2 grants).
Does George a Robinson IV Foundation give general operating support?
Not in 2025: none of the 6 grants with a stated purpose on George a Robinson IV Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support.
Who are George a Robinson IV Foundation's largest grantees?
George a Robinson IV Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Baylor College of Medicine ($50,000), Texas A&M Foundation ($50,000) and Texas Music Project ($50,000), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 1 individual scholarship ($5,000), which are not listed by name. Together they received 74% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.
How large is George a Robinson IV Foundation?
George a Robinson IV Foundation reported $3.7M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It paid out $207K in qualifying distributions that year, against a required minimum of $218K (roughly 5% of its investment assets). Falling short in one year is not a violation: foundations have until the end of the next year to meet the minimum.
What is George a Robinson IV Foundation's EIN?
George a Robinson IV Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 76-0399825. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2025.
Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.
Data update history
(6)
When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2020 (received by the IRS May 26, 2021)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2021 (received by the IRS October 10, 2022)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2022 (received by the IRS May 18, 2023)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2023 (received by the IRS May 15, 2024)
- Updated Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2024 (received by the IRS May 14, 2025)
- Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 15, 2026)
Other open foundation grants in Texas
Texas Open opportunities, soonest deadline first.
Explore Open Grants
Browse active grant opportunities in George a Robinson IV Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database
Similar Funders
Funders with grantees in common, and similar funders in Texas
Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc
Princeton, NJ
The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.
Assets
$83.3M
Grants
144
Total Given
$67.7M
Communities Foundation of Texas Inc
Dallas, TX
Communities Foundation of Texas funds a broad range of community needs, including health, education, housing, and community development, primarily in North Texas and across Texas. Its 2025 grants had a median of about $18,800, though amounts varied widely; nearly all opportunities are by invitation, with some specific programs open for applications.
Assets
$1.2B
Grants
2,209
Total Given
$209.2M
Greater Houston Community Foundation
Houston, TX
The Foundation makes grants through donor-advised and other donor-established funds for public benefit, human services, education, and health, including initiatives addressing economic mobility and poverty in Harris County. In 2024, its median grant was $25,000; it serves Greater Houston, while grants also go to recipients elsewhere in Texas and beyond. It does not accept proposals for the upcoming High-Impact Grantmaking cycle and plans to invite selected organizations or collaboratives to apply.
Assets
$1.1B
Grants
1,724
Total Given
$232.3M
BNSF Railway Foundation
Fort Worth, TX
The BNSF Railway Foundation funds civic, cultural, education, health and human services, environmental, and youth programs, including operating costs and specific projects. Its 2025 median grant was $2,500, though awards ranged from $100 to $500,000; it supports eligible organizations serving communities near BNSF rail lines across its 28 operating states. The foundation provides an online application process, but whether it accepts unsolicited requests is not stated.
Assets
$23.0M
Grants
993
Total Given
$7.0M
Baker Hughes Foundation
Houston, TX
Assets
$2.2M
Grants
990
Total Given
$3.2M
Community Foundation of North Texas (Tax
Fort Worth, TX
The foundation supports nonprofits and community projects in areas including animal welfare, nonprofit capacity building, first responders, land conservation, neighborhood development, opportunity and access, and scholarships. In 2024, grants ranged from $5,100 to $1.5 million, with a median of $14,250; its service area covers 11 North Texas counties. It accepts applications for some competitive grant programs through its online portal, but donor-advised grants are not open to nonprofit applications.
Assets
$544.9M
Grants
872
Total Given
$41.3M
More similar funders
More Funders in Texas
The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open
Figures come from George a Robinson IV Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.
George a Robinson IV Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?