General Electric Credit Union

Foundation · Grantmaker Cincinnati, OH EIN: 31-0568628

Offer a variety of quality products and financial services designed to benefit all members under a strong financial structure that ensures the continued viability of the credit union.

Key facts about General Electric Credit Union

In short: General Electric Credit Union gave $216K across 16 grants in 2024 (avg $14K), mostly in Ohio. Source: 2024 IRS Form 990 filing.

EIN
31-0568628
Latest 990 filing
Form 990 filing, 2024
Annual giving (2024)
$216,000
Grants made (2024)
16
Average grant
$13,500
Median grant
$6,750
Total assets
$4,428,702,240
Primary geography
Ohio (100% of itemized 2024 grant dollars)

Data from IRS Form 990 filing, 2024; updated September 2026.

Financial Overview

From 2024 IRS Form 990 filing · View filing

Total Assets

$4.4B

-13.2% YoY

Annual Giving

$216K

-8.2% YoY

Grant Count

16

+45.5% YoY

Avg Grant Size

$14K

-36.9% YoY

How General Electric Credit Union gives

  • 13% of 2024 grantees were also funded in 2023. Method
  • Giving grew 154% from 2021 to 2024. Method

Estimate from itemized grant lists in IRS Form 990 filings (2024). Recipient names are matched across years, so a renamed or misspelled grantee can look new; grants to individuals are left out. Methodology.

About General Electric Credit Union

Based on IRS filings

General Electric Credit Union is a nonprofit organization, based in Cincinnati, OH. IRS filing data is available from 2020 through 2024. As of 2024, the organization holds $4.4B in total assets. In 2024, it awarded 16 grants totaling $216K. Net investment income was $27.7M.

Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with General Electric Credit Union?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

2states

Share of all 16 itemized 2024 grant dollars.

States

Cities

CincinattiCincinnatiCovingtonDaytonEnglewoodLouisvilleLovelandMasonSpringfieldWest Chester

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$100K$200K$300K1 grants20207 grants20217 grants202211 grants202316 grants2024

Grant Insights

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 10 recipients in 2024

Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden: $95KCincinnati Zoo & BotanicalGarden$95KXavier University: $25KXavier University$25KGreater Cincinnati Automobile Dealers Association: $10KGreater Cincinnati AutomobileDealers Association$10KNew Life Furniture Bank: $10KNew Life Furniture Bank$10KPathways to Home: $10KPathways to Home$10KSave the Animals Foundation: $10KSave the Animals Foundation$10KBon Secours Mercy Health Foundation aka Mercy Health Foundation: $8KBon Secours Mercy HealthFoundation aka Mercy Health…$8KHome Builders Association of Greater Cincinnati: $8KHome Builders Association ofGreater Cincinnati$8KPink Ribbon Good Inc: $6KPink Ribbon Good Inc$6KBuilding Blocks for Kids: $5KBuilding Blocks for Kids$5K

Grant Size Distribution

42 grants across all recorded years

40<$50K2$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

Giving History

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden Cincinatti, OHGENERAL SUPPORT$95,000
Xavier University Cincinatti, OHGENERAL SUPPORT$25,000
Greater Cincinnati Automobile Dealers Association Cincinatti, OHGENERAL SUPPORT$10,000
New Life Furniture Bank Cincinnati, OHGENERAL SUPPORT$10,000
Pathways to Home Cincinnati, OHGENERAL SUPPORT$10,000
Save the Animals Foundation Cincinnati, OHGENERAL SUPPORT$10,000
Bon Secours Mercy Health Foundation aka Mercy Health Foundation Cincinatti, OHGENERAL SUPPORT$7,500
Home Builders Association of Greater Cincinnati Cincinnati, OHGENERAL SUPPORT$7,500
Pink Ribbon Good Inc Englewood, OHGENERAL SUPPORT$6,000
Building Blocks for Kids Mason, OHGENERAL SUPPORT$5,000

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Revenue
Expenses
Qualifying Distributions
Net Investment Income
$0$100M$200M$300M20202021202220232024
Metric202420232022
Total Assets$4,428,702,240$5,102,489,836$4,683,051,080
Revenue$251,427,949$238,144,145$167,594,908
Expenses$270,893,564$246,606,321$134,004,722
Qualifying Distributions———
Net Investment Income$27,692,655$20,013,319$6,771,391
Distributable Amount———

Data update history

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

General Electric Credit Union is led by Timothy D. Ballinger, President & CEO on every filing since 2020; 17 of 25 officers listed in 2024 are compensated.

Officers on the 2024 filing

  • Timothy D. Ballinger

    President & CEO

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $1.1M (2020) → $871K (2024)

  • Mary Cay Vessells

    Chairperson

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Gayle Nyswonger

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Jerry Cabe

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Perry Engstrom

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Robert Peak

    Director

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Ashley Cunningham

    Chief Development Officer

    Bus. Dvlpmnt & Member Service → Chief Development Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $233K (2020) → $216K (2024)

  • Brian Lucas

    Senior Vice President of Compliance

    Compliance → Senior Vice President of Compliance, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $232K (2020) → $189K (2024)

  • Jeffrey Lenzer

    Chief Risk Officer

    It Security Risk Management → Chief Risk Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $204K (2020) → $214K (2024)

  • Jill Lingo

    Chief Communication Officer

    Marketing Director → Chief Communication Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $247K (2020) → $216K (2024)

  • Melissa Ziegelmeyer

    Chief Audit Officer

    Director of Internal Audit → Chief Audit Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $213K (2020) → $194K (2024)

  • Neil D. Peterson

    Chief Credit Officer

    Director of Lending Services → Chief Credit Officer, 2024

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $288K (2020) → $243K (2024)

  • Nicholas McEvoy

    Chief Delivery Officer

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $198K (2020) → $217K (2024)

  • Robin Sargent

    Chief Support Officer

    On filings since 2020

    40 hrs/week

    $173K (2020) → $208K (2024)

  • Amy S. Wheeler

    Senior Vice President & Controller

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $161K (2022) → $166K (2024)

  • Melanie Disney Tamaska

    Chief Human Resources Officer

    On filings since 2022

    40 hrs/week

    $181K (2022) → $171K (2024)

  • Aaron Williams

    Mortgage Loan Originator

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $191K (2024)

  • Brandon J. Wheatley

    Loan Originator

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $294K (2024)

  • Daniel J. Vonderhaar

    Chief Financial Officer

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $238K (2024)

  • Joseph Elam

    Chief Information Officer

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $201K (2024)

  • Laura J. Wurzelbacher

    Senior Vice President of Financial Planning & Analysis

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $205K (2024)

  • Scott Meyer

    Vice President of Mortgage Originations

    New on the 2024 filing

    40 hrs/week

    $264K (2024)

  • Cheryl Hill

    2nd Vice Chairperson

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Michael Johnson

    1st Vice Chairperson

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

  • Richard Ille

    Secretary & Treasurer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    No compensation reported

Former officers (9)
  • Former: Kevin Motley (2020–2022) — CFO
  • Former: Andy M Dunn (2022) — Senior Vice President Mortgage Services
  • Former: Amy Potter (2020–2021) — Senior Vice President & Controller
  • Former: Craig S Burton (2021) — Chief Information Officer
  • Former: Paula Pfaehler (2021) — Vice President of Commercial & Small Busin
  • Former: Jason Leyda (2020) — Vice President of Treasury Management
  • Former: Kevin Riede (2020) — Director of It
  • Former: Matthew Dole (2020) — Human Resources Director
  • Former: Sharon Short (2020) — Collection Manager

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2020–2024. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Timothy D Ballinger — President/CEO: $871KTimothy D BallingerPresident/CEO$871KBrandon J Wheatley — Loan Originator: $294KBrandon J WheatleyLoan Originator$294KScott Meyer — Vice President of Mortgage Originations: $264KScott MeyerVice President of Mortgage…$264KNeil D Peterson — Chief Credit Officer: $243KNeil D PetersonChief Credit Officer$243KDaniel J Vonderhaar — Chief Financial Officer: $238KDaniel J VonderhaarChief Financial Officer$238KNicholas McEvoy — Chief Delivery Officer: $217KNicholas McEvoyChief Delivery Officer$217KJill Lingo — Chief Communication Officer: $216KJill LingoChief Communication Officer$216KAshley Cunningham — Chief Development Officer: $216KAshley CunninghamChief Development Officer$216KJeffrey Lenzer — Chief Risk Officer: $214KJeffrey LenzerChief Risk Officer$214KRobin Sargent — Chief Support Officer: $208KRobin SargentChief Support Officer$208KLaura J Wurzelbacher — Senior Vice President of Financial Planning & Analysis: $205KLaura J WurzelbacherSenior Vice President of…$205KJoseph Elam — Chief Information Officer: $201KJoseph ElamChief Information Officer$201KMelissa Ziegelmeyer — Chief Audit Officer: $194KMelissa ZiegelmeyerChief Audit Officer$194KAaron Williams — Mortgage Loan Originator: $191KAaron WilliamsMortgage Loan Originator$191KBrian Lucas — Senior Vice President of Compliance: $189KBrian LucasSenior Vice President of…$189KMelanie Disney Tamaska — Chief Human Resources Officer: $171KMelanie Disney TamaskaChief Human Resources Officer$171KAmy S Wheeler — Senior Vice President/Controller: $166KAmy S WheelerSenior Vice President/Controller$166K

Frequently asked questions about General Electric Credit Union

How much does General Electric Credit Union give each year?

General Electric Credit Union gave $216K across 16 grants in 2024, according to its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing. In 2023 it gave $235K across 11 grants.

What is General Electric Credit Union's typical grant size?

General Electric Credit Union's median grant in 2024 was $6,750, and its average grant was $13,500, across 16 grants on its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing.

Where does General Electric Credit Union give grants?

General Electric Credit Union gives mostly in Ohio: 100% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing went to recipients there. The most frequent recipient cities were Cincinatti, OH (6 grants) and Cincinnati, OH (6 grants).

Does General Electric Credit Union give general operating support?

Yes: 100% of General Electric Credit Union's 2024 grants with a stated purpose (16 of 16) were for general or operating support, per its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing.

Who are General Electric Credit Union's largest grantees?

General Electric Credit Union's largest 2024 grantees include Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden ($95,000), Xavier University ($25,000) and Greater Cincinnati Automobile Dealers Association ($10,000), according to its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing. Together they received 60% of its itemized 2024 grant dollars.

How large is General Electric Credit Union?

General Electric Credit Union reported $4.4B in total assets on its 2024 IRS Form 990 filing. Its revenue that year was $251.4M.

What is General Electric Credit Union's EIN?

General Electric Credit Union's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 31-0568628. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2020–2024.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990 filings.

Your AI grants department

Here's the math on researching General Electric Credit Union by hand.

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in General Electric Credit Union's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Greater Cincinnati Foundation supports education, affordable housing, arts and culture, community well-being, neighborhood development, and basic needs, with responsive grants focused on its eight-county Greater Cincinnati service area. Its 2024 grants had a median of $20,000, while specific opportunities range from small awards to grants of up to $450,000. It offers open RFP and LOI opportunities; the profile does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests outside those opportunities.

Assets

$1.0B

Grants

1,408

Total Given

$184.4M

Duke Energy Foundation

Charlotte, NC

The Duke Energy Foundation funds workforce development, local economic development and recovery, disaster resilience, conservation, and economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Ohio, Kentucky, and Indiana. It reports more than $30 million in annual charitable grants; awards vary widely, with a 2024 median of $25,000, and applications of $20,000 or less are accepted on a rolling basis. Applicants should contact their local Foundation representative before applying.

Assets

$1.9M

Grants

41

Total Given

$25.6M

Ge Aerospace Foundation

Norwalk, CT

The GE Aerospace Foundation supports engineering education, workforce development, military and veterans causes, and disaster relief in communities where GE Aerospace employees live and work around the world. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10 to nearly $6 million, with a median of $429; it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$22.5M

Grants

2,467

Total Given

$15.3M

Enterprise Holdings Foundation

Saint Louis, MO

Enterprise Holdings Foundation supports nonprofits in health, education, arts, disaster relief, reforestation, hunger relief, and community equity, with an emphasis on organizations actively supported by Enterprise employees and their families. Its reported grants range widely: 2024 giving averaged about $7,700 across 9,499 grants, while the foundation also offers awards of up to $40,000; it supports communities where Enterprise operates worldwide. Unsolicited requests are accepted at any time, but eligible applications must be submitted by an Enterprise team member or their spouse or domestic partner on behalf of a nonprofit they actively support.

Assets

$594.3M

Grants

1

Total Given

$101.4M

United Way of Greater Cincinnati

Cincinnati, OH

United Way of Greater Cincinnati funds nonprofits working on educational success, financial empowerment, housing security, and related community needs, including workforce development, youth violence prevention, and housing support. Its 2025 grants ranged from $6,000 to $1.55 million, with a median of $65,000, mainly across its nine-county Cincinnati-area region in Ohio, Northern Kentucky, and southeast Indiana. It accepts proposals through specific funding opportunities, typically beginning with a letter of interest; current opportunities are listed on its grant page.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$86.6M

Grants

224

Total Given

$33.1M

American Modern Foundation

Amelia, OH

The American Modern Foundation funds fundraising efforts for preselected charitable organizations, with 2025 grants ranging from $3,021 to $10,000 (median $4,750). Its listed 2025 grants all went to organizations in Ohio, and it does not accept unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$8K

Grants

4

Total Given

$23K

Horizon Community Funds of Northern

Covington, KY

Horizon Community Funds of Northern supports nonprofits addressing poverty, the arts, education, and other regional needs, with current priorities including innovation, collaboration, and equity. Its 2024 grants had a median of $25,000; the 2026 Community Impact Fund offers one $115,000 grant for a larger-scale initiative serving Boone, Campbell, or Kenton County in Northern Kentucky. The profile describes an application cycle but does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$51.2M

Grants

136

Total Given

$11.4M

Baird Foundation Inc

Milwaukee, WI

The foundation supports nonprofits in health and human services, education, the arts, youth, and other areas, with the largest share of recent grants going to Wisconsin. Its 2025 grants had a median of $500, though amounts ranged from $10 to $561,411. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$142.7M

Grants

3,862

Total Given

$7.0M

Columbus Foundation

Columbus, OH

The Columbus Foundation supports nonprofits and community initiatives in areas including arts and culture, education, youth, neighborhoods, basic needs, and capacity building, with a median 2024 grant of about $21,500. Its focus is Central Ohio, though it also funds organizations elsewhere; most grants are donor-directed and not application-based, but some programs accept applications.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$2.8B

Grants

1,747

Total Given

$242.7M

The Cleveland Foundation

Cleveland, OH

The Cleveland Foundation funds nonprofits working on community needs and long-term priorities, including education, health, arts and culture, economic development, neighborhoods, and human services in Cuyahoga, Lake, and Geauga counties. Its 2024 grants had a median of about $30,700, though amounts varied widely. Its general application is open year-round, so it accepts unsolicited requests through that process.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$3.3B

Grants

1,016

Total Given

$184.2M

The Scripps Howard Foundation

Cincinnati, OH

The Scripps Howard Foundation supports journalism education and related programs, including fellowships and investigative and open-source reporting, with 2024 grants concentrated in Maryland, Washington, D.C., Arizona, Ohio, and Colorado. Its median 2024 grant was $1,250, though awards ranged widely; the profile does not state whether the Foundation accepts unsolicited requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$69.4M

Grants

819

Total Given

$7.4M

Nisource Charitable Foundation

Columbus, OH

The NiSource Charitable Foundation supports nonprofits addressing safety, workforce and economic development, environmental stewardship, STEM and energy education, and basic needs in communities across Indiana, Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. Its 2024 grants ranged from $60 to $2.1 million, with a median of $3,000. The filing directs applicants to contact the Foundation for application materials and deadlines; it does not state whether unsolicited requests are accepted.

Assets

$43.0M

Grants

683

Total Given

$7.5M

More Funders in Ohio

General Electric Credit Union down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?