Garwin Family Foundation

Private foundation · Grantmaker Carbondale, IL EIN: 73-1440816

Garwin Family Foundation is a private foundation, based in Carbondale, IL. IRS filing data is available from 2019 through 2025. As of 2025, the organization holds $2.9M in total assets. In 2025, it awarded 9 grants totaling $72K. Net investment income was $201K.

Garwin Family Foundation at a glance

In short: Garwin Family Foundation gave $72K across 9 grants in 2025 (avg $8K), top state Illinois. Source: 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Annual giving (2025)
$72,326
+67.9% vs 2024
Grants made (2025)
9
-10.0% vs 2024
Average grant
$8,036
+86.5% vs 2024
Median grant
$5,700
Total assets
$2,891,470
+8.7% vs 2024
Primary geography
Illinois (38% of itemized 2025 grant dollars)
Latest 990 filing
Form 990-PF, 2025 View filing

Data from IRS Form 990-PF, 2025; updated September 2026.

Who Garwin Family Foundation funds

How this funder distributes its grants

Top Recipients

Top 5 recipients in 2025

Washington University: $24KWashington University$24KThe University of Chicago: $13KThe University of Chicago$13KBrown University: $8KBrown University$8KSyracuse University: $4KSyracuse University$4KAwesome Math LLC: $3KAwesome Math LLC$3K

The largest 2025 recipient was Washington University ($24K). Together the top 5 received $52K.

Organizations only. It also paid 4 individual scholarships ($19,965), which are not listed by name.

Grant Size Distribution

44 grants across all recorded years

44<$50K$50–100K$100–250K$250–500K$500K–1M$1–5M$5M+

The most common grant size was under $50K: 44 grants of 44 (100%).

Geographic Focus

Where this funder awards grants

Grant Distribution by State

13states

Share of 2025 grant dollars across all 9 itemized grants.

Cities

ChicagoAnn ArborCarbondaleAllenBostonStandfordCambridgeProvidenceChapel HillGainesvilleIowa CityMorrisvilleNew HavenNew YorkPhiladelphiaRedwood CityRichardsonSt. LouisSyracuseBarrytown

How Garwin Family Foundation gives

  • Giving grew 167% from 2022 to 2025. Method

From the foundation's IRS Form 990-PF filings. Methodology.

Giving History

Giving Over Time

Total grant dollars and number of grants per year

$0$20K$40K$60K$80K7 grants2019 6 grants2020 8 grants2021 10 grants2022 7 grants2023 10 grants2024 9 grants2025

From 2019 to 2025, annual grant giving ranged from $11K (2020) to $72K (2025). In 2025 it made 9 grants totaling $72K.

Grants by year

Grant recipients and amounts by year

RecipientPurposeAmount
Washington University St. Louis, MOScholarships to Students$23,860
The University of Chicago Chicago, ILScholarships to Students$13,350
Brown University Providence, RIScholarships to Students$8,006
4 individual scholarships Recipients not named —$19,965
Syracuse University Syracuse, NYScholarships to Students$4,295
Awesome Math LLC Allen, TXScholarships to Students$2,850
Your AI grants department

Ready to take the next step with Garwin Family Foundation?

Fully replaces Grant database subscriptions Instrumentl · Foundation Directory · GrantStation & similar

Financial History

Multi-year comparison from IRS filings

Figures from IRS filings, by filing year
Filing yearTotal AssetsRevenueExpensesGrants paidGrantsQualifying DistributionsNet Investment Income
2025$2,891,470$293,275$160,685$72,3269$72,326$200,501
2024$2,660,265$235,310$139,891$43,07910$43,079$207,633
2023$2,346,763$201,755$114,581$29,6357$29,635$176,204
2022$2,095,863$147,762$112,710$27,11810$27,118$125,566
2021$2,274,167$143,458$96,477$31,0138$31,013$86,749
2020$1,927,489$59,805$91,033$11,2326—$38,679
2019$1,812,364$19,643$110,182$31,7837—$13,623

Leadership & Key People

Officers and directors from IRS filings

Garwin Family Foundation's 2025 filing lists 5 officers; none of the 5 officers listed in 2025 report compensation.

Officers on the 2025 filing

  • Mark Garwin

    Officer

    On filings since 2019

    1 hr/week

    $7K (2019) → $0 (2025)

  • Marsha G. Ryan

    Officer

    On filings since 2019

    4 hrs/week

    $16K (2019) → $0 (2025)

  • Jacob Garwin

    Officer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $500 (2020) → $0 (2025)

  • John L. Ryan

    Officer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2020) → $0 (2025)

  • Mary K. Ryan

    Officer

    On filings since 2020

    1 hr/week

    $2K (2020) → $0 (2025)

Data from IRS Form 990 filings, 2019–2025. "On filings since" is the earliest filing we hold that lists the person; hours are average hours per week as reported.

Compensation Overview

From 2024 IRS filing

Dr Marsha G Ryan — Officer: $15KDr Marsha G RyanOfficer$15KDr Mark Garwin — Officer: $4KDr Mark GarwinOfficer$4KJohn L Ryan — Officer: $2KJohn L RyanOfficer$2KMary K Ryan — Officer: $2KMary K RyanOfficer$2KJacob Garwin — Officer: $500Jacob GarwinOfficer$500

The highest reported compensation on the 2024 filing was $15K, to Dr Marsha G Ryan (Officer). 5 officers or directors reported compensation on that filing.

Frequently asked questions about Garwin Family Foundation

How much does Garwin Family Foundation give each year?

Garwin Family Foundation gave $72K across 9 grants in 2025, according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. In 2024 it gave $43K across 10 grants.

What is Garwin Family Foundation's typical grant size?

Garwin Family Foundation's median grant in 2025 was $5,700, and its average grant was $8,036, across 9 grants on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF.

Where does Garwin Family Foundation give grants?

Garwin Family Foundation's top state is Illinois, with 38% of the grant dollars itemized on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. The next largest states were Missouri (33%) and New York (14%).

Does Garwin Family Foundation give general operating support?

Not in 2025: none of the 9 grants with a stated purpose on Garwin Family Foundation's 2025 IRS Form 990-PF were described as general or operating support. Recurring purposes include "Scholarships to Students" (9 grants).

Who are Garwin Family Foundation's largest grantees?

Garwin Family Foundation's largest 2025 grantees include Washington University ($23,860), The University of Chicago ($13,350) and Brown University ($8,006), according to its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. It also paid 4 individual scholarships ($19,965), which are not listed by name. Together they received 63% of its itemized 2025 grant dollars.

How large is Garwin Family Foundation?

Garwin Family Foundation reported $2.9M in total assets on its 2025 IRS Form 990-PF. Its revenue that year was $293K.

What is Garwin Family Foundation's EIN?

Garwin Family Foundation's EIN (Employer Identification Number) is 73-1440816. IRS Form 990 filing data is available on this page for 2019–2025.

Data last updated September 2026. Sourced from IRS Form 990-PF filings.

Data update history

(3)

When this profile's IRS filing data changed on Grantable

  1. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2019 (received by the IRS June 23, 2020)
  2. Added Form 990-PF for fiscal year 2025 (received by the IRS May 14, 2026)
  3. IRS filings on file for fiscal years 2020–2024

Explore Open Grants

Browse active grant opportunities in Garwin Family Foundation's focus areas in our free grants database

Similar Funders

Funders that support many of the same organizations

IBM International Foundation

Armonk, NY

The IBM International Foundation funds education and workforce programs that build 21st-century and technology job skills, including initiatives for underserved students and job seekers. Its 2024 grants ranged from $10,000 to $8.48 million, with a median of $100,000, and went to organizations across several U.S. states, especially Delaware and Massachusetts. It funds only preselected organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$357.7M

Grants

16

Total Given

$11.7M

The Edith S Wheeler Trust

Trumbull, CT

The Edith S Wheeler Trust supports the Monroe Public Library and scholarship funds for Monroe and Stratford, with recent grants also going to educational institutions. In 2025, grants ranged from $4 to $26,300, with a median of $4,050; its stated focus is Connecticut, though it also funded organizations in other states. It funds only preselected charitable organizations and does not accept unsolicited requests.

Assets

$4.0M

Grants

24

Total Given

$136K

Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation Inc

Princeton, NJ

The Bristol-Myers Squibb Foundation supports health access and stronger health systems, with a focus on adult and pediatric cancers, blood disorders, brain health, and clinical-trial participation in the United States, Brazil, India, and ten Sub-Saharan African countries. In 2024, its median grant was about $134,000, though awards varied widely; it does not state whether it accepts unsolicited requests, and advises prospective applicants to contact the Foundation about its process.

Assets

$83.3M

Grants

144

Total Given

$67.7M

The Annexstad Family Foundation

Alpharetta, GA

The foundation funds undergraduate scholarships for students who have overcome difficult circumstances, providing support through partner colleges and universities across the United States. In 2025, its 54 grants ranged from $2,065 to $1 million, with a median of $43,875. It does not accept unsolicited requests; partner institutions select scholarship recipients.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$32.6M

Grants

54

Total Given

$3.2M

Felicia M Delorenzo Scholarship

Boston, MA

The Felicia M. DeLorenzo Scholarship Foundation supports post-secondary education for high school graduates who live in Arlington, Massachusetts, with scholarships recognizing academic achievement, strong work ethic, and community commitment. In 2024, grants ranged from $1,500 to $63,125, with a median of $4,500; the Foundation does not accept unsolicited funding requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$4.6M

Grants

61

Total Given

$367K

Ernest Wentcher Educational Fund

Chicago, IL

The Ernest Wentcher Educational Fund supports college scholarships and related academic, social, and emotional support, primarily for talented Chicago Public Schools graduates with financial need; scholars may attend eligible colleges in the U.S. Its 2025 grants had a median of $10,000, and its scholarship offers up to $10,000 per year for up to four years. It provides a scholarship application process, but does not state whether it accepts unsolicited grant requests.

Philanthropy, Voluntarism & Grantmaking

Assets

$69.3M

Grants

96

Total Given

$3.0M

More similar funders

More Funders in Illinois

The filing figures on this page are open data under CC BY 4.0. About GrantGraph Open

Figures come from Garwin Family Foundation's IRS filings (methodology). AI-written summaries, news items and logos are not covered by the open licence. Spot an error? Email hello@grantable.co.

Garwin Family Foundation down — hundreds of funders to go?

Want AI to do this for you?